Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION REVOLUTION SERIES > CivRev - General Discussions

Notices

CivRev - General Discussions Forum for general Civilization Revolution discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jun 13, 2008, 07:21 AM   #1
Pervigilo
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Rally point?

There appears to be a rally point command on the PS3 by pressing L3. When I tried it, it just seemed to do what X does - send the unit to that location. Anyone worked out the proper way to use it?

Also, in case anyone has not noticed, R3 is "Sell Unit".
Pervigilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 07:38 AM   #2
holiday_hawk
King
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Beallsville, Ohio, USA
Posts: 885
i haven't even found something like that on the 360 yet, i sure hope they included it for us too.
holiday_hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 07:52 AM   #3
pathos
Chieftain
 
pathos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by holiday_hawk View Post
i haven't even found something like that on the 360 yet, i sure hope they included it for us too.
Left thumb stick sends the unit on the 360, but like the PS3, it seems to just be a "Move" command. Right thumb stick sells the unit.
pathos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2008, 09:51 PM   #4
RevolutionVA
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
The 'rally point' function doesn't work for me either. It only moves the unit to a location, the same as the 'A' or 'X' button.
RevolutionVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2008, 01:44 AM   #5
KrikkitTwo
Immortal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,597
Rallying is basically a move command, it is just a move command that focuses on a particular tile

1. Establish a rally point
when you have a unit selected, move over some tile it is NOT on an click the Left thumb stick... this will
establish a rally point
AND
move the unit to that rally point

2. To USE a Rally point
When a unit is selected, keep it over the tile the unit is ON and Left thumb click
This will show you the path to the rally point
Next click either 'A' or Left Thumb Stick to tell the unit to move to ther Rally point.
__________________
BE Sociopolitical Mechanic (Rebels, Unifying empires and Affinity hatred)
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=535672

BE expansion sponsors
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpo...8&postcount=11
KrikkitTwo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2008, 03:08 AM   #6
obscurereferenc
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 67
I'm surprised they didn't include 'proper' rally points, seeing as they went to such lengths to speed up gameplay in other areas.

I'm sure they have their reasons.
obscurereferenc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2008, 11:16 AM   #7
KrikkitTwo
Immortal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,597
Well actually I find those rally points more useful as

1. They don't have to be 'reassigned' when you switch production in a city to something you don't want to rally

2. You can use it for armies in the field. time to move every one to the prep point for next assault... every troop begins moveing there as I give the command.. verry nice for the transcontinental war.
__________________
BE Sociopolitical Mechanic (Rebels, Unifying empires and Affinity hatred)
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=535672

BE expansion sponsors
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpo...8&postcount=11
KrikkitTwo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2008, 01:39 PM   #8
Sanchez
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
So to be clear, the functionality is that you can have a single active rally point in the game at any one time, and to send any unit to that rally point is only a quick couple presses of the thumbstick and then A?
Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2008, 03:47 PM   #9
jayeffaar
Warlord
 
jayeffaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanchez View Post
So to be clear, the functionality is that you can have a single active rally point in the game at any one time, and to send any unit to that rally point is only a quick couple presses of the thumbstick and then A?
Pretty much. Once you have established a rally point, double click the left stick to quickly send another unit there. It is actually pretty useful, even if it's not fully automated (i.e. you still need manual input to send other units there).
jayeffaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION REVOLUTION SERIES > CivRev - General Discussions > Rally point?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR