Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - General Discussions > Civ3 Conquests - Bug Reports

Notices

Civ3 Conquests - Bug Reports Report Civ3 Conquests bugs here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jan 03, 2009, 07:39 AM   #1
Donny Brook
Warlord
 
Donny Brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 111
Rush granary, switch to courthouse for no additional cost

Perhaps this is a well known bug, but I tried to search and could find nothing. I've rushed a granary (for X gold) and get a full production box of 60 shields. I then switch to courthouse. It tells me "do you know you'll waste X shields?" I say yes. It then gives a full production box of 80 shields for a complete courthouse. There is no additional cost for these extra 20 shields. In fact, it tells me I'm gonna waste shields by making the switch.
Donny Brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2009, 09:07 AM   #2
Aabraxan
Mid-level Micromanager
 
Aabraxan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,093
Does this happen consistently? Do you have any shields in the box when you rush the granary?
Aabraxan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2009, 09:31 AM   #3
Donny Brook
Warlord
 
Donny Brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 111
I stumbled across it by accident and have only played a couple turns since then, so I can't say whether it's happening consistently or not. Yes, I had part-built something (with the aid of civ engineers btw). The situation is that I'm in the milking phase of a histo HOF attempt (~ 1750AD). I was building something of marginal benefit (say a granary which would let me grow a couple turns faster). I cash rushed it, then decided a courthouse might be better. That's when I got the warning about wasted shields and the magical fully built courthouse. I could PM a game save to someone who looks into these things if needed.
Donny Brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2009, 08:21 PM   #4
Donny Brook
Warlord
 
Donny Brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 111
1. Go to Gewauga 2 and switch the build to Granary.
2. Cash rush the granary.
3. Change the build to courthouse. It will tell you "do you know you'll waste 10 shields?". Say yes.
4. The 80 shield production box for a courthouse is full, indicating it will complete on the next turn. There is no additional cost for these extra 20 shields.
5. End turn. The courthouse is complete at the start of the next turn.
Attached Files
File Type: sav 20freeshields.SAV (961.3 KB, 43 views)
Donny Brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2009, 08:26 PM   #5
Mathias
OCC Rocks!
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,444
This is repeatable/exploitable. The accumulated CE shields are counted to reduce the cost of rushing the cheaper building, then also added to bin when switching to a more expensive building.
__________________
civ does not require concentration at high levels, only reduced carelessness. - vmxa
Mathias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - General Discussions > Civ3 Conquests - Bug Reports > Rush granary, switch to courthouse for no additional cost

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR