Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization

Notices

Civ4 - Creation & Customization Forum for Civ4 modding and customization discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 26, 2008, 06:48 PM   #1
Colonel Kraken
Deity
 
Colonel Kraken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,453
Question Obtaining the Random Map Seed Number

Hi Folks,

I've been away for a looooong time (well, in game years anyway ). So, sorry if this has already been asked and answered.

It seems like I remember way back from Civ III there was a way that, if you liked the random map you were dealt, you could type something in to find the map seed. Then you could type the number in for a new game and get the same exact map.

Is there a way to do that for Civ IV?

Thanks!!
Colonel Kraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2008, 04:47 AM   #2
Refar
Deity
 
Refar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,608
AFAIK not by default, but i think you could edit the ini, to log the Random generator calls, then check the Log file for the map random seed used.

Then you can - again in the ini - enter the seed to make the game generate the same map again...

Code:
; Somewhere in the beginning of the file (7th or 8th entry...)

; Random seed for map generation, or '0' for default
MapRandSeed = 0

[......]

; The last few lines in the file for enabling Logs:

; Enable the logging system
LoggingEnabled = 1

; Enable synchronization logging
SynchLog = 0

; Overwrite old network and message logs
OverwriteLogs = 0

; Enable rand0 event logging
RandLog = 1

; Enable message logging
MessageLog = 0

; Break on memory allocation order #
BreakOnAlloc = -1
__________________
The graphics in the game doesn't necessarily show you what's going on. Its just the way they've been animated.
So if you ever see any Heavy Bolter squads standing on a slope firing into the air or the ground, you may rest assured they are in fact blasting the enemy.
--------------- From a Dawn of War review.
Refar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2008, 09:21 AM   #3
Colonel Kraken
Deity
 
Colonel Kraken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,453
Thanks, Refar! I'll give it a try.
Colonel Kraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 09:05 PM   #4
Colonel Kraken
Deity
 
Colonel Kraken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,453
I enabled logging, but I did not find anything in the logs folder that would help.
Colonel Kraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2008, 08:04 AM   #5
Refar
Deity
 
Refar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,608
It's not what i was thinking of in the first place - i know, when working on my script, there was a Log where every RNG call went to. But i cant find it right now...
Or maybe i just had made my code write those somewhere ?!?

Anyway, i found it in another log file:

init.log:
Code:
...
...
...
[10821.140] DBG: Music Start
[10821.203] DBG: Font Init
[10821.265] DBG: Begin MenuManager
[10821.296] DBG: Total Frame MS: 31319.0  FPS: 000  Min:000 Max:000 Avg:000  SampleFilter:10.000000
 Time   :   Ave  :  Min% :  Max% : Num : Profile Name
-----------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------
[10869.703] DBG: Engine: Camera Initialized
[10872.859] DBG: SyncRandSeed is 10821591, MapRandSeed is 10821591
I quit right after the mag generation, so it is possible the values will got burried under tons of other stuff later... Should be still possible to find it searching for MapRandSeed or something.

Here the Logging-Settings i used.
Code:
; Enable the logging system
LoggingEnabled = 1

; Enable synchronization logging
SynchLog = 0

; Overwrite old network and message logs
OverwriteLogs = 1

; Enable rand event logging
RandLog = 0

; Enable message logging
MessageLog = 0
__________________
The graphics in the game doesn't necessarily show you what's going on. Its just the way they've been animated.
So if you ever see any Heavy Bolter squads standing on a slope firing into the air or the ground, you may rest assured they are in fact blasting the enemy.
--------------- From a Dawn of War review.
Refar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2008, 09:49 PM   #6
Colonel Kraken
Deity
 
Colonel Kraken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 2,453
Oh, good. I must have missed this the first time I looked through the file. Good find! Thanks. I'll give it a try.
Colonel Kraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Obtaining the Random Map Seed Number

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR