Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jun 30, 2008, 05:22 AM   #1
Hell Hawk
Emperor
 
Hell Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Question about AI handicap.

If I set AI handicap to the lowest level (Chieftain or Settler, can't remember which) does that mean...

A. The AI gets it super easy, making them a difficult opponent?
or
B. Humans get it easy against that specific AI, making that AI an easy opponent?
Hell Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2008, 07:41 PM   #2
Wolfshanze
CFC Historian
 
Wolfshanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hell Hawk View Post
If I set AI handicap to the lowest level (Chieftain or Settler, can't remember which) does that mean...

A. The AI gets it super easy, making them a difficult opponent?
or
B. Humans get it easy against that specific AI, making that AI an easy opponent?
Chieften, Settler, Warlord... they all give bonuses to the human, or handicap the AI in one manner or another... these lower levels are easiest for the human and hard on the AI.

At Noble, both sides are at their closest parity in regards to breaks to either side... Prince through Diety all favor the AI with increasing bonuses and gameplay ease, making it harder on the human.
__________________
Wolf's Mods: Wolfshanze 1850-1920 Mod for BtS... adds "flavored Civs", coal-fired navies, WWI units, plus Poland, Austria & Vietnam to Civ4!
Attitude Icon Mini-Mod for BtS... adds "smiley" faces to leader list for relations and lists era both on main-screen.
Wolf's Unit Models: Modern German General, Soviet Russian General, Japanese General, Italian General, Polish Warlord, Austro-German Warlord, Celtic Warlord, American Medieval Set, German Medieval Set, Celtic Green Knight, European Musketman, LT vz 38, Stridsvagn M/41, Persian CKD TNH, Panzer-IVG tank pack 1, Korean Air Force Pack, Iraqi Gladiator, Green TBF Avenger, Spanish Me-109, Saab B17, Polish Fighter Pack.
Wolfshanze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2008, 05:07 PM   #3
Hell Hawk
Emperor
 
Hell Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Yeah, I'm not talking about game difficulty though, I'm talking specifically about AI handicap in worldbuilder. ( Handicap=HANDICAP_NOBLE )

In other words, if I made a 1 v 1 scenario, and I myself was playing at noble, would I have a harder time against a AI handicapped to Chieftain or Deity?
Hell Hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2008, 05:09 PM   #4
Wolfshanze
CFC Historian
 
Wolfshanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,689
There's no difference... an AI at Chieften is a sap, while an AI at Diety is living hell...
__________________
Wolf's Mods: Wolfshanze 1850-1920 Mod for BtS... adds "flavored Civs", coal-fired navies, WWI units, plus Poland, Austria & Vietnam to Civ4!
Attitude Icon Mini-Mod for BtS... adds "smiley" faces to leader list for relations and lists era both on main-screen.
Wolf's Unit Models: Modern German General, Soviet Russian General, Japanese General, Italian General, Polish Warlord, Austro-German Warlord, Celtic Warlord, American Medieval Set, German Medieval Set, Celtic Green Knight, European Musketman, LT vz 38, Stridsvagn M/41, Persian CKD TNH, Panzer-IVG tank pack 1, Korean Air Force Pack, Iraqi Gladiator, Green TBF Avenger, Spanish Me-109, Saab B17, Polish Fighter Pack.
Wolfshanze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2008, 05:13 PM   #5
Shiggs713
Immortal
 
Shiggs713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,320
in other words it makes it harder for you if your playing at noble and the AI is set to chieftain.

now its quite obvious what it does when your playing at harder or easier levels. These are two completely different things then setting the AI's difficulty in the worldbuilder or notepad.

edit: play the original earth 1000ad scenario if you want to find out for yourself. The players are set at all kinds of random difficulty settings.
__________________
"Know thy self, know thy enemy. A thousand battles, a thousand victories. " - Sun Tzu
Shiggs Earth - A ciV map and mod
CivEarth.com - a fanatics site for multi-player Earth Scenario's for cIV & ciV

Last edited by Shiggs713; Jul 01, 2008 at 05:17 PM.
Shiggs713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 02, 2008, 01:18 PM   #6
yorkgrass
Warlord
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 137
do we have the last word yet? So if I set one AI player as Chieftain, is it easier to be conquered or harder? i.e. is Wolfshanze right or Shiggs713?
yorkgrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 02, 2008, 03:23 PM   #7
Shiggs713
Immortal
 
Shiggs713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,320
well like I said, if you really want to know for a fact, play the original earth 1000ad scenario that everyone has. The players are set at various difficulty levels, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure it out after playing some turns.
__________________
"Know thy self, know thy enemy. A thousand battles, a thousand victories. " - Sun Tzu
Shiggs Earth - A ciV map and mod
CivEarth.com - a fanatics site for multi-player Earth Scenario's for cIV & ciV
Shiggs713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Question about AI handicap.

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR