Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jun 19, 2011, 04:44 AM   #2321
dsma_bell
Chieftain
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
I've solved the problem with the CTDs while loading Caveman2Cosmos. I'd updated my Civ IV with the function from the Main Menu and didn't recognize, that the patch wasn't installed correctly. Now I patched it again and voila, your mod works perfectly. I can't wait to start a new game of "Caveman2Cosmos". Thanks guys for all the work on this overwhelming mod.
dsma_bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2011, 04:45 AM   #2322
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsma_bell View Post
I've solved the problem with the CTDs while loading Caveman2Cosmos. I'd updated my Civ IV with the function from the Main Menu and didn't recognize, that the patch wasn't installed correctly. Now I patched it again and voila, your mod works perfectly. Now, I can't wait to start a new game of "Caveman2Cosmos". Thanks guys for all the work on this overwhelming mod.
Thx for letting us know, and Welcome to CFC.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2011, 10:50 AM   #2323
xie323
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
I can't play the 28 player Earth map, whenever I try I automatically lose.

What's going on here?
xie323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2011, 11:26 AM   #2324
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by xie323 View Post
I can't play the 28 player Earth map, whenever I try I automatically lose.

What's going on here?
Try this one: I never updated the old one.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE

Last edited by strategyonly; Jun 19, 2011 at 03:14 PM. Reason: removed attachment
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2011, 11:28 AM   #2325
nichopoleve
Warlord
 
nichopoleve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sarpsborg, Norway
Posts: 134
Are you guys going to wait until Rom is updated to release another update of C2C?
nichopoleve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2011, 11:45 AM   #2326
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by nichopoleve View Post
Are you guys going to wait until Rom is updated to release another update of C2C?
Sorry ROM will more than likely NEVER be updated, since Zapparra left last year already. If you mean AND, i am having troubles getting the Sevopedia to work correctly, i have gotten with Afforess on these days ago, but he has NOT responded.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2011, 01:08 PM   #2327
xie323
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by strategyonly View Post
Try this one: I never updated the old one.
That dosen't work either.
xie323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2011, 04:30 AM   #2328
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by xie323 View Post
That dosen't work either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xie323 View Post
I can't play the 28 player Earth map, whenever I try I automatically lose.

What's going on here?
OK try this one now, it doesnt have ALL the resources on it but i believe it works.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE

Last edited by strategyonly; Nov 19, 2011 at 07:28 PM.
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2011, 10:26 PM   #2329
Navman
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Hi All:
Playing v12. For some reason, after researching "Cartography", I can't get lat/long
to display on the map. I have the show lat/long box checked in BUG.
Noted that the "Cartography" description does not say that the map will center as it
does in AND. I posted this issue on another C2C thread, but am trying here as well.
Any ideas appreciated.

Thx!
Navman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 02:35 AM   #2330
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navman View Post
Hi All:
Playing v12. For some reason, after researching "Cartography", I can't get lat/long
to display on the map. I have the show lat/long box checked in BUG.
Noted that the "Cartography" description does not say that the map will center as it
does in AND. I posted this issue on another C2C thread, but am trying here as well.
Any ideas appreciated.

Thx!
Yeah i take out any map centering, i just dont like it.
Just go into the TechInfo file and look for TECH_MAP_MAKING and change this <bMapCentering>0</bMapCentering> to this <bMapCentering>1</bMapCentering>.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 02:48 AM   #2331
Hydromancerx
C2C Modder
 
Hydromancerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California, USA
Posts: 14,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by strategyonly View Post
Yeah i take out any map centering, i just dont like it.
Just go into the TechInfo file and look for TECH_MAP_MAKING and change this <bMapCentering>0</bMapCentering> to this <bMapCentering>1</bMapCentering>.
Why don't you like it? I mean people like Eratosthenes figured out the Earth was curved long before we sailed around the globe.
Hydromancerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 04:31 AM   #2332
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hydromancerx View Post
Why don't you like it? I mean people like Eratosthenes figured out the Earth was curved long before we sailed around the globe.
Just a personal thing, i dont like the MAP getting any bigger than the area that i am in, unless i have researched it myself, just a personal thing, like i said
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 01:06 PM   #2333
Elu
Chieftain
 
Elu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by strategyonly View Post
Thats because ALOT of the modcomps that "we" put in have only English text files, sorry. Someone will have to go though ALL the text files and change them, and that is very tedious work.
that's sad... and there's no way to tell the game "if this string don't have a translation in the mod XMLs, use the defauld one"?
also have someone developed an easy to use framework to translate XMLs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancing Hoskuld View Post
The problem is that "someone" forgot to remove the check box from the "Custom Game" screen now that it is on the BUG Options screen.
those damn modders, always trying to get our bottom handed to us by their creations
Elu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 02:22 PM   #2334
Navman
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by strategyonly View Post
Yeah i take out any map centering, i just dont like it.
Just go into the TechInfo file and look for TECH_MAP_MAKING and change this <bMapCentering>0</bMapCentering> to this <bMapCentering>1</bMapCentering>.
strategyonly:
Thx for your reply. The reason I brought it up is because lat. comes into play when
deciding where to build the Space Elevator. I tried to edit the file you mentioned using
notepad, but that d/n work. Could you be so kind as to explain how to edit the file in question? Also, I c/n locate any custom civs in any of the folders. Where might they
be, if there are any?

Thx again for your help.
Navman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 02:30 PM   #2335
Munger
Dietary
 
Munger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 191
Guys, is there an ETA on the next version of C2C? Reason being that I am a long-time AND player and have only just stumbled across C2C and therefore would like to get started on a long game but won't bother if the new one is around the corner.

Keep up the great work.
__________________
You will all become one... with the Borg.
Munger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 03:04 PM   #2336
VineFynn
High King of the Britons
 
VineFynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia, Victoria
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by strategyonly View Post
Sorry ROM will more than likely NEVER be updated, since Zapparra left last year already. If you mean AND, i am having troubles getting the Sevopedia to work correctly, i have gotten with Afforess on these days ago, but he has NOT responded.
Even more than that, despite AND getting a new beta, he declared that he was a Civ 5 modder a while back on his original thread. That probably means there won't be anymore AND updates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munger View Post
Guys, is there an ETA on the next version of C2C? Reason being that I am a long-time AND player and have only just stumbled across C2C and therefore would like to get started on a long game but won't bother if the new one is around the corner.
Theres a saying, "a train only goes as fast as its pushed" and I think that applies to this mod. The more content people contribute or suggest, the easier it is for a new update to be submitted. For example, if you have an idea for an additional civic category, then suggest it to me in PM or, if you have some content, such as a mod or module, then I'm sure SO would be glad to add it.
Spoiler:
Civics are as follows:
Immigration
Government
Society
Welfare
Power (as in distributation of ruling power)
G.S.T.
Military
Economy
Garbage

By the way, an update was released last month, from 10.2 to 12.
__________________
In intelligence we trust.

Last edited by VineFynn; Jun 21, 2011 at 03:14 PM.
VineFynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 03:09 PM   #2337
Hydromancerx
C2C Modder
 
Hydromancerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California, USA
Posts: 14,747
@strategyonly

The Goods & Services Tax Civic is not working correctly. It doesn't show all the civic options and the text is falling off. Perhaps the name should be changed to "Goods & Services Tax" so it can fit on the blue thing.

Who was the person who made this civic? I forget their name.

Last edited by Hydromancerx; Sep 01, 2011 at 12:17 AM.
Hydromancerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 03:17 PM   #2338
VineFynn
High King of the Britons
 
VineFynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia, Victoria
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hydromancerx View Post
@strategyonly

The Goods & Services Tax Civic is not working correctly. It doesn't show all the civic options and the text is falling off. Perhaps the name should be changed to "Goods & Services Tax" so it can fit on the blue thing.

Who was the person who made this civic? I forget their name.
I made it and as far as I can tell it works perfectly with my C2C apart from the name, which you mentioned. Maybe there is some confliction with another mod? The module is completely independant though.
__________________
In intelligence we trust.
VineFynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 03:34 PM   #2339
Hydromancerx
C2C Modder
 
Hydromancerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California, USA
Posts: 14,747
@VineFynn

Doesn't it go to like 100%? I only see it going up to 80% in the civic menu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VineFynn View Post
Spoiler:
Civics are as follows:
Government
Power (as in distributation of ruling power)
Society
Economy
Military
Welfare
G.S.T.
Garbage
Immigration
You forgot Education and Religion

Last edited by Hydromancerx; Jun 21, 2011 at 04:02 PM.
Hydromancerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2011, 09:24 PM   #2340
strategyonly
Caveman2Cosmos Modder
 
strategyonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 17,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hydromancerx View Post
@strategyonly

The Goods & Services Tax Civic is not working correctly. It doesn't show all the civic options and the text is falling off. Perhaps the name should be changed to "Goods & Services Tax" so it can fit on the blue thing.

Who was the person who made this civic? I forget their name.
Quote:
Originally Posted by VineFynn View Post
I made it and as far as I can tell it works perfectly with my C2C apart from the name, which you mentioned. Maybe there is some confliction with another mod? The module is completely independant though.
When all else fails, look at the TOP of the page you can also select what you want from there, thats what i do in certain cases anyways.
__________________
Caveman 2 Cosmos updated 24 Feb 14, 12:00a.m.
Caveman2Cosmos Forum: Project and Mod Development Forum HERE
strategyonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos > Caveman 2 Cosmos

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too advanced?? subanark Civ4 - General Discussions 7 Jul 06, 2009 08:23 PM
Crash Error in Next War Advanced Hounddog Civ4 BTS - Official Mods & Scenarios 3 Feb 08, 2009 02:39 PM
Do you use Advanced Start? blitzkrieg1980 Civ4 - General Discussions 26 Jul 04, 2008 10:41 AM
Bug - Advanced Start "Next War" Mod oldbone Civ4 - General Discussions 2 Jul 30, 2007 03:30 PM
Advanced war options painkiller Civ - Ideas & Suggestions 1 May 23, 2004 09:47 AM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR