Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 15, 2009, 09:59 PM   #1
boardinfailboat
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 55
Monarchy vs despotism

is monarchy really better than despotism? I mean the army costs really become unberable no matter how large your empire or how well developed you cities(2 for normal settlements, 4 for big ones)(obv talking about late ancient age early medieval, and no hospitals whatsoever).
boardinfailboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 11:46 PM   #2
Tone
Deity
 
Tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 4,547
Well I don't tend to use monarchy much (I much prefer republic) but one of the key factors that you have not considered is the despotism penalty. (Any tile that produces more than two gold/food/shields loses one of them.) This can limit growth (no point in irrigating grass under despotism), production (mined hills only give two shields rather than three) and you will not gain the full value from high commerce tiles.

A large empire will not need to have a large number of units as the towns that are not on the border will not need protecting. You may think that you need MPs but if you have a decent number of luxes with markets your towns will be happy. This leaves sufficient free units to protect your borders and also attack one of your neighbours in force.
__________________
Avatar by Mistfit
Tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 12:42 AM   #3
timerover51
Deity
 
timerover51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago area in Illinois
Posts: 2,837
I use monarchy, and another factor to consider is that the corruption factor is one lower, from "rampant" to "problematic", as well as avoiding the Despotism penalty. That Despotism penalty can really hurt in the early game, as well as when you start sending out colonists.
__________________
Son home for a weekend visit from California!!!!!

timerover51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 02:27 AM   #4
ThinkTank
RL Addict
 
ThinkTank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: An inaccessible possible world
Posts: 1,073
What they said. And in addition to that, you can cash-rush improvements in monarchy. In despotism you can only pop-rush, which you normally don't want to do in your good cities, as it costs you happiness and production capacity.
__________________
Forget your perfect offering, there is a crack in everything - that's how the light gets in. - Leonard Cohen
ThinkTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 07:32 AM   #5
Spoonwood
Grand Philosopher
 
Spoonwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,464
The answer is, as Tone hinted at, Repbulic.
Spoonwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 11:11 AM   #6
vmxa
Deity
 
vmxa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oviedo, Fl
Posts: 13,422
Well the question did not involve Republic, but is Monarchy really better than Despotism. The answer is given by Tone.
vmxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 04:36 PM   #7
boardinfailboat
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 55
no option of republic for aw games. But as soon as i switch to monarchy i find that i can't run the tech at higher rate than 10% esp if i dont have 2-3 luxes. Most I can do is about 50% with monarchy.
edit: atm i got iroquis 550 ad just starting medieval age. monarch about 20 cities.
income 155
10% science 10% entertainment(1 lux and hanging gardens) and only making 50 per turn. Trying to mass build aqueducts to save a gold in bigger cities.
forbidden palace in use, although couple of big corrupts cities are there.

military:
10 workers
1 settler
28 spearman
9 catapults
31 mw

Last edited by boardinfailboat; May 16, 2009 at 04:46 PM.
boardinfailboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 06:18 PM   #8
TheOverseer714
Overseer
 
TheOverseer714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by boardinfailboat View Post
no option of republic for aw games. But as soon as i switch to monarchy i find that i can't run the tech at higher rate than 10% esp if i dont have 2-3 luxes. Most I can do is about 50% with monarchy.
edit: atm i got iroquis 550 ad just starting medieval age. monarch about 20 cities.
income 155
10% science 10% entertainment(1 lux and hanging gardens) and only making 50 per turn. Trying to mass build aqueducts to save a gold in bigger cities.
forbidden palace in use, although couple of big corrupts cities are there.

military:
10 workers
1 settler
28 spearman
9 catapults
31 mw
The 28 Spearmen and 10 workers are your main problem, you should only build defenders to guard against initial attacks at border towns and you need more workers to road every tile in use to boost your income. Reverse those numbers and you'd do much better. Those Spearmen sitting around aren't earning their keep, but workers can boost income by improving high gold tiles (rivers and resource tiles).
__________________
If life hands you lemons, set up an international lemonade conglomerate

Scores for SGFN series 1: 5452 2: 6846 3: 7505 4: 6822 5: 8605 7: 9088 Well-played, teams!
TheOverseer714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 08:16 PM   #9
boardinfailboat
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOverseer714 View Post
The 28 Spearmen and 10 workers are your main problem, you should only build defenders to guard against initial attacks at border towns and you need more workers to road every tile in use to boost your income. Reverse those numbers and you'd do much better. Those Spearmen sitting around aren't earning their keep, but workers can boost income by improving high gold tiles (rivers and resource tiles).
doing much better now, i hurried sun tzu's and saved about 10 gold on barracks upkeep and will also reduce number of defenders by upgrading to pikeman. Hopefully i will spawn another leader to b uild bach's cathedral as well as finally road the newly captured furs.
edit: 79/60 now for military allowed
also i have 29 slaves
+90 gpt

Last edited by boardinfailboat; May 16, 2009 at 08:37 PM.
boardinfailboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2009, 03:19 PM   #10
TheOverseer714
Overseer
 
TheOverseer714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,077
The preferred ratio of Workers per city is 1.5 if Industrious, 2 for other traits, so good job on getting those slaves to get to the number. I count 2 slaves as 1 worker, so you now have adequate workers, just remember to group them properly to get things improved as fast as possile..
__________________
If life hands you lemons, set up an international lemonade conglomerate

Scores for SGFN series 1: 5452 2: 6846 3: 7505 4: 6822 5: 8605 7: 9088 Well-played, teams!
TheOverseer714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2009, 03:33 PM   #11
boardinfailboat
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOverseer714 View Post
The preferred ratio of Workers per city is 1.5 if Industrious, 2 for other traits, so good job on getting those slaves to get to the number. I count 2 slaves as 1 worker, so you now have adequate workers, just remember to group them properly to get things improved as fast as possile..
I always had a lt of slaves. That's why i dont build workers except for 2 initally and I built more b/c i wasn't able to cut forests/fix hills fast enough(the area wasn't very good).
boardinfailboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2009, 09:51 PM   #12
Rodrig0
Monarch
 
Rodrig0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cd. Juarez, Mexico
Posts: 317
Don't slaves get the faster work rate from industrious trait? I remember playing industrious, where I would need 3 regular workers to irrigate in one turn, so if slaves work at 1/2 efficiency, shouldn't it be 6 slaves instead??

And by the way, this might be off topic, but I've been wondering... do crusaders get the industrious bonus for building fortresses? And then from replaceable parts? There have been times when I still keep crusaders after the industrial age, only for MP, and sometimes I send them to help slaves build fortresses... I wonder how would they look? A bunch of war prisioners with chains in their feet, being directed by some weirdos on chain mail and white coat.
Rodrig0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2009, 05:47 PM   #13
TheOverseer714
Overseer
 
TheOverseer714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,077
Slaves don't get any advantage from the Industrious trait until Replaceable Parts is researched. AFAIK, Crusaders always work at the same rate, but I've never tested that for a fact.
__________________
If life hands you lemons, set up an international lemonade conglomerate

Scores for SGFN series 1: 5452 2: 6846 3: 7505 4: 6822 5: 8605 7: 9088 Well-played, teams!
TheOverseer714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2009, 02:59 PM   #14
timerover51
Deity
 
timerover51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago area in Illinois
Posts: 2,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOverseer714 View Post
Slaves don't get any advantage from the Industrious trait until Replaceable Parts is researched. AFAIK, Crusaders always work at the same rate, but I've never tested that for a fact.
Crusaders work at the same rate regardless of civilization unless you play around with their data in the editor. I keep them around for use later as combat engineers, as they do build fortresses faster than workers. I think that might be hard coded in the program. I like using the Crusader, both unmodified and modified, and have used them with several civilizations, both Industrious and not, and I have not seen any difference in work rate. I think that their normal work rate is equal to that of an Industrious Worker prior to Replaceable Parts.
__________________
Son home for a weekend visit from California!!!!!

timerover51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2009, 11:41 AM   #15
Desertsnow
πrČ
 
Desertsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,705
I'm at war most of the time for most of the game, and almost always from about the middle of the ancient era onward, so I usually establish a Monarchy at my earliest opportunity. It works for me.
__________________
Sometimes I think the world is divided into those who have a comfortable relationship with power and those who have a naturally adversarial relationship with power.
-- Arundhati Roy
Inkubus Sukkubus
Desertsnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2009, 06:23 PM   #16
Rodrig0
Monarch
 
Rodrig0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cd. Juarez, Mexico
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodrig0 View Post
And by the way, this might be off topic, but I've been wondering... do crusaders get the industrious bonus for building fortresses? And then from replaceable parts?
Quoting myself Yes, they do. I just tested it now, they built fortresses in 16 turns before replaceable parts, and then it was halved to 8 turns after RP. It seems even a holy templar knight could use a shovel made of replaceable parts... made in Taiwan, of course
Rodrig0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2009, 08:48 PM   #17
Theov
Emperor
 
Theov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,444
Despotism
A.k.a.: Despo
'Base' government, this is the government where you start with. Good for starting Civs with little income, happiness problems (lack of luxuries) or without the income to support a large military.

Worker Efficiency: 100%
Hurry Method: Forced labor
Corruption: Rampant
War Weariness: none
Draft Rate: 2
Military Police Limit: 2
Unit Support Town/City/Metro: 4/4/4
Notes: Any square which produces more than 2 food, commerce, or shields produces 1 less. (aka 'Despo Penalty')

Monarchy
The lack of war weariness (WW) can be more valuable than the commerce bonus in Republic and Democracy, if you plan to be at war for a long time.
The presence of military police can compensate a lack of luxuries and makes a good combination for small kingdoms at war and have an army a Republic can't support.

Worker Efficiency: 100%
Hurry Method: Pay citizens
Corruption: Problematic
War Weariness: none
Draft Rate: 2
Military Police Limit: 3
Unit Support Town/City/Metro: 2/4/8
__________________

A Guide to the Governments of Civ3 Complete


President Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho.
Theov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2009, 03:51 PM   #18
Theov
Emperor
 
Theov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,444
I'd say that when you're empire has grown and the income increases (think: 6 cities and mostly roaded) then the corruption becomes a problem, and moving to Monarchy can be much better than Depo.

I also don't think you took the despo penalty into factor; any square which produces more than 2 food, commerce, or shields produces 1 less. This cripples you too much not to change to republic or monarchy.
__________________

A Guide to the Governments of Civ3 Complete


President Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho.
Theov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2009, 05:01 AM   #19
Calis
on time
 
Calis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Germany GMT+1
Posts: 8,960
I can only think of two reasons not to switch to Monarchy ASAP.

1. The unit upkeep for towns is higher in Despotism
2. Wrong time for an anarchy because you need new units while at war.

Other than that Monarchy is always better.
__________________
ISDG team EAGLES - we bonkers lost
MTDG II team SABER nuked them away! winner!
MTDG II team AMAZON - space race victory (lurked them to victory)
ISDG team CFC - (lurking again)
Calis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2009, 01:21 AM   #20
Nergal
Prince
 
Nergal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 390
Monarchy is way better than Despotism, although its harder to get than Republic normally due to the longer Tech path which means popping Monarchy with Philosophy doesnt work too often. Its a good choice for early wars when your towns arent established enough to fuel Republic. Personally I wouldnt have built catapults, maybe 2 spears per town for garrison and a mixed stack or two of swords, archers and spears for attacking the nearest Civ.
__________________
'Our voyages are very educational... We learn about the natives before we slaughter them.' - Nescaf (Asterix and the Normans)
Nergal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - General Discussions > Monarchy vs despotism

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Despotism to monarchy help Newbie civer Civ3 - Strategy & Tips 64 Oct 27, 2007 11:27 PM
Staying in Despotism SimpleMonkey Civ3 - Strategy & Tips 26 Nov 25, 2005 07:56 AM
Despotism better than monarchy? Jawz II Civ3 - General Discussions 15 Apr 28, 2004 08:05 AM
How do you improve the deficit when switching between despotism and monarchy/republic Veteranewbie Civ3 - Strategy & Tips 12 Jan 16, 2004 05:11 PM
Despotism or Monarchy? Cyc Civ3 - Game of Democracy 19 Apr 24, 2002 06:35 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR