Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jul 30, 2009, 10:22 PM   #101
EmperorFool
Deity
 
EmperorFool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mountain View, California
Posts: 9,625
BUFFY will be merged back into BULL and BUG in due time, but BULL has been available for some time.
__________________
Monkeys killing monkeys killing monkeys over pieces of the ground.
Silly monkeys, give them thumbs they make a club and beat their brother down.


BUG Mod - BTS Unaltered Gameplay
[ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Troubleshooting | Modding Tutorial ]

BAT 3.0.1 QuickFix™ released Oct 24th
EmperorFool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2009, 09:26 AM   #102
Merkill
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sweden
Posts: 69
Oos

Whenever i run this mod in multi direct ip i get out of sync all the time and it wont help to clean out cashe by holding shift or doing it manualy

Clean install civ + bts + 3.19 + buffy.
both me and my brother have this.

my sys
vista 64ultimate 64bit 8gig ram core 2 3.0 ghz ATI 4870 512mb

runs fine in multi direct ip without buffy mod thou so we must play without it
Merkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2009, 11:13 AM   #103
Grifftavian
Emperor
 
Grifftavian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 1 SW of Atlanta. GA USA
Posts: 1,647
OK, finished BOTM 20, patched BtS to 3.19 and installed BUFFY. It seems to be working, will give it a test by attempting G-Minor 77.

BTW, I did have BUG in the Custom Assets folder, but it was version 3.6, so I uninstalled it and will work on installing BUG 4.0 and BAT 2.0 soon.
Grifftavian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2009, 07:08 PM   #104
joe.m
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
I've tried to play a few games with Buffy but keep running into the same bug -- everytime I attack a city with more than 1 unit the game crashes to the desktop.

I don't know what info is useful for tracking down things like this, but here's a screenshot of the error message and a copy of the file it offers to send. Hope that helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	buffy_crash.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	223004  
Attached Files
File Type: zip 87db_appcompat.zip (3.6 KB, 137 views)
joe.m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2009, 09:53 PM   #105
ruff_hi
Live 4ever! Or die trying
 
ruff_hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: an Aussie in NY
Posts: 8,158
it sounds like that stack-attack error. I bet something is throwing an illegal assert in the dll.
__________________
I am away from my civ computer on the following:
  • September 4-17, 2014 (back around 10am)
pbem games will have to wait.
ruff_hi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2009, 09:59 PM   #106
EmperorFool
Deity
 
EmperorFool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mountain View, California
Posts: 9,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe.m View Post
Everytime I attack a city with more than 1 unit the game crashes to the desktop.
Do you have Stack Attack turned on in the normal options screen? This should obviously be allowed in BUFFY, but maybe it will help diagnose the problem.
__________________
Monkeys killing monkeys killing monkeys over pieces of the ground.
Silly monkeys, give them thumbs they make a club and beat their brother down.


BUG Mod - BTS Unaltered Gameplay
[ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Troubleshooting | Modding Tutorial ]

BAT 3.0.1 QuickFix™ released Oct 24th
EmperorFool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2009, 11:08 PM   #107
joe.m
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmperorFool View Post
Do you have Stack Attack turned on in the normal options screen? This should obviously be allowed in BUFFY, but maybe it will help diagnose the problem.
Yes, Stack Attack and the Quick Offence/Defence options.
joe.m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 01:39 AM   #108
EmperorFool
Deity
 
EmperorFool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mountain View, California
Posts: 9,625
What happens if you turn off Stack Attack?
__________________
Monkeys killing monkeys killing monkeys over pieces of the ground.
Silly monkeys, give them thumbs they make a club and beat their brother down.


BUG Mod - BTS Unaltered Gameplay
[ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Troubleshooting | Modding Tutorial ]

BAT 3.0.1 QuickFix™ released Oct 24th
EmperorFool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 10:45 AM   #109
sourdiesel
Warlord
 
sourdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 158
I am trying to play my first HoF game but am running into a problem. When I start the game, it says that the game is not HoF eligible because the "Score" victory condition must be checked. But I have all the victory conditions checked when starting the game, I do not see a Score option.
__________________
“I came for the Pilgrimage and nothing else. I do not wish to mix anything else with my Pilgrimage.” -Mansa Musa
sourdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 11:30 AM   #110
duckstab
Child of Noble Family
 
duckstab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,285
Problems with Victory Conditions Screen?

I'm working on the G-Minor 77 gauntlet which requires a Religious Victory. Soon after I built the AP I went to check on the status of all the members and it looks like at least that panel of the Victory Conditions screen is broken. Anyone else see this? Any suggestions?

Click image for larger version

Name:	members0000.JPG
Views:	56
Size:	161.5 KB
ID:	223075
__________________
The Remissness of our People in Paying Taxes is highly blameable; the Unwillingness to pay them is still more so. ... All the Property that is necessary to a Man, for the Conservation of the Individual and the Propagation of the Species, is his natural Right, which none can justly deprive him of: But all Property superfluous to such purposes is the Property of the Publick, who, by their Laws, have created it, and who may therefore by other Laws dispose of it, whenever the Welfare of the Publick shall demand such Disposition. He that does not like civil Society on these Terms, let him retire and live among Savages.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1783
duckstab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 11:57 AM   #111
EmperorFool
Deity
 
EmperorFool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mountain View, California
Posts: 9,625
Can you please post a save and also post PythonErr.log. See Troubleshooting for instructions on getting this log file.
__________________
Monkeys killing monkeys killing monkeys over pieces of the ground.
Silly monkeys, give them thumbs they make a club and beat their brother down.


BUG Mod - BTS Unaltered Gameplay
[ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Troubleshooting | Modding Tutorial ]

BAT 3.0.1 QuickFix™ released Oct 24th
EmperorFool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 12:56 PM   #112
duckstab
Child of Noble Family
 
duckstab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmperorFool View Post
Can you please post a save and also post PythonErr.log. See Troubleshooting for instructions on getting this log file.
Here you go... Hope you can figure it out. (I had to rename the log files - for some reason civfanatics won't let me upload anything with a .log extension).

OS Version: Windows XP (2002 Media Center Ed. SP 3)
BTS version: 3.19
BUUFFY version: 3.19.001
Installation source: EXE
Installation method: multiplayer (Mods folder)

buffyBugReport.CivBeyondSwordSave

PythonDbg_log.txt

PythonErr_log.txt
__________________
The Remissness of our People in Paying Taxes is highly blameable; the Unwillingness to pay them is still more so. ... All the Property that is necessary to a Man, for the Conservation of the Individual and the Propagation of the Species, is his natural Right, which none can justly deprive him of: But all Property superfluous to such purposes is the Property of the Publick, who, by their Laws, have created it, and who may therefore by other Laws dispose of it, whenever the Welfare of the Publick shall demand such Disposition. He that does not like civil Society on these Terms, let him retire and live among Savages.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1783

Last edited by duckstab; Aug 01, 2009 at 12:59 PM. Reason: Left out troubleshooting details
duckstab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 01:31 PM   #113
ruff_hi
Live 4ever! Or die trying
 
ruff_hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: an Aussie in NY
Posts: 8,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourdiesel View Post
I am trying to play my first HoF game but am running into a problem. When I start the game, it says that the game is not HoF eligible because the "Score" victory condition must be checked. But I have all the victory conditions checked when starting the game, I do not see a Score option.
You have to have them all checked. You might get that message if you don't check 'time'.
__________________
I am away from my civ computer on the following:
  • September 4-17, 2014 (back around 10am)
pbem games will have to wait.
ruff_hi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 01:36 PM   #114
joe.m
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmperorFool View Post
What happens if you turn off Stack Attack?
That stops the crashing. Sounds like you've already got a handle on this bug, if there are any other details that would help just let me know.
joe.m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 01:50 PM   #115
ruff_hi
Live 4ever! Or die trying
 
ruff_hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: an Aussie in NY
Posts: 8,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckstab View Post
Here you go... Hope you can figure it out. (I had to rename the log files - for some reason civfanatics won't let me upload anything with a .log extension).
I couldn't load up your game - I might have a slightly different version of BUFFY on my machine. Anyway, I created a mock up game and I could recreate the error. The top of BUFFY's VictoryScreen.py file looks like this ...

Code:
## Sid Meier's Civilization 4
## Copyright Firaxis Games 2005
from CvPythonExtensions import *
import CvUtil
import ScreenInput
import PyHelpers
import time
import ColorUtil
import GameUtil
import TechUtil
import os
BUG (3.6) looks like this ...

Code:
## Sid Meier's Civilization 4
## Copyright Firaxis Games 2005
from CvPythonExtensions import *
import CvUtil
import ScreenInput
import PyHelpers
import time
import ColorUtil
import AttitudeUtil
import TechUtil
The latest BUG from the SVN looks like this ...

Code:
## Sid Meier's Civilization 4
## Copyright Firaxis Games 2005
from CvPythonExtensions import *
import CvUtil
import ScreenInput
import PyHelpers
import time

# BUG - start
import AttitudeUtil
import BugCore
import BugUtil
import ColorUtil
import GameUtil
import TechUtil
AdvisorOpt = BugCore.game.Advisors
# BUG - end
'AttitudeUtil' is used in the AP screen. It is missing in BUFFY and its causing this error.
__________________
I am away from my civ computer on the following:
  • September 4-17, 2014 (back around 10am)
pbem games will have to wait.

Last edited by ruff_hi; Aug 01, 2009 at 01:59 PM.
ruff_hi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 03:37 PM   #116
r_rolo1
King of myself
 
r_rolo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 13,818
Just a small confirmation.... BUFFY does not include the 3.19 UP, right?
__________________
" I'm the Lord of the lords, not the servant of the serfs" - D. João II of Portugal

My Civ lema: Qui vincit non est victor nisi victus fatetur

Lonely Hearts Club Bullpen / You , Yourself and your shadow : Some lessons on isolated starts
r_rolo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 05:34 PM   #117
duckstab
Child of Noble Family
 
duckstab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruff_hi View Post
I couldn't load up your game - I might have a slightly different version of BUFFY on my machine.
That's probably just as well since I'm embarrassed to be doing so poorly on Warlord

Quote:
'AttitudeUtil' is used in the AP screen. It is missing in BUFFY and its causing this error.
So is there a patch in the works for BUFFY?
__________________
The Remissness of our People in Paying Taxes is highly blameable; the Unwillingness to pay them is still more so. ... All the Property that is necessary to a Man, for the Conservation of the Individual and the Propagation of the Species, is his natural Right, which none can justly deprive him of: But all Property superfluous to such purposes is the Property of the Publick, who, by their Laws, have created it, and who may therefore by other Laws dispose of it, whenever the Welfare of the Publick shall demand such Disposition. He that does not like civil Society on these Terms, let him retire and live among Savages.
-- Benjamin Franklin, 1783
duckstab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 06:49 PM   #118
CHEESE!
ROCKETS GONNA GETCHA
 
CHEESE!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In the Land where
Posts: 2,210
I have a problem in that when I try to use MapFinder I get a message at the top of the screen:

"BUFFY 3.19 MapFinder folder was invalid."
Any advice? I will check my British computer.
CHEESE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2009, 07:22 PM   #119
sourdiesel
Warlord
 
sourdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruff_hi View Post
You have to have them all checked. You might get that message if you don't check 'time'.
Like I said, I have all the victory conditions checked, including time. I triple checked because that's what I thought the issue was too.
__________________
“I came for the Pilgrimage and nothing else. I do not wish to mix anything else with my Pilgrimage.” -Mansa Musa
sourdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 02:49 AM   #120
Ozbenno
Fly Fly Away
 
Ozbenno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 10,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHEESE! View Post
I have a problem in that when I try to use MapFinder I get a message at the top of the screen:

"BUFFY 3.19 MapFinder folder was invalid."
Any advice? I will check my British computer.
Check where MapFinder is installed and where BUFFY thinks it is installed on the Map Tab of the Options, probably two different locations.
Ozbenno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL) > Announcing BUFFY

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buffy- The Vampire Slayer Vinaes Off-Topic 30 Jul 04, 2004 05:14 PM
Buffy the Vampire Slayer series Timeline Mojotronica Off-Topic 3 May 19, 2003 07:47 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR