Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL)

Notices

Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL) (Public) Forum for Civ4 BTS Unaltered Gameplay Project.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Aug 02, 2009, 03:15 AM   #121
Denniz
Bugs!

 
Denniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 10,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourdiesel View Post
Like I said, I have all the victory conditions checked, including time. I triple checked because that's what I thought the issue was too.
Check the games options you have set against the HOF Rules. There may be some mixup in the messages. Let us know what it is so we can fix it next time.
Denniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 03:48 AM   #122
Capt Buttkick
Emperor
 
Capt Buttkick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Feet on t ground Head in t clouds
Posts: 1,775
Excellent job
I don't think I'll play another game without BUFFY.
__________________
It's against my programming to impersonate a deity. C-3PO
If you tolerate this, your children will be next...

What separates the great signatures from the good? Quotation, quotation, quotation.
Capt Buttkick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 06:55 AM   #123
Maniac
Apolyton Sage
 
Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium
Posts: 5,576
I don't understand. What is the difference between BUFFY and BUG/BULL?
__________________
Contraria sunt Complementa. -- Niels Bohr
Completed Mods: SMAniaC (SMAC) | Planetfall (Civ4)
Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 07:52 AM   #124
ruff_hi
Live 4ever! Or die trying
 
ruff_hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: an Aussie in NY
Posts: 8,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac View Post
I don't understand. What is the difference between BUFFY and BUG/BULL?
  • BUG is Beyond the Sword Unaltered Game play. It is a mod that radically improves the civ4 user interface.
  • BAT is BUG plus a whole bunch of pretty graphics
  • BULL is BUg dLL. BUG does not use a DLL. BULL is an extension of BUG that requires its own DLL and allows us to do great stuff that we couldn't do before.
  • BUFFY is BUG+BULL+HOF stuff (game checking v HOF requirements, secret file stuff, etc)

Added to FAQ in Post #4
__________________
My Blog [Getting Old, Getting Cranky], Wife's Series! [The Prism Series - book 4 The Wood at World's Edge coming soon!]
BUG Mod - BtS Unaltered Gameplay [ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Report Bugs | Troubleshooting | BUG Wiki | Modding Tutorial | BUFFY ]

"I found this great mod! Have you heard of it? It gives me everything I need!" - Troy Goodfellow's wife talking about the BUG mod | Spawn Busting: All the cool guys are doing it!

I've finally registered a domain. My site can now be found at www.ruffhi.com.
ruff_hi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 08:07 AM   #125
Maniac
Apolyton Sage
 
Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium
Posts: 5,576
Thanks. I knew the BUG/BAT/BULL difference, but what is the HOF stuff added onto that in BUFFY though? I don't understand what 'game checking v HOF requirements, secret file stuff' means. Does it make any difference for non-HOF civers?
__________________
Contraria sunt Complementa. -- Niels Bohr
Completed Mods: SMAniaC (SMAC) | Planetfall (Civ4)
Maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 08:17 AM   #126
ruff_hi
Live 4ever! Or die trying
 
ruff_hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: an Aussie in NY
Posts: 8,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac View Post
Thanks. I knew the BUG/BAT/BULL difference, but what is the HOF stuff added onto that in BUFFY though? I don't understand what 'game checking v HOF requirements, secret file stuff' means. Does it make any difference for non-HOF civers?
If you don't play HOF, GOTM, SGOTM games then you can ignore BUFFY. We are in the process of getting an official BUG out that will include BULL and get BUG+BULL up to where BUFFY currently is.
__________________
My Blog [Getting Old, Getting Cranky], Wife's Series! [The Prism Series - book 4 The Wood at World's Edge coming soon!]
BUG Mod - BtS Unaltered Gameplay [ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Report Bugs | Troubleshooting | BUG Wiki | Modding Tutorial | BUFFY ]

"I found this great mod! Have you heard of it? It gives me everything I need!" - Troy Goodfellow's wife talking about the BUG mod | Spawn Busting: All the cool guys are doing it!

I've finally registered a domain. My site can now be found at www.ruffhi.com.
ruff_hi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 11:56 AM   #127
evrett37
Prince
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 346
Buffy seems to work fine until i try and load an auto-saved game during a game, which causes a crash every time. Is this a problem anyone else has encountered ?
evrett37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 02:09 PM   #128
cabert
Big mouth
 
cabert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: France
Posts: 7,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by evrett37 View Post
Buffy seems to work fine until i try and load an auto-saved game during a game, which causes a crash every time. Is this a problem anyone else has encountered ?
it's an old HoF problem
does so very often

typically, you start a game,
play a while, then note that the map doesn't fit your criteria, you want to regenerate, you can't because you played already,
so you want to reload the initial save, and then you crash.
just double click the autosave directly in the directory you need after the crash (or after exiting), it will be fine.
__________________
Cabert
need happiness?; need health?
cabert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 06:51 PM   #129
SteelHorse
Deity
 
SteelHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,312
BUFFY on Windows 7

So far everything has looked good except the Turn Count display. Tried a creating test map for SGOTM 10 and it I can not get it to show either the correct turn, max turns, or %.

See screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Turn Count Problem0000.JPG
Views:	47
Size:	164.5 KB
ID:	223259  
SteelHorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 02, 2009, 07:32 PM   #130
smitsk00
plainlyfullofit
 
smitsk00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: back stateside
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe.m View Post
I've tried to play a few games with Buffy but keep running into the same bug -- everytime I attack a city with more than 1 unit the game crashes to the desktop.

I don't know what info is useful for tracking down things like this, but here's a screenshot of the error message and a copy of the file it offers to send. Hope that helps.
I have the same problem. It works fine without Stack Attack, but....snore...
__________________
"The best lack all conviction while the worst are full of passionate intensity."

Last edited by smitsk00; Aug 02, 2009 at 07:36 PM.
smitsk00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 12:27 AM   #131
Sam_Yeager
Another Original Geezer
 
Sam_Yeager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 2,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelHorse View Post
So far everything has looked good except the Turn Count display. Tried a creating test map for SGOTM 10 and it I can not get it to show either the correct turn, max turns, or %.
If you disable NJAGC then it will display the turn number correctly. However I still haven't worked out how to get it to display the total turns number. Perhaps something changed in the 3.19 patch?
__________________
Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power.
Abraham Lincoln
Sam_Yeager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 04:39 AM   #132
ruff_hi
Live 4ever! Or die trying
 
ruff_hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: an Aussie in NY
Posts: 8,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteelHorse View Post
So far everything has looked good except the Turn Count display. Tried a creating test map for SGOTM 10 and it I can not get it to show either the correct turn, max turns, or %.

See screenshot.
poor little mod - your selections have confused it. You cannot have completed turns, total turns and percentage all checked for the one view. Change it so that the options are:

Clock checked checked
completed turns checked unchecked
total turns checked unchecked
percentage unchecked checked
game date checked checked

Edit: I take that back - just opened a game and have them all checked and they show ok. Wonder what the issue is.
__________________
My Blog [Getting Old, Getting Cranky], Wife's Series! [The Prism Series - book 4 The Wood at World's Edge coming soon!]
BUG Mod - BtS Unaltered Gameplay [ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Report Bugs | Troubleshooting | BUG Wiki | Modding Tutorial | BUFFY ]

"I found this great mod! Have you heard of it? It gives me everything I need!" - Troy Goodfellow's wife talking about the BUG mod | Spawn Busting: All the cool guys are doing it!

I've finally registered a domain. My site can now be found at www.ruffhi.com.

Last edited by ruff_hi; Aug 03, 2009 at 05:47 AM.
ruff_hi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 06:41 AM   #133
tom123
Warlord
 
tom123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England.
Posts: 118
I know, I know!!!
Big
Ugly
Fat
F***er
Yes!
tom123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 07:13 AM   #134
gregac
Unseen
 
gregac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Deep within the sonoran desert
Posts: 43
will this work with rise of mankind?
gregac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 07:16 AM   #135
ruff_hi
Live 4ever! Or die trying
 
ruff_hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: an Aussie in NY
Posts: 8,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregac View Post
will this work with rise of mankind?
Is 'rise of mankind' a mod? If so ... then NO.
__________________
My Blog [Getting Old, Getting Cranky], Wife's Series! [The Prism Series - book 4 The Wood at World's Edge coming soon!]
BUG Mod - BtS Unaltered Gameplay [ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Report Bugs | Troubleshooting | BUG Wiki | Modding Tutorial | BUFFY ]

"I found this great mod! Have you heard of it? It gives me everything I need!" - Troy Goodfellow's wife talking about the BUG mod | Spawn Busting: All the cool guys are doing it!

I've finally registered a domain. My site can now be found at www.ruffhi.com.
ruff_hi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 08:59 AM   #136
BiggerJim
Chieftain
 
BiggerJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 3
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe.m View Post
I've tried to play a few games with Buffy but keep running into the same bug -- everytime I attack a city with more than 1 unit the game crashes to the desktop.
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitsk00 View Post
I have the same problem. It works fine without Stack Attack, but....snore...
Same problem here....
BiggerJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 09:06 AM   #137
ruff_hi
Live 4ever! Or die trying
 
ruff_hi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: an Aussie in NY
Posts: 8,193
suggest you turn off 'stack attack'. We are looking at the issue.
__________________
My Blog [Getting Old, Getting Cranky], Wife's Series! [The Prism Series - book 4 The Wood at World's Edge coming soon!]
BUG Mod - BtS Unaltered Gameplay [ Forum | Download | FAQ | Known Issues | Report Bugs | Troubleshooting | BUG Wiki | Modding Tutorial | BUFFY ]

"I found this great mod! Have you heard of it? It gives me everything I need!" - Troy Goodfellow's wife talking about the BUG mod | Spawn Busting: All the cool guys are doing it!

I've finally registered a domain. My site can now be found at www.ruffhi.com.
ruff_hi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 01:36 PM   #138
MacLeod319
Chieftain
 
MacLeod319's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5
Hmm, can't seem to get BTS to load after installing the Mod. I had installed into my \BTS main folder, since I was just going to run it all the time like I was doing with BUG. Now I can't get BTS to load at all. Every time I get the Microsoft "has encounterred a problem and needs to close" screen. Thanks for the hard work, I'm looking forward to the BUFFY mod...
__________________
"Those who cannot remember the past are doomed to repeat it." George Santayana
MacLeod319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 02:45 PM   #139
Grifftavian
Emperor
 
Grifftavian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 1 SW of Atlanta. GA USA
Posts: 1,647
I installed BUFFY as a mod, then created a shortcut to load BtS with with the BUFFY mod. It may be in the forums in another place, but here's how to do it...

1. Right click on your existing BtS shortcut, select Copy
2. Right click on Desktop, select Copy Shortcut
3. Right click on new shortcut, select Properties
4. In the Properties window, select the Shortcut Tab, if not selected
5. Left click in the text box for Target:, scroll all the way to the right (or hit END key)
6. Add mod=/BUFFY-3.19.001 to the end of the text in the text box (no spaces first)
7. Select the General Tab
8. Rename the shortcut to Civ4 BtS BUFFY-3.19.001 or similar
9. Click Apply or OK to close Properties Window

Same procedure works for any mod you like to use for BtS, or Warlords HOF-2.13.003, or Civ4 HOF-1.74.003, or...
Grifftavian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2009, 05:29 PM   #140
Denniz
Bugs!

 
Denniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 10,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacLeod319 View Post
Hmm, can't seem to get BTS to load after installing the Mod. I had installed into my \BTS main folder, since I was just going to run it all the time like I was doing with BUG. Now I can't get BTS to load at all. Every time I get the Microsoft "has encounterred a problem and needs to close" screen. Thanks for the hard work, I'm looking forward to the BUFFY mod...
Did you patch BTS to 3.19?
Denniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL) > Announcing BUFFY

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR