Hello

mmmchikn

Chieftain
Hello everyone. I've been playing Civilization for a little while (6 months or so) and was looking around this site when I came across the Dune mod. The Dune books are my favorites, so of course I had to download it (1.7.1).

I'm not particularly good at normal Civ, I'm decent and can win most of the time on Noble but I tried once on Prince and got worked. I've played through one entire game and am halfway through my second, and would like to share some observations (some of these may already be said/known, I've read some of the threads but if they're repeats oh well):

-I played as Mohiam, on Noble Arrakis Epic speed, I think everything was default. Standard map size. I founded Shai-Hulud, and beelined Mahdi and set the jihadists/bladesman on everyone. I eventually won a little past halfway through the game (not constantly at war) by diplomacy

-I used jihadists to take out Rabban, and didnt fight another war for a while, when I attacked eveyone in a nice line, until I got to kindjal fighters (ahead of everyone else) and upgraded my dudes to them.

-The reason I won is because of the Kwisatz Haderachs and Sayyadinas. In between the wars I set out a huge stack with 5 Sayyadinas and 2 Kwisatz dudes, and they accumulated so many promotions. Seriously, it was ridiculous, I had guys with like city raider 5, combat 5 , and blitz 5, stuff like that. Every attack was at 99-100% odds.

I think that the Sayyadinas are too powerful, as I was able to dominate the planet because of them. Maybe double the time it takes to do a promotion or something. Also, does stacking 5 of them make 5x the promotions? Maybe take away that if so, but not nerf the rate.