Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > OTHER GAMES > Alpha Centauri

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jan 23, 2010, 06:57 PM   #1
searles
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Help (probably isn't the first time you heard this)!

I got a copy of the Soldout AC and Alien Crossfire,and now is having problems with Vista (surprise, surprise) on my Acer Aspire 5535 (if that helps). I installed the original game, downloaded the compatability patch and it still tells me it can't recognise my CPU, but I still can run the game if I wish. When I press either OK, Cancel or the close button the game just shuts down.

Also when I tried Alien Crossfire, the same thing happens. Please can someone help!
searles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2010, 04:16 AM   #2
Ankios
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Well I got kind of the same problem. however maybe your's can be dealt with easily.

You got tips about it on the official firaxis website : http://www.firaxis.com/games/game_detail.php?gameid=7

Does it help ?

On my part, being on Windows Seven, I can't even launch the installer ! I can do nothing ! Does anyone have an idea on how to force the installer ?
Ankios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2010, 07:48 PM   #3
Buster's Uncle
AC2 Co-Owner
 
Buster's Uncle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 656
You might try various compatibility settings you can find by right-clicking the desktop icons, searles -and make sure they point to terran.exe and terranx.exe respectively, not the autorun program or anything like that.

Ankios, make sure you're logged in as an administrator. (I'm just parroting what Petek tells people;I don't have 7.)
Buster's Uncle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2010, 04:30 PM   #4
searles
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Sorry for the delay. I tried the help of the link, but have come up with a problem of not being able to change the ini file
searles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2010, 04:37 PM   #5
Buster's Uncle
AC2 Co-Owner
 
Buster's Uncle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 656
The administrator thing might apply in Vista, too...
Buster's Uncle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > OTHER GAMES > Alpha Centauri > Help (probably isn't the first time you heard this)!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ever heard about PRAO? Swedishguy Off-Topic 32 Apr 24, 2007 12:54 PM
Have you heard about the barbarians ? Marla_Singer Off-Topic 43 Mar 12, 2006 08:37 AM
Have you Heard Therealmat Humor & Jokes 3 Mar 04, 2006 11:00 PM
Has anyone here ever heard of LUE? MSTK Off-Topic 5 Mar 18, 2004 10:33 PM
Never heard that one before.... Yzman Civ3 - General Discussions 3 Aug 11, 2002 10:59 AM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR