testing network performance - Civilization Fanatics' Forums
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > COLOSSEUM > Computer Talk


Notices

Computer Talk Forum for computer geeks and dummies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Oct 31, 2002, 10:34 PM   #1
t92300
Yip Thats Me
 
t92300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Zealand Last Time I Checked
Posts: 330
testing network performance

are there any programmes for testing network performance
or does any one know how quick a ping of an address should be on a 10Mbs network

thanks
t92300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2002, 07:24 AM   #2
funxus
Orange Cycloptic Blob
 
funxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Where you wish to be!
Posts: 3,390
When I ping the other computer in my network, one has a 10mbs network card, it says time<10ms. I wanted to test the speed of ADSL connection, and tried it this way, but I don't know how reliable it is. It probably takes time for the other computer to return the package.
funxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2002, 12:28 PM   #3
Lucky
Game- and Quizmaster
 
Lucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,304
Simply transmit a bigger, single datafile from one comp to another. Then you can calculate the reached speed yourself.
Available programs donīt do anything else.
__________________
The difference between fiction and reality? Fiction has to make sense. - Tom Clancy

Visit Gamecatcher, your online gaming community!
Featuring our own online Magazine, a SimCity Deluxe Region, a Forum Arcade, a The Kabal Invasion server and much more.
Part of the Intersite Civ3 PBEM Democracy games.
Lucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > COLOSSEUM > Computer Talk > testing network performance

Thread Tools




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR