testing network performance - Civilization Fanatics' Forums
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > COLOSSEUM > Computer Talk

Computer Talk Forum for computer geeks and dummies.

Thread Tools
Old Oct 31, 2002, 10:34 PM   #1
Yip Thats Me
t92300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Zealand Last Time I Checked
Posts: 330
testing network performance

are there any programmes for testing network performance
or does any one know how quick a ping of an address should be on a 10Mbs network

t92300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2002, 07:24 AM   #2
Orange Cycloptic Blob
funxus's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Where you wish to be!
Posts: 3,390
When I ping the other computer in my network, one has a 10mbs network card, it says time<10ms. I wanted to test the speed of ADSL connection, and tried it this way, but I don't know how reliable it is. It probably takes time for the other computer to return the package.
funxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 01, 2002, 12:28 PM   #3
Game- and Quizmaster
Lucky's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,304
Simply transmit a bigger, single datafile from one comp to another. Then you can calculate the reached speed yourself.
Available programs donīt do anything else.
The difference between fiction and reality? Fiction has to make sense. - Tom Clancy

Visit Gamecatcher, your online gaming community!
Featuring our own online Magazine, a SimCity Deluxe Region, a Forum Arcade, a The Kabal Invasion server and much more.
Part of the Intersite Civ3 PBEM Democracy games.
Lucky is offline   Reply With Quote

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > COLOSSEUM > Computer Talk > testing network performance

Thread Tools

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR