Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Mar 10, 2010, 03:01 AM   #1
V. Soma
Deity
 
V. Soma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,047
Kotaku - preview of civ5

http://kotaku.com/5489814/civilizati...ig-differences

Reading now
__________________
creator of:
Clashing of Empires
(A standard sized version of Rhye's Civ for Civ 3)


My civ5 ideas:
- Conditioned Technological Development | Unit maintenance & supply | Land Unit Combat idea for 2 UPT
V. Soma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 03:02 AM   #2
NinjaCool
Warlord
 
NinjaCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 205
Thats like 3 preview today so fare
__________________
Take a longboat and 20 of your finest men, head to where the sun sets.
There you will find a village, pillage, plunder and burn all that you find!
Follow Thor, Follow Victory!
NinjaCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 03:12 AM   #3
Thormodr
Servant of Civ
 
Thormodr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,835
Cities have health bars now. That's the only new thing I saw in the article. Good find though.
__________________
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.
John 3:16 (KJV)
Thormodr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 03:26 AM   #4
ColdFever
blue
 
ColdFever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Luebeck, Germany, civilized.de
Posts: 446
"The current minimum spec Firaxis is hoping to accommodate are 256 MB video cards and dual core processors. That target might change."

Arghh. I do not have a dual core. Hopefully they can lower the specs.
__________________
Kai · Team www.civilized.de
ColdFever is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 03:27 AM   #5
V. Soma
Deity
 
V. Soma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,047
info gathered:

On system specs:
As good as those graphics looked, the game is supposed to be able to run on the widest range of PC hardware specifications supported by the series yet, from laptops Civ fans use on planes to high-end PCs.
The current minimum spec Firaxis is hoping to accommodate are 256 MB video cards and dual core processors. That target might change.

Cities:
And cities, which now have health bars, [and] can fire back.

Victory options:
as a tease, the developers said there will be surprises as to how non-military ways of winning the game, the standard cultural and technological victories, for example, will be designed.

On Mac version:
No Mac version is planned for launch, but the producer noted that all Civ games have eventually come out for Apple computers.
__________________
creator of:
Clashing of Empires
(A standard sized version of Rhye's Civ for Civ 3)


My civ5 ideas:
- Conditioned Technological Development | Unit maintenance & supply | Land Unit Combat idea for 2 UPT
V. Soma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 03:28 AM   #6
V. Soma
Deity
 
V. Soma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdFever View Post
[B][I]
Arghh. I do not have a dual core. Hopefully they can lower the specs.
I second you in this hope, very much
__________________
creator of:
Clashing of Empires
(A standard sized version of Rhye's Civ for Civ 3)


My civ5 ideas:
- Conditioned Technological Development | Unit maintenance & supply | Land Unit Combat idea for 2 UPT
V. Soma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 03:57 AM   #7
Willowmound
Wordbug
 
Willowmound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Afloat
Posts: 2,225
Those specs are already very low.
__________________
Still playing Civ IV? Try ActualQuotes -- leaders speak their own actual words
Willowmound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 05:52 AM   #8
Tamed
Warlord
 
Tamed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdFever View Post
"The current minimum spec Firaxis is hoping to accommodate are 256 MB video cards and dual core processors. That target might change."

Arghh. I do not have a dual core. Hopefully they can lower the specs.

Huh? A Dual core processor is only literally $20. o_o

Even a mobo to support one is like $30!

Any PC that can run a modern game of Civ 4 even on low settings should be able to hit minimum on Civ 5 provided they have even the dinkiest of dual cores. If people are still using a single core, which means they are probably using an AGP motherboard, you can still get a mobo+proc combo to support the dual for $50. Meaning, if you can afford Civ 5, you can afford to get your PC up to date to play it, unless you're honestly planning on buying ZERO new games or other expenses this year aside from Civ 5. =P
Tamed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 06:03 AM   #9
Pakhawaj
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 56
Man, I don't want to upgrade my computer again. I just did it and it was a right hassle.
I don't think I'll be getting this game for a few years yet, hopefully I can avoid places claiming Civ V is the best Civilization game ever.
Pakhawaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 06:06 AM   #10
Mef
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pakhawaj View Post
Man, I don't want to upgrade my computer again. I just did it and it was a right hassle.

You just 'upgraded' your PC with a single-core CPU?
Mef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 07:19 AM   #11
bonafide11
Worker
 
bonafide11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: STL
Posts: 2,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mef View Post
You just 'upgraded' your PC with a single-core CPU?
Exactly, how does someone recently upgrade their computer and still have a single-core CPU? For probably at least five years now, all computers have come with dual-cores, and some with quad-cores.
__________________
The only constant is change.
bonafide11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 09:04 AM   #12
Shiggs713
Immortal
 
Shiggs713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,320
willowmound is right that is low, you can buy a PC today, not even getting a good deal, at Best Buy, that exceeds those requirements, for less than $500. You could probably spend around 150-$200 and do a mega upgrade to your processors or gfx card if you don't wanna buy a whole new pc.
__________________
"Know thy self, know thy enemy. A thousand battles, a thousand victories. " - Sun Tzu
Shiggs Earth - A ciV map and mod
CivEarth.com - a fanatics site for multi-player Earth Scenario's for cIV & ciV
Shiggs713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 09:10 AM   #13
thwump
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boston
Posts: 89
kotaku just added a new post about roads. They said they were told that roads were being reworked to avoid "road spaghetti" but they don't seem to have all the details of how things will work now.

I never understood the complaint about the roads apart from the visuals. Each square represents so much land area that it seems natural you would have roads everywhere. All those farm goods and hammers need to get to town somehow.
thwump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 09:33 AM   #14
Willowmound
Wordbug
 
Willowmound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Afloat
Posts: 2,225
I think that's great news!

http://kotaku.com/5489834/civilizati...road-spaghetti
__________________
Still playing Civ IV? Try ActualQuotes -- leaders speak their own actual words
Willowmound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 09:41 AM   #15
Akka
Moody old mage.
 
Akka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Facing my computer.
Posts: 9,327
I hope that roads will still be quite relevant :x
I like to see them stretches to the four corners of my empire !
__________________
If violence didn't solve your problem... Well, you just haven't been violent enough.
Akka is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 09:59 AM   #16
WeaselSlapper
Prince
 
WeaselSlapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tamed View Post
Huh? A Dual core processor is only literally $20. o_o

Even a mobo to support one is like $30!

Any PC that can run a modern game of Civ 4 even on low settings should be able to hit minimum on Civ 5 provided they have even the dinkiest of dual cores. If people are still using a single core, which means they are probably using an AGP motherboard, you can still get a mobo+proc combo to support the dual for $50. Meaning, if you can afford Civ 5, you can afford to get your PC up to date to play it, unless you're honestly planning on buying ZERO new games or other expenses this year aside from Civ 5. =P
You're assuming he has a desktop. If he's running a laptop like me that means buying an entirely new computer, as the laptop I'm using now has a single core processors with 128 MB shared video memory. From the specs they listed they will be eliminating anyone with a laptop that's designed to be portable from playing Civ V, including me. My current computer can run Civ IV perfectly fine, but if these specs hold out I won't be able to run Civ V.
__________________
Tried of always using the same leader/country. Check out my Leader Chooser program (for Civ IV). Constructive feedback is always welcome.
WeaselSlapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 10:12 AM   #17
Hypernova
Warlord
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by thwump View Post
I never understood the complaint about the roads apart from the visuals. Each square represents so much land area that it seems natural you would have roads everywhere. All those farm goods and hammers need to get to town somehow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akka View Post
I hope that roads will still be quite relevant :x
I like to see them stretches to the four corners of my empire !
But Civ is an abstraction, and the large scale is precisely why you shouldn't see and build every little country road. What matters to the empire is the major arteries, not the tracks and trails. In war when playing Civ you can't can't usually cut off cities from an empire except for very early in the game precisely because there is no discrete road you can sever, but in real life there would be, there would be main roads vital to an empire which the spaghetti which is all the minor roads could not instantly replace like it does in Civ IV.
__________________
Economic Left/Right: -1.38
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.64
Hypernova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 11:32 AM   #18
vsipinen
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tamed View Post
Huh? A Dual core processor is only literally $20. o_o

Even a mobo to support one is like $30!

Any PC that can run a modern game of Civ 4 even on low settings should be able to hit minimum on Civ 5 provided they have even the dinkiest of dual cores. If people are still using a single core, which means they are probably using an AGP motherboard, you can still get a mobo+proc combo to support the dual for $50. Meaning, if you can afford Civ 5, you can afford to get your PC up to date to play it, unless you're honestly planning on buying ZERO new games or other expenses this year aside from Civ 5. =P
Would I then be able to upgrade my processor to a Dual Core processor, when my current processor is (looking directly from the order of my old computer) INTEL P-4 3000 MHz 478 800FSB Prescott, without need to buy a new motherboard ?
vsipinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 11:41 AM   #19
Thormodr
Servant of Civ
 
Thormodr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypernova View Post
But Civ is an abstraction, and the large scale is precisely why you shouldn't see and build every little country road. What matters to the empire is the major arteries, not the tracks and trails. In war when playing Civ you can't can't usually cut off cities from an empire except for very early in the game precisely because there is no discrete road you can sever, but in real life there would be, there would be main roads vital to an empire which the spaghetti which is all the minor roads could not instantly replace like it does in Civ IV.
Maybe you should be able to upgrade one road connection between cities into a superhighway. It will appear much more prominent than the other roads.

Maybe Roman roads with construction and Superhighways with Mass production or something like that.

So you'd have a Roman Road connecting cities and roads that look like dirt tracks for the others. Superhighways would look much more bigger than the other roads that are either gravel or paved and much more subdued.

Likewise with railways, you could discover Mag Lev railroads and have it connect major cities to each other.
__________________
For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.
John 3:16 (KJV)
Thormodr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2010, 11:56 AM   #20
Oda Nobunaga
Deity
 
Oda Nobunaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 6,849
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeaselSlapper View Post
You're assuming he has a desktop. If he's running a laptop like me that means buying an entirely new computer, as the laptop I'm using now has a single core processors with 128 MB shared video memory. From the specs they listed they will be eliminating anyone with a laptop that's designed to be portable from playing Civ V, including me.
"Anyone with a laptop that's designed to be portable"? Uh?

I mean, even my old 2006-vintage Thinkpad has a dual core and 256MB shared video memory. Granted, that was a fairly high-end laptop back when I bought it, but it's still four years old - positively antique in computer terms!

My new laptop, which was a lightweight, cheap-end Acer I bought a year ago, has a dual core and even more shared video memory.

I mean, netbooks probably won't be able to play it, but netbook kind of aren't meant to play games...
__________________
Proud of my French-Canadian roots and ancestry. Not proud of Quebec
"My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair.
So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world." - Jack Layton's last letter.
R.I.P. Jack.
Oda Nobunaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions > Kotaku - preview of civ5

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Civ5 Preview on IGN (3/8/2010) Thunderfall News Updates 118 Mar 18, 2010 02:34 PM
IGN Offers Its First Civ5 Preview Ginger_Ale News Updates 53 Mar 15, 2010 04:33 AM
About CIV5 lodasn Civ5 - General Discussions 6 Feb 19, 2010 02:09 PM
Kotaku Reviews CivRev Singleplayer Ginger_Ale News Updates 5 Jun 22, 2008 11:39 PM
Civ5? TORARADICAL Civ4 - General Discussions 1 May 27, 2007 02:25 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR