Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 22, 2010, 07:35 AM   #1
Mannu
Warlord
 
Mannu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 230
game won't launch (nothing happens after clicking): troubleshooting and solution

Here's my problem and how I worked around it.

I updated everything through steam to the point where I was able to click "Play" and then a little window of the CIV5 app would appear with text links to ask me to choose either DirectX9 or DirectX10-11 to play CIV. When I clicked on either of those nothing would happen.

On this screen though, you can right click on either of those links and choose to create a desktop shortcut. Create a shortcut for the one you prefer to use.

Now when I tried to launch the game using this shortcut, I got an error message about a missing directX .dll file.

I reinstalled DirectX from here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...D-85FC422D1388
It's the one at the very top. Always install the latest and greatest and always only from Microsoft.

Then I restarted and CIV5 is now working for me, well mostly. I don't have any intro video, but if I wait a few seconds the game loads. Also leaders are not animated (though I wonder if that is a display setting).

Good luck!

P.S. if you aren't sure what version of DirectX your PC has, then search your pc for the dxdiag.exe and run that. It's an application that gives you details about your directX install (and your display adapters and monitor).
Mannu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 08:43 AM   #2
The_J
Say No 2 Net Validations
 
The_J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany / Netherlands
Posts: 29,005
Thanks for posting this .
I'd like to see a confirmation that it works for someone else.
__________________
Civ4-BtS-Mod "Mars, Now!"


Steam eats the souls of little gamers!!!
The_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 10:11 AM   #3
rage1907
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mannu View Post
Here's my problem and how I worked around it.

I updated everything through steam to the point where I was able to click "Play" and then a little window of the CIV5 app would appear with text links to ask me to choose either DirectX9 or DirectX10-11 to play CIV. When I clicked on either of those nothing would happen.

On this screen though, you can right click on either of those links and choose to create a desktop shortcut. Create a shortcut for the one you prefer to use.

Now when I tried to launch the game using this shortcut, I got an error message about a missing directX .dll file.

I reinstalled DirectX from here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/e...D-85FC422D1388
It's the one at the very top. Always install the latest and greatest and always only from Microsoft.

Then I restarted and CIV5 is now working for me, well mostly. I don't have any intro video, but if I wait a few seconds the game loads. Also leaders are not animated (though I wonder if that is a display setting).

Good luck!

P.S. if you aren't sure what version of DirectX your PC has, then search your pc for the dxdiag.exe and run that. It's an application that gives you details about your directX install (and your display adapters and monitor).
I'm having the exact same problem but this solution didn't work for me. I've tried most of the solutions for directx related problems but nothing works. Atleast it's only the demo. I'm a major civ addict so unless I find a solution soon, I' will get me a brand new computer and hope that will do the trick :/

Anyone who solves this issue using another solution: please notify us here. thanks!
rage1907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Technical Support > game won't launch (nothing happens after clicking): troubleshooting and solution

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Vanilla] Civ3 gets error upon clicking "Play Game" White Glint Civ3 - Technical Support 2 Sep 22, 2010 05:07 PM
game crashes upon clicking Single Player CivDav Civ4 - Rise of Mankind 2 Feb 17, 2010 05:54 PM
Game Crashes when clicking on 'Replaced by' and 'Replaces' links in Civilopedia FoxURA Civ4 - Bug Reports 3 Sep 18, 2007 04:17 AM
Game stalls PC, monitor goes black when clicking icons in top right Prometheus_666 Civ4 - Technical Support 1 May 03, 2006 10:49 AM
Game won't launch CBR1100 Civ4 - Technical Support 6 Nov 13, 2005 05:17 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR