Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions

Notices

Civ5 - General Discussions Forum for general Civ5 discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 29, 2010, 05:26 PM   #1
Heathcliff
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 214
Is it possible to play Civilization 5 without an internet connection?

I like to play computergames on my laptop where I have no access to an internet connection. I have two questions:

1. Is it possible to play Civilization 5 without having an internet connection? I cannot start the game without having internet right now, but I'm new to steam so maybe there is a way.

2. If your internet connection goes down while playing Civilization 5 will you get kicked out of Civilization 5 - which could solve problem 1 by simply always have civilization 5 running in the background. if you are kicked out when the internet goes down like in starcraft 2 singleplayer - remember to save often.
Heathcliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2010, 05:28 PM   #2
Dusk
Prince
 
Dusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 351
Once you're activated on Steam you can play offline.

Nothing happens if you get disconnected during play. Not in my experience any way.
Dusk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2010, 05:29 PM   #3
thk123
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
You only need an internet connection when you first install the game. After this, you are free to play without any internet connection. If you don't have internet, start Civ 5 and it should ask you if you want to start Steam in offline mode (alternatively, you can put steam in to offline mode from the Steam menu [top right] when it is already running and then it will stay in offline mode by default. You can then play the game as normal (albeit without multiplayer, but without internet, I'm guessing you weren't expecting multiplayer :P)
__________________
LAN stuck on retrieving host information fix: http://thkgamereview.blogspot.com/2010/09/civilization-5-lan-fix.html
thk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2010, 05:38 PM   #4
Heathcliff
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 214
You're right, I can start the game if I press the steam to start in offline mode. Thanks.
Heathcliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions > Is it possible to play Civilization 5 without an internet connection?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR