Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions

Notices

Civ5 - General Discussions Forum for general Civ5 discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Oct 01, 2010, 12:21 PM   #1
Nutteria
Tzar
 
Nutteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sofia,Bulgaria
Posts: 171
Civ V and big empires works

Many people have butchering Civ 5 among other things that it does not support big empires due to happyness and maintenance.

So to disprove that I made a Prince game on standart map size and chose Rome in order to create and dominate an entire game.

So here are the Results :

1) 1854 after finaly crushing the Chinese and the Soux I dominated my part of the continent.There is a unpassable Mountain range between me and Egypt.I managed to invade and take em out but France declared by surprise and conquered the egyptian citys for himself.

Spoiler:


2) In the early 2000 I started my naval invasion toards Paris and after 5-6 Turns it fell alongside 3-4 more citys.I didn`t want to take anything else but the Capital and move on for the domination win but Napoleon just refused to stop the war so I had to persuade him by taking 2 more cities and liberating a city state.After that it took me 6-7 turns to possition my army near the last Capital and here is the screeny the turn I declared

Spoiler:


Now some braging screen about my Overall status after I won :

Spoiler:


Spoiler:


So in conclusion I must say that if you play correctly you can have quite big empire and enjoy domination victories all over the place

Enjoy.
Nutteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 12:37 PM   #2
mattavich
Civ5 Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 190
I agree.

Also, the great thing about civ 5 is you don't HAVE to play as a large empire. you can still win as a smaller empire.

Which is a great addition.
mattavich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 12:38 PM   #3
mattavich
Civ5 Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 190
I agree.

Also, the great thing about civ 5 is you don't HAVE to play as a large empire. you can still win as a smaller empire.

Which is a great addition.
mattavich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 01:10 PM   #4
the_lor
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 43
I think the “you can’t have a massive empire” talk is largely “you can’t have a massive empire in precisely the same way as you could in 4, and I haven’t mastered how to do it in 5 yet” talk in code.
the_lor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 01, 2010, 01:13 PM   #5
automator
King
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northwest USA
Posts: 731
Of course a big empire is viable. Just as it was viable in Civ 4.

It's just that there are different ways of dealing with a large empire. Last edition of the game you were blocked by revenue, which is why you'd have people rushing for Communism, or building Versaille and the Forbidden Palace to take care of distance mainenance costs. Or building wealth. Or keeping the science slider low.

Now you're capped out by happiness. So use the tools that deal with happiness.
automator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions > Civ V and big empires works

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR