Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Strategy & Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Nov 01, 2010, 12:31 PM   #1
E66man
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 209
How is literacy calculated?

In previous versions of Civ, you earned 100% literacy by making every science building in every one of your cities, but now it appears to be linked to how many techs you've researched. However, I've had games where I've researched Future Tech and still not been at 100% so it must be even more complex than just the base percentage of completed techs.
E66man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2010, 02:51 PM   #2
E66man
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 209
LOL... wow, nobody has any guesses?
E66man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2010, 02:52 PM   #3
Sonereal
To the Ark!
 
Sonereal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by E66man View Post
LOL... wow, nobody has any guesses?
I thought it was still tied to how many techs you have researched. At the beginning, you have 0% despite having one tech already researched.
__________________
༼ つ◕_◕༽つ PRAISE HELIX ༼ つ◕_◕༽つ
Sonereal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2010, 02:57 PM   #4
bryanw1995
Emperor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,424
it is supposed to be the % of techs that you have achieved, so 36 techs = 50% literacy.
bryanw1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2010, 02:59 PM   #5
E66man
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 209
Sure, but there must be more to it if you can have Future tech researched and still not be at 100%. Maybe the new formula ties in population somehow?

Either way, I'm not sure why the easy to understand science building built / science building available metric was dropped. It just bugs me that I can't get 100% as a point of pride.

Maybe the available buildings do still count, but you get a penalty for the ones you just can't build- so for example if I can't place an Observatory in every city it gets counted against me for literacy purposes.
E66man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2010, 05:08 PM   #6
Bibor
Doomsday Machine
 
Bibor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 2,116
Nabucco: "Hey Bibor, you illiterate moron! My literacy is 80% ha-ha!"
Me: "Orly? Okay, I'll just tell my illiterate level 5 Artillery I happen to have here..."
Nabucco: "No wait-"
Me: "Oh man, was that your library? So sorry. Not."
Bibor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2010, 02:45 AM   #7
Nunya
Warlord
 
Nunya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 270
It also seems to be tied to the Writing technology somehow. I've seen Napoleon reach Renaissance and he still showed up as having 0% literacy.

Could be that it's a mix of how many cities have Libraries and how many techs you have researched.
Nunya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2010, 02:57 AM   #8
pi-r8
Luddite
 
pi-r8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Babylon
Posts: 2,369
I thought it was basically how many techs you've researched after writing. Maybe you need to research a few future techs to get 100%?
pi-r8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2010, 02:33 PM   #9
WeaselSlapper
Prince
 
WeaselSlapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 506
My guess it has something to do with BPT (beakers per turn) / population. So the more science per citizen you're producing the better your literacy, but that's just an educated guess on my part. I say that because I usually notice a decent jump in literacy after I start to build libraries and another after I start finishing universities. But it could just be raw BPT and nothing to do with current population. I only throw in pop because it's literacy rate is displayed as a % so it needs to be divided by something, supposed it could also be number of cities.
__________________
Tried of always using the same leader/country. Check out my Leader Chooser program (for Civ IV). Constructive feedback is always welcome.
WeaselSlapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2010, 09:24 AM   #10
biohazard72
Prince
 
biohazard72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 348
From my experience, it relates to the number of libraries built at first, and also has something to do with tech progress.
biohazard72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2010, 04:03 PM   #11
E66man
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 209
Just took another shot at this, and with half a dozen times of researching Future Tech I was still only at 99%.
E66man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2010, 05:59 PM   #12
MouseyPounds
Prince
 
MouseyPounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 417
Most likely the game simply doesn't count the Future Tech as being researched so it caps at 99%. This is one demographic that is completely transparent if you read the code for the screen -- it is solely based on the number of techs you have and whether or not you have researched writing.

Quoting Assets/UI/InGame/Popups/Demographics.lua:
Spoiler:
Code:
function GetLiteracyValue( iPlayer )

    local pTeamTechs = Teams[ Players[ iPlayer ]:GetTeam() ]:GetTeamTechs();
    
    local iWriting = GameInfoTypes[ "TECH_WRITING" ];
    if( iWriting ~= nil and 
        not pTeamTechs:HasTech( iWriting ) ) then
        return 0;
    end
    
    local iCount = 0;
	for row in GameInfo.Technologies() do
	    if( pTeamTechs:HasTech( row.ID ) ) then
	        iCount = iCount + 1;
	    end
	end
	
	return 100 * iCount / #GameInfo.Technologies;
end
MouseyPounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2010, 11:39 AM   #13
E66man
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by MouseyPounds View Post
This is one demographic that is completely transparent if you read the code for the screen -- it is solely based on the number of techs you have and whether or not you have researched writing.
Thanks for looking that up!

If they had implemented things similar to previous versions, where the Future Tech incremented version numbers each time you researched it, we might have been able to hit 100%. Very disappointing they chose to name that category 'Literacy'...
E66man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 09:19 AM   #14
stinokonino
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Greatperson How is your literacy calculated?

Well, I believe your literacy is the proportion between science and population; if you produce 100 science with 50 population your literacy is worth 100%. BUT however, what's not counted in your literacy are science produced by tiles, universities... JUST population and science.
How to get 100% then? Well, the word literacy says it already: how many of your people can read AND read. This means to have 100% literacy you have to build a library, and later, when you researched the appropriate technology, a public school in every city: then you produce 2 science for 2 citizens. Then everyone in your empire can read.
So if you want 100% literacy, don't go into a war (not as I do), because conquered cities bring your literacy down (but your points up xp)!
At least that's how I would explain it...
stinokonino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 09:31 AM   #15
WeaselSlapper
Prince
 
WeaselSlapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by stinokonino View Post
Well, I believe your literacy is the proportion between science and population; if you produce 100 science with 50 population your literacy is worth 100%. BUT however, what's not counted in your literacy are science produced by tiles, universities... JUST population and science.
How to get 100% then? Well, the word literacy says it already: how many of your people can read AND read. This means to have 100% literacy you have to build a library, and later, when you researched the appropriate technology, a public school in every city: then you produce 2 science for 2 citizens. Then everyone in your empire can read.
So if you want 100% literacy, don't go into a war (not as I do), because conquered cities bring your literacy down (but your points up xp)!
At least that's how I would explain it...
Man you just dug up a thread that's a year an a 1/2 old. Your necromancy skills are legendary.
__________________
Tried of always using the same leader/country. Check out my Leader Chooser program (for Civ IV). Constructive feedback is always welcome.
WeaselSlapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2012, 01:41 AM   #16
Stratti
Chieftain
 
Stratti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
I would say that it's. It possible to get 100% as there is an infinite number of future techs. But it is definitely tied to advances in the way described above the civ 4 based explanation notwithstanding. The exact mechanics are not clear but it isn't tied to productivity near as I can tell as when I've significantly increased science there hasn't been an increase next turn in literacy.
__________________
Never underestimate Man's propensity for stupidity
Stratti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Strategy & Tips > How is literacy calculated?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR