Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions

Notices

Civ5 - General Discussions Forum for general Civ5 discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Nov 11, 2010, 11:04 AM   #1
black213
Emperor
 
black213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,090
Civ5 What does the "World Age" option do?

It has 3, 4 and 5 billion year options. Personally, I think I've seen an increase in ancient ruins with 5 billion years, but I might be wrong.
So what does it really do, does anyone know?
black213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2010, 11:07 AM   #2
testdummy653
Prince
 
testdummy653's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lab 653
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by black213 View Post
It has 3, 4 and 5 billion year options. Personally, I think I've seen an increase in ancient ruins with 5 billion years, but I might be wrong.
So what does it really do, does anyone know?
It makes the map more hilly and mountainous. I believe the older the map, the less hilly or mountainous. (erosion)

It should not have an affect on ruins.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlizzardGR View Post
A younger world has more rough terrain like hills and mountains while an older one has more flat terrain.
That sounds so much better ^^
__________________
A brave little theory, and actually quite coherent for a system of five or seven dimensions--if only we lived in one.

Academician Prokhor Zakharov
"Now We Are Alone"
testdummy653 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2010, 11:08 AM   #3
BlizzardGR
Prince
 
BlizzardGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens
Posts: 371
A younger world has more rough terrain like hills and mountains while an older one has more flat terrain.
__________________
-PENTIUM -
Produces Erroneous Numbers Through Incorrect Understanding of Math.
BlizzardGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2010, 11:32 AM   #4
black213
Emperor
 
black213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,090
OK, thanks.
black213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2010, 11:41 AM   #5
Licinia Eudoxia
Empress
 
Licinia Eudoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 424
An older world also has more forests and jungles.
Licinia Eudoxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2010, 01:21 PM   #6
Revoran
Prince
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 493
I thought the Rainfall ( "Arid, normal, wet" ) option controlled forests/jungles/marshes ?
Revoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2010, 02:37 PM   #7
Dark_Jedi06
"Deus ex Machina."
 
Dark_Jedi06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: White Post, VA
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revoran View Post
I thought the Rainfall ( "Arid, normal, wet" ) option controlled forests/jungles/marshes ?
That's absolutely true, the world age has no effect on the density of forests/jungles.

Playing on a "younger" world is definitely more fun, especially considering how beautiful mountains look in this game. It also helps with issues relating to production, as more hills = more opportunities for .
__________________
Legendary Earth Mod (LEM)
A balanced and accurate Earth map for Civilization V.
Steam ID: http://steamcommunity.com/id/Deu_sEx_machina

"The great questions of the day will not be settled by means
of speeches and majority decisions, but by iron and blood."
~Otto von Bismarck
Dark_Jedi06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2010, 03:18 PM   #8
Licinia Eudoxia
Empress
 
Licinia Eudoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Jedi06 View Post
That's absolutely true, the world age has no effect on the density of forests/jungles.

Playing on a "younger" world is definitely more fun, especially considering how beautiful mountains look in this game. It also helps with issues relating to production, as more hills = more opportunities for .
I thought that world age also contributed to amount of jungles and forests, or the thickness, I dunno. But I could be entirely wrong, I haven't look at this stuff in Modbuddy or know if it's even in there.

Also, I like younger worlds too, because the mountains make for some interesting combat, and it makes some of the AI empires more interesting, since they can't just settle a city every 10 hexes.
Licinia Eudoxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2010, 05:35 PM   #9
stormerne
Eye of the Storm
 
stormerne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,331
Back in Civ2, the world age had a different effect to what other posters describe. Basically it changed the mix - how much different terrain types were shuffled - not the amounts of each type. For example, a younger world would have as many mountains as an older one, but they would be clumped together in larger amounts. As the world age got older, they got shuffled with the other terrain types. Thus an older world was more varied over a small number of tiles but more the same over a large amount. Perhaps it's different on Civ5; I haven't tried for myself yet to see who's right.
__________________
Never try to teach a pig to sing; it wastes your time and it annoys the pig
Political Compass: similar to the Dalai Lama
stormerne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions > What does the "World Age" option do?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR