What is an absolute newbie to do if he wants to play Dune Wars?

babylon5v

Chieftain
Hi, I'm pretty much an absolute newbie. I've owned Civ4 for quite a while but just haven't been able to play it much. I still have next to no idea how to play it properly and constantly get destroyed (the few times I've played). I did play Civ 1 & 2 quite extensively when I was younger and those games were new. I played Civ 3 off an on for a while.

Anyway, I saw this mod, and I knew I had to play it. But I honestly have zero idea how to play it. Is there some sort of beginner guide? Are there some pertinent articles in the Civlopedia? Is the whole mod pretty much just trial and error? Should I spend some significant time playing BtS before even attempting this mod?

Basically, what is an absolute newbie to do if he wants to play Dune Wars?

Mods that change as much as Dune Wars does are more or less a different game from BtS, aside from the expand-explore-exterminate bit. Having said that, the "Dune Encyclopedia" on the main menu of the game once the mod is loaded will tell you everything that's different from the original game. IMO, this is probably one of the more newbie-friendly mods out there. Fun, easy to learn.

To install, download and run these files in this order (c/p from another thread):
1. Dune Wars 1.9.1 (This is not a patch but a full version of the mod)
2. Dune Wars 1.9.2.
3. Dune Wars 1.9.3.
There's an optional music pack that you can download as well. Just adds music, so if you use WinAmp or something for your music, don't bother.