Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION II > Civ2 - Technical Support

Notices

Civ2 - Technical Support This forum is for technical questions, such as compatibilities, game installation, sound, or video problems.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Aug 18, 2010, 10:16 PM   #1
Acrux
Warlord
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 123
ToT patch problem

I'm attempting to install the 1.1 patch for my Test of Time installation. I assume the patch is supposed to update civ2.exe with an updated version, but this is not happening. Once the installer completes, civ2.exe "disappears" and so the game is unable to load.

I'm reinstalling ToT on a 32-bit XP(SP3) machine, and I've previouslly installed it on this computer without problem. I am not installing from Civ Chronicles.

I've tried deleting all Civ 2 data from the registry. I've tried downloading the patch from different locations in case it was a corrupted download. Any suggestions?
Acrux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 09:22 AM   #2
Catfish
Brutal Biscuivore
 
Catfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wollongong, Australia
Posts: 1,344
I don't really have a solution, but don't delete the registry entries for ToT; the patch won't install without them. You may want to try disabling some of the other running processes through the Task Manager before you attempt to install the patch, in particular, anti-virus, anti-spyware and any 3rd-party firewall software.
Catfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 02:29 PM   #3
Rebelstar
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Unhappy Similar Problem!

After Installing patches, Including 'nolimits', I get the game up and running only to discover that even after building 6 or 7 cities I don't get the opportunity to research advances.
Rebelstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2011, 02:43 AM   #4
Magic_gorter
Deity

 
Magic_gorter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Amersfoort (Netherlands)
Posts: 2,567
Did you check the science rating (ctrl+T) or is your government in anarchy?
Magic_gorter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION II > Civ2 - Technical Support > ToT patch problem

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR