Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION II > Civ2 - Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Feb 14, 2011, 07:41 AM   #1
Trueginger
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Civ 2 for Mac OS X 10.5.8

Hi all

I'm desperate to play Civ ii again! I have a Windows version of it but can't play it on the PC as they have Windows 7. I would prefer to play it on my Mac but have no idea where to get it from. Can anyone help? Failing that, does anyone have any suggestions for getting it to load on the PC?

Thanks!
Trueginger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2011, 09:07 AM   #2
Magic_gorter
Deity

 
Magic_gorter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Amersfoort (Netherlands)
Posts: 2,559
Did you look in the tech section. There is a thread about win 7 and being able to play civ....
Magic_gorter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2011, 09:22 AM   #3
Trueginger
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
I did read all of the threads. I tried the patch and copying over the files onto my hard drive.... I am a novice at all this and Windows is not my thing....
When I try to run setup it tells me that it won't work on this version of Win (7) and to refer to the manufacturer.

Please if you wouldn't mind giving me an idiots guide...? Moderator Action: Removed text about other poster. Please keep it civil.

Last edited by Magic_gorter; Feb 15, 2011 at 12:19 AM.
Trueginger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 05, 2011, 07:09 PM   #4
2isthebest
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
I sorted this today. You need to buy a copy of the game, then run a 7.5.3 emulator called Basiliskll, its free and easy to set up, following directions available online. PM if you need any help sourcing a copy of the game..
2isthebest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2011, 11:20 AM   #5
pjdodd
Chieftain
 
pjdodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: London
Posts: 97
Don't do that - it's a faff.

Search for free PPC app called Civ II Gold Rel PPC - some guy wrote it.

What it does is run Civ 2 from any Mac OS X system...it's free, no classic needed. Launch from within the Civ2 folder.
All the music and video files play too.

And it all worked fine until Apple released 10.6.8 and now it's stuffed - boo bloody hoo.
__________________
"It could be worse...my computer could be a PC"
pjdodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION II > Civ2 - Technical Support > Civ 2 for Mac OS X 10.5.8

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR