Gray walls- A very short story

Kyriakos

Creator
The following is my own translation of a short story i like. As a translator i am not that great, and as i have written before it is not that good an idea to translate to a language which is not your own. But i tried my best to salvage the original tone of the story in my re-writing of it.

I hope you will find it interesting. Comments are welcome :)

Gray walls

It was a noon of the middle of summer, something of importance since the hot Sun gave the opportunity to the staff but also the patients to have a walk at the great yard of the public mental health hospital.I arrived on time so as to meet with one of the doctors, who I knew from days of old. The occasion for my visit was the distinction awarded to one of my stories, which I had promised to read to him personally, as I used to do in the past when we met.
My acquaintance, who worked there, gave me a tour of the spaces of his office but also of the ones open to public in the department in which he is the head since a short time now. “All the walls here are gray” he said.
At some moment, as we were for a while in his spacious office, sat comfortably in our armchairs and having each lit a cigar, my acquaintance, having just recalled something of significance, told me that I have to see one more location.
I accepted, only was saddened a little that I should now rise from such a nice environment, and also to extinguish my cigar, but in a while we were in the corridors and walked, my acquaintance in front of me, and I at the back.