Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Multiplayer & PBEM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 15, 2011, 03:39 AM   #1
Akbarthegreat
Angel of Junil
 
Akbarthegreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Erebus
Posts: 1,451
Direct IP connection help

OK, I'm a complete noob 'bout MP. I want to plaay direct IP connection with a friend, but I have absolutely no idea about what to do. Do I have to open any ports on my router? Or what?
Thanks in advance.
__________________
Currently playing Magister Modmod.
Akbarthegreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2011, 03:24 AM   #2
2metraninja
Defender of Nabaxica
 
2metraninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Plovdiv, BG
Posts: 5,439
First try it as it is. There is a fair chance you just run it without any problem. One of you guys will need real IP though. If it does not run smooth and you are behind router, then try redirecting those ports from your router:

* 6667 (IRC)
* 2033 (Civ4)
* 2056 (Civ4)
* 47624 (Directplay)
* 3783 (Voice Chat Port)
* 27900 (Master Server UDP Heartbeat)
* 28900 (Master Server List Request)
* 29900 (GP Connection Manager)
* 29901 (GP Search Manager)
* 13139 (Custom UDP Pings)
* 6500 (Query Port)
* 6515 (Dplay UDP)
* 2300-2400 (DirectPlay - UDP)
__________________
It takes a ninja to kill another ninja.
2metraninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 04:00 AM   #3
Akbarthegreat
Angel of Junil
 
Akbarthegreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Erebus
Posts: 1,451
, but do I need to redirect specific ones, or all of them?
We had tried it once and knew each other's IP address, but couldn't get through.
EDIT: Which type do I do, UDP, TCP or TCP/UDP?
__________________
Currently playing Magister Modmod.
Akbarthegreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2011, 12:12 AM   #4
2metraninja
Defender of Nabaxica
 
2metraninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Plovdiv, BG
Posts: 5,439
I think all of them must be redirected/opened.

About UDP, TCP or combined, I tried and it worked with TCP.

If nothing works, you can try playing trough the Gamespy lobby - select "INTERNET GAME" in the multiplayer menu, create account in Gamespy and then host/join games(no CD or serial check is performed )

Or you can use Hamachi. Hamachi is a free program, which you both have to install on your computers and it creates virtual network, so you can see each-other. Download it and install and follow the instructions.
__________________
It takes a ninja to kill another ninja.
2metraninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 05, 2012, 09:59 PM   #5
gdambrauskas
Warlord
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 123
get neorouter

http://www.sucka.net/2010/04/neorout...acement-kille/

once you have vpn going, you don't need all these extra ports and what not. I used to mess with them as well. With neorouter use direct ip and go.
gdambrauskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
direct, direct ip connection, muliplayer, port forwarding

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Multiplayer & PBEM > Direct IP connection help

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR