Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Creation & Customization > Civ5 - Modpacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Mar 28, 2012, 12:58 AM   #1
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
End of Dark Ages!!!

Introducing...................

END OF DARK AGES



!!!!!!!!!!NOW ON STEAM WORKSHOP!!!!!!!!!!
In the year of our Lord 1100, from the ashes of the Dark Ages, many small but able kingdoms begin to show long awaited signs of civilization and growth.. Economies and populations have once again started to expand and nations are ready to end the Dark Ages and expand into this Medieval world. Each Nation has only a few stable cities to rest their hopes of expansion. Outside of their borders are many strong, independent, city-states that will fight to defend their sovereignty. It is up to you to lead your nation from these small beginnings to the glory of an Empire!

-------------------MOD INFO--------------------

Custom Europe Map with 19 Playable Civs and 38 Petty Kingdoms (city-states)


---PLAYABLE CIVS---

(CHRISTIAN)
1. Kingdom of England
2. Kingdom of France
3. Kingdom of Castile
4. Crusader States
5. Holy Roman Empire
6. Kingdom of Denmark
7. Kingdom of Norway
8. Kingdom of Sweden
9. Kingdom of Sicily
10. Kingdom of Hungary
11. Kingdom of Poland
12. Kingdom of Scotland

(ISLAM)
13. Fatmid Caliphate
14. Sultanate of Rum
15. Almoravid Caliphate

(ORTHODOX)
16. Byzantine Empire
17. Principality of Novgorod
18. Principality of Kievan Rus

(PAGANISM)
19. Kingdom of Lithuania


---PETTY KINGDOMS---
Wales
Portugal
Leinster (Eastern Ireland)
Munster (Western Ireland)
Orkney
Brittany
Aquitaine
Toulouse
Flanders
Valencia
Aragon
Banu Tribes
Hammadids
Damascus
Danishmends
Southern Italy
Pisa Republic
Papal States
Lombardy
Lorraine
Franconia
Bavaria
Austria
Saxony
Venice Republic
Genoa Republic
Prussia
Northern Barbarian Tribes
Livonia
Greece
Croatia
Albania
Bulgaria
Cuman
Polotsk
Crimea
Finish Tribes
Baltic Tribes

*Civs have custom Traits/Leaders
Leaders Names are Generic (Ex. Leader of England is "King of England")
*Civs have custom Dawn of Man Image, Music, and Description
*Civs have custom Diplomacy Screens
*Civs start with correct Religion
*Timeline 1100-1493 (over 700 turns---6months/turn)
*Research has been slowed so that game stays in the Medieval period...Techs stop at Rifling because it is Unreachable
*All Unique Units and Buildings have been removed...Custom UU and UB will be added in later versions
*Diplomatic Marriage has been given to ALL Civs (Except HRE because historically Germany was not united during this time) this was they can acquire Petty Kingdoms peacefully
*All civs also have a 25% chance of Rebel Strongholds (Barbarian Encampments) joining their side after defeat...this is to reflect the changing loyalties of the people of this time
*Settlers have been disabled


WHAT DOES THE FUTURE HOLD
-Custom Victory Conditions
-Create Unique Units and Unique Buildings for all Civs
-Create Custom Social Policies
-Create Custom Medieval Tech Tree
-Bring back wonders that are specific to the medieval time period
-Create famous medieval mercenary units (Swiss Pikeman, Genonesse Crossbowmen..etc)
-Create "Leader Dies" and New Leader Crowned" Events that will come with positive and negative for the civ.
-Create Historic Events for the time period and make them happen at the correct date.
-Create New Civs Portugal & Papal States
-Create Mongul Invasion event
-Create Custom Medieval Buildings

Last edited by Formulapower; Dec 16, 2012 at 02:11 PM. Reason: Released on Steam Workshop
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2012, 08:17 AM   #2
christos200
The orthodox crusader.
 
christos200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: EU, Greece, Athens
Posts: 10,320
I will give this a try. It seems a good mod.

I will probably play as the Byzantines and kick some Turkish ass.
__________________
"I’ve just bitten a snake. Never mind me, I’ve got business to look after."
- Guo Jing ‘The Brave Archer’.

"Strategy without tactics is the slowest route to victory. Tactics without strategy is the noise before defeat."
- Sun Tzu

"The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time, with the blood of patriots and tyrants."
- Thomas Jefferson
christos200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 03:32 PM   #3
Gilgamesch
Ancient Alien
 
Gilgamesch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: good old germany
Posts: 1,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Formulapower View Post

City States are no longer just a single cities but consist of 2 or 3 cities and act more like the small fiefdoms they are. These "City-States" can be a worthy foe (or ally). City State alliances can be very valuable not only for the military value but also for the added resources and all civs are going to compete over these allies very agressively and it would be wise to do the same.
I find this very interesting, maybe you could explain what you changed to allow cs to found new cities, or have you reworked the minor civs. Doesnt tried your mod iam to busy at the moment.
__________________

Community Call To Power

Now with more then 450 Technologies, 600 Wonders/Buildings, 200 Policies, countless Units/Resources and Beliefs.
Many unique and endless communty features included.
A total conversation that is prohably the biggest mod for CiV outthere.
Gilgamesch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2012, 04:07 PM   #4
Brandigan
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Hi there! Tried it, b/c it sounded really interesting.

3 things though: I started in the stoneage 4000BC and am only progressing 1 year/round. That means, I'm now 75 rounds in and now in 3925BC.
2nd: I cannot build settlers. Only expansion via conquest.
3rd: Other civilizations are in the game as well. Eg Polynesia.

All that supposed to happen?

No other mods activated.
Brandigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2012, 06:36 AM   #5
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandigan View Post
Hi there! Tried it, b/c it sounded really interesting.

3 things though: I started in the stoneage 4000BC and am only progressing 1 year/round. That means, I'm now 75 rounds in and now in 3925BC.
2nd: I cannot build settlers. Only expansion via conquest.
3rd: Other civilizations are in the game as well. Eg Polynesia.

All that supposed to happen?

No other mods activated.


Question 2
As of right now settlers have been disabled (by design) but after playing the mod myself...I am finding myself wishing I could create settlers as well...they will probably be added back in the next release or 2.

Questions 1 & 3
Hmmmm....are you sure you loading it correctly??

When you activate the mod you need to select the "End of Dark Ages" Map and then "Load Scenario" Then you should only get to choose between the Civ listed.

Did you do this?
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2012, 06:42 AM   #6
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilgamesch View Post
I find this very interesting, maybe you could explain what you changed to allow cs to found new cities, or have you reworked the minor civs. Doesnt tried your mod iam to busy at the moment.
CS cannot found their own cities...I just gave them 2 or 3 when building the map....they will not expand further unless through conquest. I am working on the CS AI to make them much more agressive as well...since they represent some significant people/regions I want them to be a strong force to deal with.
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2012, 01:39 PM   #7
jmelnick
Bad Mod Skills, Big Ideas
 
jmelnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 180
is there anyway for you to post the files here on the forum instead of the ModBrowser? This mod looks really cool and interesting, and my Browser doesn't work.
jmelnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 02, 2012, 03:52 PM   #8
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmelnick View Post
is there anyway for you to post the files here on the forum instead of the ModBrowser? This mod looks really cool and interesting, and my Browser doesn't work.

Why does the Mod Browers not work? I have seen several ppl say this but I have never had problems using it.

I will see what I can do...I have never loaded a mod on here so I will have to research and see how.
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 01:24 AM   #9
jmelnick
Bad Mod Skills, Big Ideas
 
jmelnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 180
Quote:
Why does the Mod Browers not work? I have seen several ppl say this but I have never had problems using it.
I have a Mac, you can't use it on a Mac.

Quote:
I will see what I can do...I have never loaded a mod on here so I will have to research and see how.
Awesome! Thanks! Many more people will be able to enjoy this mod.... and compress your mod into a .zip file or post it as a .civ5mod file here on the forums in your first post. In the post editor, you can link downloads. It accepts .zip files and .civ5mod files for posting.
jmelnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 07:50 AM   #10
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmelnick View Post
I have a Mac, you can't use it on a Mac.



Awesome! Thanks! Many more people will be able to enjoy this mod.... and compress your mod into a .zip file or post it as a .civ5mod file here on the forums in your first post. In the post editor, you can link downloads. It accepts .zip files and .civ5mod files for posting.
Okay...I will try to upload in a little bit.
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2012, 08:05 AM   #11
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
I tried to upload but got something about a missing "token" and not being allowed to do so...I sent a message to the admin so hopefully I can get something up soon
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 07:06 AM   #12
PawelS
Ancient Druid
 
PawelS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,423
A few things I noticed when I started to play as Poland:
  • Poland has a shortage of Horses at the beginning of the game, due to their source of Horses being unimproved.
  • Poland's capital should be Krakow, not Warsaw.
  • There is a city named "Kaliningran". I think you meant "Kaliningrad", but the name was changed to it after WW2 (it comes from a Soviet politician Kalinin). Actually it was founded after 1100 AD, but I think you can keep it in the game, named Königsberg.
PawelS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 10:00 PM   #13
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by PawelS View Post
A few things I noticed when I started to play as Poland:
  • Poland has a shortage of Horses at the beginning of the game, due to their source of Horses being unimproved.
  • Poland's capital should be Krakow, not Warsaw.
  • There is a city named "Kaliningran". I think you meant "Kaliningrad", but the name was changed to it after WW2 (it comes from a Soviet politician Kalinin). Actually it was founded after 1100 AD, but I think you can keep it in the game, named Königsberg.
Thank you so much for this information...I will make the needed changes in my next release.

I encourage anyone who see historic mistakes like this to let me know because I want this to be as historically correct as possible while keeping gameplay intact.

FYI...I am uploading version 2 tonight and will give an update of the changes made soon
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 09:33 PM   #14
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
Mod has been refined and is now on the Steam Workshop...please give it some play and give some feedback of any game play issues, bugs or suggestions.
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 07:56 AM   #15
PawelS
Ancient Druid
 
PawelS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,423
Some feedback from me again:
  1. In your Handicaps XML file I noticed that you change some things for the Prince difficulty, but not for higher difficulties. Why is it so?
  2. There is some confusion about religion in the game - in my game England founded a Pantheon, so the Christianity in their capital got wiped out by the Pantheon (but it soon reappeared due to spread from other cities). England was the only civ to found a Pantheon, because Lithuania enhanced Paganism very early in the game.
  3. I think you should rename Christianity to Catholicism, because Orthodox is Christian too.
  4. Many civs get Archers as their starting units, and they can be immediately upgraded to Composite Bowmen. So I think they should be Composite Bowmen from the start.
  5. I haven't played to the end, but I feel that the technological advancement is too fast, especially later in the game when espionage and Research Agreements become available.
  6. Civilopedia says that Spearman replaces Horseman, that's really strange...
  7. The notification icons about founding religions appear again after loading a saved game.
  8. I keep getting quests from Petty Kingdoms to build wonders, but I can't build them.
  9. There is something wrong with the tech tree (see screenshot). Scientific Theory requires Military Science, but they are in the same column of the tech tree.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Civ5Screen0000.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	157.5 KB
ID:	327440  

Last edited by PawelS; Jul 28, 2012 at 07:59 AM.
PawelS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 10:48 AM   #16
krasny
Prince
 
krasny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 470
How does one launch this mod?

I've downloaded and activated in the mod browser, but I can find no reference to End of Dark Ages anywhere in the setup screen.
__________________
Man will never be free until the last king is strangled with the entrails of the last priest. - Denis Diderot
krasny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 10:50 AM   #17
PawelS
Ancient Druid
 
PawelS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,423
@krasny: Select "1" as map type and turn on "Load Scenario".
PawelS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 11:23 AM   #18
krasny
Prince
 
krasny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 470
Thanks Pawel. This part of the Civ5 UI is badly designed.
__________________
Man will never be free until the last king is strangled with the entrails of the last priest. - Denis Diderot
krasny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 12:41 PM   #19
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by PawelS View Post
Some feedback from me again:
  1. In your Handicaps XML file I noticed that you change some things for the Prince difficulty, but not for higher difficulties. Why is it so?
  2. There is some confusion about religion in the game - in my game England founded a Pantheon, so the Christianity in their capital got wiped out by the Pantheon (but it soon reappeared due to spread from other cities). England was the only civ to found a Pantheon, because Lithuania enhanced Paganism very early in the game.
  3. I think you should rename Christianity to Catholicism, because Orthodox is Christian too.
  4. Many civs get Archers as their starting units, and they can be immediately upgraded to Composite Bowmen. So I think they should be Composite Bowmen from the start.
  5. I haven't played to the end, but I feel that the technological advancement is too fast, especially later in the game when espionage and Research Agreements become available.
  6. Civilopedia says that Spearman replaces Horseman, that's really strange...
  7. The notification icons about founding religions appear again after loading a saved game.
  8. I keep getting quests from Petty Kingdoms to build wonders, but I can't build them.
  9. There is something wrong with the tech tree (see screenshot). Scientific Theory requires Military Science, but they are in the same column of the tech tree.
Thanks for the feedback

1. I made changes to the Prince Handicap to try and make it more balanced...I assumed that most would play at this level and I made some small changes to make it as even as possible for player and AI

2. I am aware of the issue with England...I they have too much Faith in the begining because of Stonehenge...I will probably just remove the Wonder and that should fix this issue (I am going to be doing an overhaul of some wonders for this time period..that is why they have all been removed as of now)

3. I completely agree....Christianity will be changed

4. I am thought about changing this...but I think I am going to leave it the way it is for now....I like the fact that the player has to decide to upgrade their units or maybe use the initial gold to do something else (ally with Petty Kingdoms...buy buildings...buy more troops..etc)

5. I have not completed a full game myself yet...but I do think you might be right...once some players get into the late part of the game maybe we will know for sure.

6. I have only done VERY limited things to the Civilopedia and I don't remember changing any of that...I will look into this but there will probably be a lot of Civilopedia issue for the next few releases..I want to get the other gameplay elements in first before taking time to clean up the CP.

7. Yep I noticed this too...but I'm not sure how to fix...it doesn't apprear to mess anything up it just reloads the notification.

8. Yes I know...also the PK that are Militaristic will gift UU that will never be discovered..I am going to look into these...I think If I delete the UU and Wonders that won't be used this will fix it.

9. The tech tree doesn't look right...it is my hope these techs will never come into play because they are not medieval techs. In the future some type of repeating "Future Tech" will be there.


Thanks for all this input I hope to get as much of it addressed in the next release as I can.
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 12:43 PM   #20
Formulapower
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by krasny View Post
Thanks Pawel. This part of the Civ5 UI is badly designed.
Sorry about that...I meant to change that before release to something like "End of Dark Ages Map"...It is "1" because that makes it first on the map list and that made it easier when testing because I didn't have to go down the map list each time I started a game.
Formulapower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Creation & Customization > Civ5 - Modpacks > End of Dark Ages!!!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR