Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jul 03, 2012, 02:49 PM   #1
Smokeybear
Emperor
 
Smokeybear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: US
Posts: 1,240
Embassy benefits?

Other than being a quick way to find a civ's capital, and giving a small positive diplo boost, are there any other benefits or uses to having an embassy in another civ? Any negative impacts from allowing somebody else's embassy into your capital? Does it have any affect or bearing on you or your opponents ability to spy on each other?
Smokeybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 02:50 PM   #2
Khadroth
Chieftain
 
Khadroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 81
You're required to have it to be able to engage in certain diplomatic deals.
Khadroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 02:51 PM   #3
Ulthwithian
King
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 605
A negative aspect for CSs is that it counts as finding the other person's territory, which means that you can't do that quest for a CS. If a CS does give you that quest, exchanging embassies will complete it.
Ulthwithian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 02:59 PM   #4
Lord Olleus
Deity
 
Lord Olleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: England
Posts: 5,083
Need it for open borders and research agreements. Also a quick way of knowing where to send spies for a player you just discovered.
__________________
Most zealously I seek for erudition. Much do I know, but to know all is my ambition.
-Faust
Lord Olleus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 03:03 PM   #5
Drawmeus
Emperor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,210
Mostly I think it's just there to give you a sense of the layout of the world. This civ in that direction, etc.
Drawmeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 03:25 PM   #6
Uberfrog
King
 
Uberfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 637
Am I right in thinking that when Renaissance rolls around, you need to know where an enemy capital is to put a spy in it?

I'm not at all sure of that, but if it is true, then withholding your embassy from a distant civ may stop them from stealing your tech later on.
Uberfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 03:26 PM   #7
nefloyd
King
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 663
Yeah, you can only staff spies in cities whose location you have uncovered
nefloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 04:11 PM   #8
Calouste
Deity
 
Calouste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokeybear View Post
Other than being a quick way to find a civ's capital, and giving a small positive diplo boost, are there any other benefits or uses to having an embassy in another civ? Any negative impacts from allowing somebody else's embassy into your capital? Does it have any affect or bearing on you or your opponents ability to spy on each other?
You get a minor diplomatic plus if the other civ has an embassy in your capital.
Calouste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 04:16 PM   #9
smellymummy
King
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 704
i find allowing AI embassies, or letting the AI know where my capital is, is a sure fire way to get an early DoW from most civs. great way to level up some warriors and archers early game
smellymummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 03, 2012, 04:20 PM   #10
dexters
Gods & Emperors
 
dexters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,130
Yes, be careful who you let have an embassy. But not letting them set one up can also be treated as an affront to the AI.

Either as part of their threat selection routine or just because embassies give you a mild relationship boost, keeping an AI with no mutual embassies is a quick way to an early war with them.
dexters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 02:19 PM   #11
Birdjaguar
Quark Habitat
 
Birdjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 27,151
Yes, but revealing where you are will almost always provoke aggressive civ to attack you around 2000 BCE
__________________
Only kindness matters.

“Everyone is fighting a battle you know nothing about. Be kind.”
Birdjaguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2012, 03:14 PM   #12
Minor Annoyance
Emperor
 
Minor Annoyance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 1,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexters View Post
Yes, be careful who you let have an embassy. But not letting them set one up can also be treated as an affront to the AI.

Either as part of their threat selection routine or just because embassies give you a mild relationship boost, keeping an AI with no mutual embassies is a quick way to an early war with them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdjaguar View Post
Yes, but revealing where you are will almost always provoke aggressive civ to attack you around 2000 BCE
Sounds like both are true so you should just do whatever works for you at the time.
Minor Annoyance is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 12:00 AM   #13
Infantry#14
Emperor
 
Infantry#14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,562
Also, I notice that embassy can get canceled. Is it due to the AI denouncing you?
__________________
[6.21 Analects] The wise take joy in water; the humane take joy in mountains. The wise are active; the humane are tranquil. The wise enjoy; the humane endure.
Infantry#14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 01:15 AM   #14
glider1
Deity
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Where animals hop not run
Posts: 2,202
The only way I've had an embassy cancelled is a dow?

I've had situation where if I allow them to set up an embassy, I get attacked because they studied in killin me via it. I've had a situation where if I don't let them set up an embassy, they take it badly and scout me out the old fashion way. The only steady thing that has worked is when both of us agree to setup an embassy more or less at the same time.

It seems to be a nice tension and an excellent game mechanic.
Cheers
__________________
Joint modder of the RevolutionDCM mod for BTS
glider1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 01:22 AM   #15
smallfish
Immortal
 
smallfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,968
You can spy your opponent, your opponent can spy on you, all done without having to hassle a scout or Rifleman to those two capitals.

The best way to prevent someone else from spying on you is not to give them embassies - just take theirs for 25 gold, and then go nuts on tech stealing.
smallfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2012, 03:24 AM   #16
Barghaest
King
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infantry#14 View Post
Also, I notice that embassy can get canceled. Is it due to the AI denouncing you?
Yes, denouncement does remove Embassies (as will DoW).

Also, you don't get a diplo boost for placing an embassy in another civ's empire only for allowing them to place one in yours.

Embassies are necessary for DoF which leads to RA/DP.

Other than that the only benefits are locating their capital (which has it's own benefits come Renaissance via knowing where to send that first spy).


I'd like to see more benefits added to placing embassies in foreign cities (maybe they'll bring back foreign trade routes and Embassies begin that...).
Barghaest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions > Embassy benefits?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR