Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jul 23, 2012, 12:08 PM   #1
Raiki
Warlord
 
Raiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA- Above the Mason/Dixon line =P
Posts: 283
New civs start biases?

I tried searching the forums, but didn't find anything on this topic.

Has anyone confirmed the start biases of the 9 new civs? I tried digging around in the XML myself to find it, but it managed to elude me.

~R~
Raiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 03:59 PM   #2
TheKingOfBigOz
Deity
 
TheKingOfBigOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shaka's hut ;)
Posts: 4,931
Civs starting along Ocean
Spain, Carthage

Civs starting near Forest
Celts

Civs starting near Grass
The Netherlands

No other civs have any biases..

Quote:
Civilization_Start_Along_Ocean>
<Row>
<CivilizationType>CIVILIZATION_CARTHAGE</CivilizationType>
<StartAlongOcean>true</StartAlongOcean>
</Row>
<Delete CivilizationType="CIVILIZATION_SPAIN"/>
<Replace>
<CivilizationType>CIVILIZATION_SPAIN</CivilizationType>
<StartAlongOcean>true</StartAlongOcean>
</Replace>
</Civilization_Start_Along_Ocean>
<Civilization_Start_Region_Priority>
<Row>
<CivilizationType>CIVILIZATION_CELTS</CivilizationType>
<RegionType>REGION_FOREST</RegionType>
</Row>
<Row>
<CivilizationType>CIVILIZATION_NETHERLANDS</CivilizationType>
<RegionType>REGION_GRASS</RegionType>
</Row>
__________________
Still a proud supporter of Shaka's Loincloth.

If you create another file and make it update the base game its modding. but if you just change the base game file that's cheating. - knightmare13

I think we should dwelp more on the subject.
TheKingOfBigOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 04:40 PM   #3
Raiki
Warlord
 
Raiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA- Above the Mason/Dixon line =P
Posts: 283
That's strange, I would have thought they would have given The Netherlands a marsh bias. And I would have bet dollars to door nails that they had given the Maya a jungle bias, considering both games I've played as them put me so deep in the jungle that I didn't see another civ until almost the Medieval era.

\_(ツ)_/ Well, thanks for your help anyway, BigOz. Much appreciated.


~R~
Raiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 05:39 PM   #4
compwiz1202
King
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bethlehem, PA, USA
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raiki View Post
That's strange, I would have thought they would have given The Netherlands a marsh bias. And I would have bet dollars to door nails that they had given the Maya a jungle bias, considering both games I've played as them put me so deep in the jungle that I didn't see another civ until almost the Medieval era.

\_(ツ)_/ Well, thanks for your help anyway, BigOz. Much appreciated.


~R~
I think I've seen more jungle than usual in general since G&K.
compwiz1202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 06:01 PM   #5
Raiki
Warlord
 
Raiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA- Above the Mason/Dixon line =P
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by compwiz1202 View Post
I think I've seen more jungle than usual in general since G&K.
That's been my experience too, but with the Maya, it was ridiculous. Jungle in every direction for 5-15 tiles. It wasn't all bad, because I had a couple good resources each time, and they really bedame science powerhouses once I hit universities/rationalism, but it was still frustrating when I was trying to explore and fight barbs.

~R~
Raiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 06:06 PM   #6
Yzman
Deity
 
Yzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,434
Grassland is the only terrain to feature marsh so that makes sense to me.
Yzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 06:24 PM   #7
Raiki
Warlord
 
Raiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA- Above the Mason/Dixon line =P
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yzman View Post
Grassland is the only terrain to feature marsh so that makes sense to me.
Y'know...that's a connection I probably should have made. Still...seems like a good way to guarantee that a percentage of your starts are marshless.

~R~
Raiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 06:30 PM   #8
iconocast
Prince
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 375
yeh u do get alot of marshless starts sometimes. but on the other hand floodplains are great for building polders, and if u do get marsh u usualy get a few tiles of it in a cluster.


glad carthage gets a ocean start. shame byz dosent. plenty of civs already get ocean starts as it is tho
iconocast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 08:24 PM   #9
Raiki
Warlord
 
Raiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA- Above the Mason/Dixon line =P
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by iconocast View Post
Glad carthage gets a ocean start. shame byz dosent. plenty of civs already get ocean starts as it is tho
To be fair, plenty of civs are ocean themed. Byzantium has enough going for it, however, that it doesn't really need one. Carthage on the other hand, without an ocean start the useful half of their UA would pretty much require you to spend time running to the nearest coast with your starting settler. Not what I would consider a bonus.

~R~
Raiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 08:50 PM   #10
Gucumatz
Cecilio Chi - Cruzob
 
Gucumatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,761
Almost always start in Jungle with Maya. Surprised its not coded into the bias.
__________________
"The time for dawn has come, let us finish our work. Let us create those who are to feed and provide for us appear. Let man appear, let humanity exist on earth."

- The Popol Vuh
Gucumatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 10:42 AM   #11
n00bxqb
Warlord
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raiki View Post
That's strange, I would have thought they would have given The Netherlands a marsh bias. And I would have bet dollars to door nails that they had given the Maya a jungle bias, considering both games I've played as them put me so deep in the jungle that I didn't see another civ until almost the Medieval era.

\_(ツ)_/ Well, thanks for your help anyway, BigOz. Much appreciated.


~R~
A marsh bias would be a ridiculous handicap since they'd need to get to Bronze Working before they could even do anything ... At least defending their territory would be pretty easy.

I always use Disable Start Bias in my games, anyways.
n00bxqb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 12:42 PM   #12
Loucypher
King
 
Loucypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by n00bxqb View Post
A marsh bias would be a ridiculous handicap since they'd need to get to Bronze Working before they could even do anything ... At least defending their territory would be pretty easy.

I always use Disable Start Bias in my games, anyways.
You do know that Holland WANTS those Marshes, right? And not remove them...

Either way I find myself starting in half desert often enough with Holland as well, which makes me wonder. Like last game, Amsterdam was literally surrounded by Desert, though there was grassland not TOO far away. Makes sense with their love for flood plains but still...
__________________
Sent from my Stone Tablet using Hammer and Pin.
Loucypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 12:54 PM   #13
Slvynn
Duke Vector fon Pixel
 
Slvynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,069
Iroquois start with forests
__________________
War! War! War! (c) Monty
Study! Study! Study! (c) Lenin
Ha! Ha! Ha! (c) Pacal

Try Dune Wars All Your Spice Belongs to Us!
Slvynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 01:14 PM   #14
bcaiko
Emperor
 
bcaiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by n00bxqb View Post
I always use Disable Start Bias in my games, anyways.
Glad I don't play as England or Polynesia against you...That's rediculously disadvantageous for them.
bcaiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 04:43 PM   #15
HeraldtheGreat
King
 
HeraldtheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 905
It might just be me, but is there a start bias that makes Sweden start near salt?
HeraldtheGreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 04:53 PM   #16
Gucumatz
Cecilio Chi - Cruzob
 
Gucumatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeraldtheGreat View Post
It might just be me, but is there a start bias that makes Sweden start near salt?
I always get Salt as Sweden too. And copper.
__________________
"The time for dawn has come, let us finish our work. Let us create those who are to feed and provide for us appear. Let man appear, let humanity exist on earth."

- The Popol Vuh
Gucumatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 07:37 PM   #17
danieladler
Warlord
 
danieladler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 272
Way too many times i get jungle for Sweden to start in (I never touch the climate settings). But thats alright, since northern Europe is known for its vast tropical rainforests!
__________________
Steam ate my hamster!

Last edited by danieladler; Jul 25, 2012 at 07:49 PM.
danieladler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - General Discussions > New civs start biases?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR