Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Nov 20, 2012, 04:32 PM   #1
s.bernbaum
Mostly lurking
 
s.bernbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The wilds of Montana
Posts: 2,255
Windows 8

Has anyone used Windows 8 yet with CIV? I'm curious about whether or not CIV works properly under Windows 8 or not. As you all know, at some point in the steady march of OS "upgrades" older games stop working properly, if at all.
s.bernbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:52 AM   #2
moo cow
Chieftain
 
moo cow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jericho,Vermont Republic
Posts: 23
Sorry to say it but my pc I just bought failed to install . Which is bad because I have mods to help! I was planning on trying again, so I will let you know if I get it to work.
Fingers Crossed!
__________________
Threads are never dead as long as you keep posting!
moo cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 12:25 PM   #3
kiwitt
Road to War Modder
 
kiwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
Posts: 5,043
I'll Stick to 7 for now. I stayed in Win2K until the very last moment too, before moving to WinXP.
__________________
Modern Earth 1.3, which has over 1100 cities and 6,000 units, including lots of terrorists - ouch !!! - It should be called the Road to War on Terror - 1,000+ downloads
The Road to War - Historical 1.04a" - which is based on The Road to War - Original and has already had 5,000+ downloads. Dale (author of The Road to War) says "But what KiwiTT has done is take my core and expand the realism to form a version of RtW that is pleasing for the hard-cores. For that, KiwiTT gets a dip of my hat.
For future developments and info on these are future mods see ... Facebook/TheRoadToWar"
*** Need help installing Civ4 onto Vista/7/8 read my thread in here *** IOT GM of the year for 2011 for Iron and Blood 1
kiwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2012, 01:06 AM   #4
AdelineJ
Warlord
 
AdelineJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: France
Posts: 279
I find : http://www.weplayciv.com/forums/show...ws-8-and-CIV-4
AdelineJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 02:56 AM   #5
viator
Wanderer
 
viator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: traveling
Posts: 75
See : Installing Civ 4 on Windows 7/Vista (32-/64-bit)
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=408537

Kiwitt's trick works fine for WINDOWS 8 64bits too.
Including Mods like the famous Rise of Mankind-A New Dawn (ROM-AND 1.74D) whose infamous 32bit memory limit has (not yet) bothered me anymore to play on and on and ......
Do mind to do exactly what is in the OP recipe!
__________________
vanitas vanitatum et omnia vanitas

Last edited by viator; Dec 12, 2012 at 02:59 AM.
viator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2014, 08:31 AM   #6
cphobes
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Weymouth, MA USA
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by s.bernbaum View Post
Has anyone used Windows 8 yet with CIV? I'm curious about whether or not CIV works properly under Windows 8 or not. As you all know, at some point in the steady march of OS "upgrades" older games stop working properly, if at all.
Windows 8.1 no issues with Civ IV installing and patching up to 3.19 for BTS. Didn't install warlords though.

-Cphobes
cphobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Technical Support > Windows 8

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR