Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > COLOSSEUM > Computer Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Oct 09, 2003, 01:58 PM   #1
Generalissimo
Chieftain
 
Generalissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 90
Laptop Password

I just recived a IBM ThinkPad 755CD from the estate of a late relative. I was planning on using this machine to type papers in my bed and play Civ II and Colonozation, so it does have at least something to do with CIV. Anyway, when I started it up I find that the screen I get to is nothing more than a little icon that looks like a hard disk and another icon that looks like a lock with a little flashing curser next to it. I get three chances to type in the right password before the machine locks up and I have to restart it to try again.

Does anyone know of a way I can find out the password or bypass the password? Is it a BIOS password or one on the harddrive? I tried making it boot off of the floppy drive, but it doesn't even look at the floppy, just goes strait to this password thing.

Please help me out, I'd really like to have a computer of my own and stop using my roommates.

If you need any more information just post it and I'll try to answer.
Generalissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2003, 05:49 PM   #2
bobgote
Trousers
 
bobgote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,786
hmmm.
there is sometimes an option for a password in the BIOS. if this is the case, you can probably get around it by resetting the bios by removing the battery from the motherboard for a little while. Maybe. dunno how it'll work on the computer you specified. might be a bios reset switch. hopefully that'd get rid of the password problem.

anyway, you can probably look around the bios to check if the password is originating from there first - which would be a good idea.
__________________
"Surely you can't be serious!?!"
"I am serious, and don't call me Shirley"
bobgote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2003, 08:27 PM   #3
Generalissimo
Chieftain
 
Generalissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 90

Bobgote, how would I be able to look around the BIOS? I do not know too much about computers, but I'm pretty sure I cannot get into the BIOS. Are there any keys I can press right when it starts up to get it into the BIOS?
Generalissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2003, 10:12 PM   #4
bobgote
Trousers
 
bobgote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,786
its usually the delete key just as your starting up. the key you need to press should show up on the bottom of your screen while the computer is doing it's memory test.
__________________
"Surely you can't be serious!?!"
"I am serious, and don't call me Shirley"
bobgote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2003, 10:06 AM   #5
Generalissimo
Chieftain
 
Generalissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 90
I tried doing that and pressing many other keys at the same time and nothing seemed to work. I took out the harddrive and replaced it and still no luck. I even took out the harddrive, cd drive and floppy drive and it still takes me to the password setup. I'm going to disconnect the battery inside but for some reason my screwdriver isn't working very well because the screw is stuck. Thanks for you help Bobgote, but I think I might just use this for parts or something or maybe sell it on ebay.
Generalissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2003, 10:10 AM   #6
Padma
the InBond
 
Padma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Omaha, Nebraska USA
Posts: 14,320
If it is a BIOS-level password, you cannot enter BIOS without knowing it - just like you cannot continue the boot process. The way to fix that is to remove the battery from the motherboard for a few seconds to allow all the volitile bios memory to discharge. Easy on a full-sized computer - more difficult on a laptop.
__________________

1st Lieutenant, USAF (Retired)
Registered Linux User #233241
My View Ramblings of a Professional Computer Geek-- My Blogs.
Padma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2003, 02:24 PM   #7
Generalissimo
Chieftain
 
Generalissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 90
Thanks Padma but I do not think it is a BIOS-level password because even after the battery being yanked out it still wouldn't work. Must be a funny chip in the computer that stores the password or something. Thanks for the help.
Generalissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2003, 10:18 PM   #8
Turner
Deity
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randomistan
Posts: 28,169
Well. . .there are two batteries on a laptop. One is the 'main' battery, that you use to run the computer. There is a second, smaller battery on the motherboard that resembles a watch battery. This is the battery that keeps the bios memory 'live'. Removing this and your 'main' battery will allow the bios to expire.

There might also be jumper settings (there are for desktops, dont' know about laptops) and it will reset the password.

I just ran this Google Search. There is some info here, but I didn't wade through it. You might or might not find something here.

But I think Padma's suggestion of removing both batteries is your best bet.
Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2003, 07:44 AM   #9
bobgote
Trousers
 
bobgote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 4,786
as has been said, it's a small battery on the motherboard. needs to be out for 30 seconds or so. it's worth looking at as your computer is more valuable working than not
__________________
"Surely you can't be serious!?!"
"I am serious, and don't call me Shirley"
bobgote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > COLOSSEUM > Computer Talk > Laptop Password

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Password Joshua368 Team Saturn 12 Dec 03, 2008 07:32 PM
Patch 1.52 - Internet Civlization Password, Wrong Password Bug eelektrik Civ4 - Bug Reports 11 Apr 08, 2006 03:02 PM
If you entered a password to your civ, it says "worng password", but its right, ENTER roadkill15 Civ4 - Technical Support 2 Apr 07, 2006 04:32 AM
Our Password I am the Future Team Loco 8 Feb 14, 2006 06:55 PM
No Password Ben E Gas Civ3 - PBEM Games 2 Nov 06, 2003 02:53 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR