Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Feb 14, 2004, 06:37 PM   #1
Sleepy Eyes
Chieftain
 
Sleepy Eyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Hello I Am New here with a question...

I am new to this forum and I have been reading a lot of the posts and I have tried some of the units and was very impressed. And I must say this is a most excellent forum with a lot of smart people donating extra time to making CIV greater than ever.
I have been playing CIV since the first one but modmaking for C3C is fairly new to me and seems very extensive when it comes to doing the text files. And I have some troubles with matching the building or wonder icons # when I add wonders or buildings in the editor. Could someone point me in the right direction or what area of the forum to find out about how to do this properly?



Thankyou for taking your time.


Sleepy Eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2004, 06:44 PM   #2
silver 2039
Deity
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 16,209
You should go to the Creation and Custimization Fourm's. Welcome to CFC!
silver 2039 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2004, 06:45 PM   #3
silver 2039
Deity
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 16,209
http://forums.civfanatics.com/forumd...?s=&forumid=46

Here's a link
silver 2039 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2004, 07:06 PM   #4
Point13
Like a ton of bricks!
 
Point13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 536
yeah what silver said, and silver What the heck is Yumbo

good luck with modding man!
__________________
"Rommel, you magnificent bastard! I read your book! " - George Patton
Point13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2004, 09:27 PM   #5
wilbill
That Old Time Religion
 
wilbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,513
Re: Hello I Am New here with a question...

Quote:
Originally posted by Sleepy Eyes
And I must say this is a most excellent forum with a lot of smart people
How discerning of you!
Welcome to CFC
wilbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2004, 12:07 AM   #6
Sleepy Eyes
Chieftain
 
Sleepy Eyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Smile

Hey Thanks. Everyone is so friendly helpful around here
Sleepy Eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2004, 07:14 PM   #7
trumpeteer
Player of Trumpet
 
trumpeteer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hell
Posts: 449
<--- Turn right. <---

That helpful enough for you?
(Couldn't help it. When someone calls me "helpful" I have to redeem myself and give someone false directions.)
trumpeteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2004, 01:32 AM   #8
elhanna
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Hello,

I'm new as well and though to post my question in this thread.

Do you know if there is a way to contact AI civilization other than to have to go through a unit or can you contact the civilization when you have open an embassy with them? I find it though enough to be able to get in touch with every civilization on the same turn.

Must say that this forum is a must for any Civ player and I was very impress by the amount of ideas generated. Keep up the good work.
elhanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2004, 08:22 AM   #9
Chieftess
Moderator
 
Chieftess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 24,142
Yes, use shift-d (or, if you have a worker selected in C3C, ctrl-shift-d). You can also press F4, and double click on the leaderhead. (shift-right click to change it)
__________________
"Never trust an Aztec with nukes!" (Civ1 - unknown) | 2nd user of the Ancient Style.
South America (based on El Mencey's Map) | N & S America (based on El Mencey's Map) | C3C Scenario: 7,000 Turns Civ2 Earth for C3C | Old Style Civ3 for C3C | "Future is Wild" map
How to upload multiple files to a post | File Upload | Paint Shop Pro 3.11 shareware (screenshot util - doesn't expire) | Chieftess' Culture Flip Calc | Don't wind up like this AI! | resource icons file To download a patch: Select "Advanced" from the main menu, and go to "Check for Updates". || My Web Journal (yes, it's a "blog")
Chieftess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2004, 05:17 PM   #10
Padma
the InBond
 
Padma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Omaha, Nebraska USA
Posts: 14,335
And the one Chieftess forgot to mention, click the little "D" on the right side of the stats window on the bottom right of the main screen.

(Not *everyone* uses keyboard shortcuts. Some people like to point and click. )
__________________

1st Lieutenant, USAF (Retired)
Registered Linux User #233241
My View Ramblings of a Professional Computer Geek-- My Blogs.
Padma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2004, 10:03 PM   #11
Sleepy Eyes
Chieftain
 
Sleepy Eyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
On my first night in the forum I found 12 leaderheads and figured out how to put them all in (and I did)...Still trying to find something on C3C in regards to making an additional Era for science...

Then second night I was having a great time in the unit library found the units I needed to put together a mod.

Also the brainstorming ideas I had come across in reading countless threads made my brain swell with infinate thoughts about Civ (that and of my wife of course hehe)

Now I understand the infinate loop of modding maddness. The more you know the more you want to know...
Sleepy Eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2004, 06:03 AM   #12
elhanna
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Thanks for that . Help very much appreciated. Have another question though.
I've downloading and installed the latest patch for C3C. Very good for corruption but the problem I have is I can't rush wonders with the great leaders I get, only normal upgrade. Is this normal? Is there wonders you can't rush? I have 17 armies in the field and only 2 were produced, I got 20 or so great leaders in those game and even used some just to rush factories in some outskirt cities. Thanks for any help.
elhanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2004, 07:22 AM   #13
silver 2039
Deity
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 16,209
Military Great Leaders can only build armies and rush small wonders. You need a Scientific Great Leader to rush Great Wonders.
silver 2039 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2004, 07:25 AM   #14
elhanna
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Thanks for that. I was wondering who I did manage to rush a great wonder in a previous game but yes, it was with a scientific leader.
elhanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - General Discussions > Hello I Am New here with a question...

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combat question/Siege question RedRalph Civ4 - General Discussions 3 Sep 07, 2007 12:09 PM
oh its question time, question time, won't you answer these questions of mine Sebiche Civ4 - Creation & Customization 16 Mar 04, 2007 07:49 PM
Historical Question/Game Question Marshall Thomas Civ4 - General Discussions 9 Jul 30, 2006 03:26 PM
Stonehenge question and one other question Jeff1787 Civ4 - General Discussions 22 Nov 25, 2005 01:27 PM
Related to Allan's Question Related to Ace's Question - Would You Risk Your Life? Dralix Off-Topic 7 Feb 12, 2003 08:43 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR