Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - Creation & Customization

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jul 05, 2004, 10:55 PM   #1
sourboy
Awakening...
 
sourboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5,560
Unit Creation Newb Help

There are many awesome units coming from the unit creators that post in these forums, but they are so overwhelmed with requests, I thought I would give it a shot. My question is this: what program is commonly used amongst creators here (I know Kal-El proposed sharing files to speed things up) or what is good but still compatible with the standard here?

I tried OpenFX, and though it's not bad, there is nothing more then a limited help menu for support. I'd rather spend time creating units then trying to work out kinks with out even a tutorial. Gmax, 3ds, Poser, and other names have been proposed. I would be making mainly humanoid units (taking some load off of Kinboat) and would like to use some of the base models submitted in Kal-Els creation library if possible.

I would appreciate any suggestions or support in the matter. I've got the time, patience, and creativity to make many, many units - I just need a little guidance on getting going. Thanks!
__________________
I do not regret the things I have done, but those I did not do!
sourboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2004, 11:01 PM   #2
vbraun
Raytracing
 
vbraun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,530
Images: 2
Are you willing to spend money for a 3d program? Is the biggest question of all. I know that at least Poser and Rhinocersous(sp?) costs money.
__________________
Think you're a good musician? This piece will be sure to kick your butt.

Civ4Wiki is the (soon to be) best location for all Civ4 info!
Civ3 stuff: Units (5), Tech Icons (24)
vbraun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2004, 11:17 PM   #3
sourboy
Awakening...
 
sourboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5,560
If it's necessary, sure. I considered going to school for such, so I'm sure I would need it then anyway. At the same time I know there are many free programs and conversion programs that can bridge the differences. What I want is something that is easy to use, but yet produces good results or has many options.
__________________
I do not regret the things I have done, but those I did not do!
sourboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2004, 11:31 PM   #4
vbraun
Raytracing
 
vbraun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,530
Images: 2
Maybe you could try "Blender" (look for the thread) Its free and as far as i can tell is a good 3d animation program. Then again i just started 3d stuff a couple days ago. (Not including POV-Ray)
__________________
Think you're a good musician? This piece will be sure to kick your butt.

Civ4Wiki is the (soon to be) best location for all Civ4 info!
Civ3 stuff: Units (5), Tech Icons (24)
vbraun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 05, 2004, 11:35 PM   #5
sourboy
Awakening...
 
sourboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5,560
I actually just replied in that thread. I downloaded via CDG referals, then saw NeoMega's recommendation here. I'll give it a test tomorrow. Do the finished files need to be converted? I have PaintShop & FLICster, but may need a file converter?
__________________
I do not regret the things I have done, but those I did not do!
sourboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2004, 01:59 PM   #6
Neomega
Deity
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 11,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourboy
I actually just replied in that thread. I downloaded via CDG referals, then saw NeoMega's recommendation here. I'll give it a test tomorrow. Do the finished files need to be converted? I have PaintShop & FLICster, but may need a file converter?
All finished files need to be converted, as the Civ III unit .flc file is unique to the civ III engine. The leaderhead .flc's however, are standard .flc files. And if you are interested, I am pretty sure the movies (bink video) are standard file types as well.
Neomega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2004, 06:13 PM   #7
vbraun
Raytracing
 
vbraun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,530
Images: 2
You dont *need* a file converter. For standard units all more you need is SBB. It takes several bitmaps (Blender can save each frame as bmps) and compiles them into a story board that Flictster can use to make the flics needed for civ units. It may take a little longer then having a progam just makes animations .flc files but it works.
__________________
Think you're a good musician? This piece will be sure to kick your butt.

Civ4Wiki is the (soon to be) best location for all Civ4 info!
Civ3 stuff: Units (5), Tech Icons (24)
vbraun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2004, 06:18 PM   #8
sourboy
Awakening...
 
sourboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5,560
Neomega - you tried a few programs, are you feeling OpenFX is the most comfortable or at least a good starter program for new creators?
__________________
I do not regret the things I have done, but those I did not do!
sourboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2004, 06:51 PM   #9
Neomega
Deity
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 11,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourboy
Neomega - you tried a few programs, are you feeling OpenFX is the most comfortable or at least a good starter program for new creators?
Of the free programs, yes. Because it has a civ-specific tutorial and a camera setup. But in the long run, I think Blender would be a better choice. really up to you.

Quote:
You dont *need* a file converter. For standard units all more you need is SBB. It takes several bitmaps (Blender can save each frame as bmps) and compiles them into a story board that Flictster can use to make the flics needed for civ units. It may take a little longer then having a progam just makes animations .flc files but it works.
So, if SBB and FLICster is not a file converter, what is?
Neomega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2004, 07:22 PM   #10
Dease
Be Original
 
Dease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Eastern Canada
Posts: 1,093
I use Infranview (google to find it)
Dease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2004, 08:14 PM   #11
vbraun
Raytracing
 
vbraun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,530
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neomega
So, if SBB and FLICster is not a file converter, what is?
I was saying he didnt need any *new* file converter. SBB hardly counts cause all it does it put images together.
__________________
Think you're a good musician? This piece will be sure to kick your butt.

Civ4Wiki is the (soon to be) best location for all Civ4 info!
Civ3 stuff: Units (5), Tech Icons (24)
vbraun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2004, 11:49 PM   #12
Sword_Of_Geddon
Fellow Traveler
 
Sword_Of_Geddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 12,327
Your trying to take the load off Kinboat...Supa you are a nice guy..The world needs more people like you.

I'm sure Kinboat would be touched if he saw your first post on this thread.

The more the merrier I always say!
__________________
Majesty, an epic mod based on Avain's classic Quot Capita:http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=498840B]

Community Call to Power Project, the Rise of Mankind of Civ5:http://forums.civfanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=472
Sword_Of_Geddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2004, 12:15 AM   #13
sourboy
Awakening...
 
sourboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5,560
Ya know, I'm realizing the more I try to create a model, the more patience I need to learn the program. The bottom line there is that all the programs do the same thing, and since I started with OpenFX, I should stick with it. It's not like minor errors are noticeable in a Civ unit, heh. I actually have a generic unit base image made & colored after a few hours work. If things are only to get easier, then all I need to do is put out quality work.
__________________
I do not regret the things I have done, but those I did not do!
sourboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2004, 12:59 AM   #14
Neomega
Deity
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 11,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourboy
Ya know, I'm realizing the more I try to create a model, the more patience I need to learn the program. The bottom line there is that all the programs do the same thing, and since I started with OpenFX, I should stick with it. It's not like minor errors are noticeable in a Civ unit, heh. I actually have a generic unit base image made & colored after a few hours work. If things are only to get easier, then all I need to do is put out quality work.
I would suggest a non-human unit first, like a tank, or armored car or ship or something.
Neomega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2004, 05:34 AM   #15
Luddi VII
Sheep farmer
 
Luddi VII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On the field...
Posts: 1,049
This thread sounds very interesting.I would also try to make a unit or two instead of just request and request.So where can I find OpenFX?
Luddi VII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2004, 11:33 AM   #16
vbraun
Raytracing
 
vbraun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,530
Images: 2
Are you sure you dont want Blender?

You can find the OpenFX Tutorial on making civ units here:
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=84833

And the thread on Blender here:
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=92705

Blender is a lot smaller download compared to OpenFX BTW.
__________________
Think you're a good musician? This piece will be sure to kick your butt.

Civ4Wiki is the (soon to be) best location for all Civ4 info!
Civ3 stuff: Units (5), Tech Icons (24)
vbraun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2004, 01:41 PM   #17
Luddi VII
Sheep farmer
 
Luddi VII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On the field...
Posts: 1,049
I have decided to use blender instead.Thanks a lot!!
Luddi VII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2004, 03:19 PM   #18
vbraun
Raytracing
 
vbraun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,530
Images: 2
vbraun thinks to himself, "Another one converted to Blender"

Make sure to read the tutorials i posted in the thread they help a lot.
__________________
Think you're a good musician? This piece will be sure to kick your butt.

Civ4Wiki is the (soon to be) best location for all Civ4 info!
Civ3 stuff: Units (5), Tech Icons (24)
vbraun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2004, 03:23 PM   #19
Neomega
Deity
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 11,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbraun
vbraun thinks to himself, "Another one converted to Blender"

Make sure to read the tutorials i posted in the thread they help a lot.
Blender has many more detailed tutorials, even advanced rendering techniques. I am only playing around with OPenFX right now because my new computer parts have not come in. I am getting so giddy imagining having OPenFX render on one computer, while I am working on Blender on another.
Neomega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2004, 03:28 PM   #20
Dease
Be Original
 
Dease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Eastern Canada
Posts: 1,093
I was just wondering, what makes blender soo much more powerful than openfx anyway?
Dease is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION III > Civ3 - Creation & Customization > Unit Creation Newb Help

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR