Absolute Beginner

Raaf

Chieftain
Hallo. I found this game on GoG, and was immediately attracted by its settings.

But I never played games of the Civilization series, coming more from a traditional wargame background (Cobat Mission, Command Ops, AGEod, etc, but also some Europa Universalis) so I have some really elementary questions that some playing and spelling out the manual didn't solve.

1) I put my cities and formers on automation for a while, and I saw a lot of terraforming but only a few workers to take advantage of all this work. Shouldn't you start out with fewer formers, moving them over to other cities until you have more workers?

2) What are the yellow citizens, and what are the white ones? Are they talents and normal citizens? Do talents function differently from normal citizens other than determining the ratio to drones?

1) Cities: do they only use the bonus resources and not the basic geography modifiers
for resources, so is it a waste to put them on a moist square when they are scarce in the region?

Sorry to bother you with these elementary things, but I seem to be missing some basics, while I find numerous posts about advanced min-max strategies.

Each city you build should create one or two formers itself to terraform the land around it manually ideally. Although, for sea formers I just automate them. You can automate formers by pressing SHIFT-A if you wish. An older strategy is to build forests and take advantage of them with Tree Farms and the Hybrid Forest.

White citizens are talents. Yellow citizens are workers. Ideally, you want more talents than workers. Red citizens are angry drones, but they don't bother me because I build Punishment Spheres. You don't want drones to riot. Very bright white citizens with their arms stretched out are Transcends.