Anybody managed 'Silk Road' achievement?

Genghis_Sean

High School English teacher
Connect to the Arabs, China, India, Mongols, and Persia at the same time using caravans.

I made a game with exactly those five as my five opponents. I've got trade routes with each of them, but no dice. I've been trading with everyone for about 1000 years, now. I'm beginning to build railroads, so perhaps that will speed things up, but I'm worrying I'm going to win the game without getting it. Anybody else manage to earn it? Would the trade routes have to be all land based? Complete on the same turn? Hope this one doesn't turn out to be a pain.

They have to be caravans, trade routes from cargo ships don't count.

I was thinking about this and it seems like it will be a pain in the ass. Basically I am thinking Pangea map with all of those as my opponents and try to get caravans to each.

The only achievement that will be absolutely rididuclous is the one where you need to have your american archeologist excavate an egyptian artifact within 2 tiles of a german archeologist.

How would you ever get that to happen without totally staging it?

Spawn a three player map with Egypt and Germany as the opposition. Eradicate the Egyptians in early warfare, then wait until archeology and have open borders with Germany would be the easiest way I guess - would take forever to get it normally.

I've deleted my sea going caravans and made them all land based. I have five trade routes with the five needed civs and still haven't gotten the achievement. Can't think what's wrong.

do a pangea map with just those civs, the smallest possible size and a quick game. No city states. Build nothing but caravans. Instant achievment.