How do experienced players pick win condition?

luckyshuffle

Chieftain
So I have been playing Civ V for several years and Civ 4 before that...
I kinda just fooled around on chieftan but am ready to enjoy the fun of " upping my game"
So I am on King for now and prolly moving up one more soon.

I have been learning a lot from these forums, and thanks to everyone who takes time to share and teach others.

ANYWAY, the topic at hand. I see that experienced, successful players don't have a predetermined win condition in mind when picking their leader and starting the game.
They react to what they learn in the opening of the game to choose the best easiest win scenario for that particular set up.

So what data do you use to make that choice?

Weak neighbors = domination ?
Ability to settle many cities and wheat or other food luxeries = science cause of population?
what?

Thanks.

No, most experienced/top players chose one pretty early if not before the game.
I don't look at the path of least resistance. I say "I wanna play Morocco and win by culture ! weeeee...." then click start.

Otherwise I'd just play science every game on my isolated 4 cities. And fall asleep along the way.

This may not sound very useful to you but really that's what happens most of the time... If you want to find what is the easiest way to win a specific game that's another question. And there I'm tempted to say that on Deity Science and Diplomacy are the easy ones. Domination and culture are usually more difficult and also are harder on bigger maps.

in multiplayers expirienced players normaly go for eco victory
thats when u got 700 production since thats a way to win the game to

That is why I like the HOF,...predetermined goals, and then you can see how you rank among other players.

If you don't want to play Gauntlets,...Fine. If you don't want to submit games,...Fine.

Instead of just going completely random,...just look at a HOF board, and pick one of the setups.

-