I just won my first Arab/King victory

Wavebird99

Chieftain
Now Im somewhat new to the whole civilization series, so Im nowhere near deity level, so I just thought Id share my finest game Ive ever played.

This was my first game on King too, and I hadnt used the Arabs before, so I tried them. My plan was just to win, and not really go for a specific victory.

Now, right at the beginning I find Im literally right next to Ghandi and his Indian Empire. Knowing that I am going to want to expand that way, I quickly build some legions and catapults and attack him. (Catapults were before anyone else thanks to the Arabs ability to get Mathematics for free).

Surprisingly, (but not THAT surprising), Ghandi has barely any armies defending his cities, and I roll through a couple of them easily. When I notice hes got two cities left still, I decide to peace for a bit. I wanted to establish my tech and culture a bit anyway.

About 20 - 30 turns later I return to war with Ghandi, and finish up his last two cities, which, again, had one or two defenders in them. This was all done by 1740, and I felt pretty confident that I was on my way to a victory.

Never the less, after conquering the rest of the Indian Empire, I encountered three new Civs. First was the Americans, who my galley found way down south in an Artic Island chain. They had around 4 or 5 cities set up, but they were so isolated I didnt feel they were a huge threat.

Then France came. France was on its own large island, or at least I thought. What I didnt realize until about two turns later was that our continents were connected by a single land bridge that was only one space wide. I set a defensive army at that choke point. (My continent had Germany, India, and myself on it at the start).