Rise and Fall of Your Empire?

EDre

Chieftain
Recently (well over the past weeks, im on marathon) I was playing as America on Continents and expanded my empire till I had at least 3 cities on each continent, some even more. I was always stuck in wars with different AI and my people were very unhappy. After about 15 wars I started to scale back. After I destroyed Gandhi for the second time I gave most of my overseas cities to people I could somewhat trust. My people were now really happy and about to complete Apollo Program. On the score list I am #2 but always am switching spots with #3, Persia. I am on around turn 1,350 and Russia is way ahead of me. I probably won't win but this is my first Marathon game and its fun.

Have you ever had to scale back your empire because you went a little too far?

I never scaled back my empire, but when I started playing Emperor it cost me a game or two, and eventually I changed my playstyle from "expansion at all cost" to measured expansion while setting up the conditions for it in advance (resources, policies, etc.)

Only in domination games.
On higher difficulties the AIs grow their cities stupidly fast and often in a peace deal they will just give you a 15-20 pop city. There's absolutely no way to absorb that without going massively unhappy so you have to raze it or sell it.

If you're settling so many cities that your empire is always unhappy, then you are playing the game badly. Unhappiness is the mechanic that prevents endless city-spamming. When your empire is unhappy you get a massive growth penalty so what will happen is you just have 20 tiny crap cities that can't ever build anything worthwhile.
The game is made so you have to choose between a few big cities or a moderate amount ( under 10 usually ) of smaller cities. There's just not enough sources of happiness in the game to allow you to spam that many settlements.

There's just not enough sources of happiness in the game to allow you to spam that many settlements.