What do you like to name your cities?

Sedwick

Parent, then Civ'er
As a computer engineer, I like to base mine on the prefix multipliers that designate data block sizes, each successive city named after a larger one:

Bitnos
Nibblon
Bytenium
Kilos
Megg
Gigania
Terras
Petanos
Exante (highest I've gotten)
Zettas
Yottania

How about you?

Ha! That's great. I just let the game name my cities, but I like your approach. Presumably you rename conquered cities as well.

As a fan of old-style comics, and strips, if I come across a good name, I'll use it .

Podunk, Dogpatch, Mayberry, Abbotabad and Costelloabad, Fargo and Shortgo, Fort Worthless, Creepy Hollow, Dinkycity, and my favorite; Fumbuk !!

Any old or new funny name will work for me .
And, of course, that LAST city on the map for a Mass Extinction Kill, ... dALLASS !!

I roleplay fictional empires from time to time, most commonly Videssos from Harry Turtledove's eponymous series.

Ha! That's great. I just let the game name my cities, but I like your approach. Presumably you rename conquered cities as well.

I don't, actually. The old name helps remind me of the conquest, and I like to imagine that keeping it helps with citizen morale, as a show of respect to their past.

I think it'd be great if the game mechanics actually addressed changing conquered cities' names, perhaps with a several-turn happiness penalty, but also some culture reward for maintaining a theme (it would suggest the next civ-specific name).

I never rename cities. Nothing wrong with it, but I don't know, I like the alternate history feeling of the game.

If I'm playing a multiplayer game with friends usually we set weird restrictions for ourselves, so in those all of the city names end up being around those restrictions.

Example: We had a game where one of us declared war on an AI if that AI had any sheep within their territory, due to a holy quest for all of the sheep tiles on the map. All of his cities were sheep/wool/lamb/ranch themed names.