1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

µTorrent Problem ~ "Port 56887 does not appear to be open"

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Abaddon, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    How on earth do I ensure my "ports" are open?

    Its downloading.. but incredibly slowly for what it can be...
     
  2. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,358
    Location:
    Canada
  3. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    Doesn't really.. it redirects me to a site wanting £30 to download a program to do it for me...
     
  4. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,358
    Location:
    Canada
    Are you sure you're not reading an advertisement not related to the actual site?
     
  5. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    This is what I see
     
  6. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,358
    Location:
    Canada
  7. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    My router does not match any on their list.

    Mine is from "talkTalk"

    SmartAX MT882
     
  8. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,358
    Location:
    Canada
  9. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    Eugh, it takes a million and one .----------nig steps.. i'm getting so bored of this!
     
  10. Grisu

    Grisu Draghetto Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    10,464
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Switzerland
    it's only about 10 steps? :confused: ..and steps is an overstatement, most of them are just clicks :ack:
     
  11. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    I'm not comfortable fiddling around it tbh. If I killed the internet it would be horrible. I'll just accept slower download speeds.

    Didn't help i got stuck when it asked me the password of the network. My dad set it up, and god knows what the password is.. I tried EVERYTHING.

    I could just ask him.. but explaining what i'm doing would just not be worth the hassle and stress from that technophobe...
     
  12. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,358
    Location:
    Canada
    Just push the reset button on the router, it takes 2 seconds.
     
  13. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    An that resets the password?! To what?
     
  14. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,358
    Location:
    Canada
    It tells you in the portforward.com guide...
     
  15. illram

    illram Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,218
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Resetting might change other settings on the router necessary to connect to the internet.
     
  16. plarq

    plarq Crazy forever

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,158
    Location:
    None of the above
    Do you have root or administrator access to your router?
     
  17. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    I have complete access.. its mine (/mydads)
     
  18. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    18,929
    Gender:
    Female
    Sorry for thread-jacking, but I have a similiar problem:

    http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Linksys/WRT54GS/Utorrent.htm

    I followed the instructions exactly (including the static IP thing), but the password isn't accepting. I've tried resetting the router several times (even just now I thought I had killed the internet connection until I realized it was a loose cable), and I've even tried several browsers. Also happened on my XP machine. Any suggestions?
     
  19. nonconformist

    nonconformist Miserable

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    18,740
    Location:
    Canterbury
    But....you can open ports via windows firewall :/
     
  20. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,358
    Location:
    Canada
    Those are separate from ports that need forwarding via the router.

    Windows firewall stuff is usually done automatically, router stuff is only done automatically if both the router and OS support and has enabled UPnP.
     

Share This Page