1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Éa, The Ageless and the Divine (phase 2, alpha)

Discussion in 'Éa Fantasy Mod Project' started by Pazyryk, Dec 21, 2012.

  1. Pazyryk

    Pazyryk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584
    Update: Making progress on mercenary system. The UI is in and working. The system is integrated with the current morale system (mercenary morale isn't affected by civ happiness; it has baseline 0, or -20 if you are at war with the merc's civ of origin). AI is always a lot of work though. Right now I'm getting AI players to know when to hire and when to put up units for hire based on their own relative strength and current threats (a Mercenary CS will take all units off the market if a mass of units is moving toward it). Some civs are "suppliers", which includes all Mercenary City States and military-oriented full civs that have the Mercenaries policy. Others are "users", which includes most other city states and full civs that are not so military-oriented. A full civ can hire without the Mercenaries policy if they are friends with the CS or full civ supplier. A CS can hire from any supplier. Some city states and full civs are neither suppliers nor users.


    Post Lua log for these. I can often spot the problem and get a fix out very quickly.

    It's planned, but I probably won't get around to this for a while. I need to make sure all the primary naming conditions/traits are working and interesting.
     
  2. Vinnz

    Vinnz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    OK, file added to my original post.
     
  3. Pazyryk

    Pazyryk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584
    Hotfix e for v9. "Extract Here" inside your MODS folder.

    Includes previous hotfixes. This one fixes a Lua error that can occur after a civ looses a city.

    Will break saves from hotfix c or earlier. OK for games started with hotfix d.

    @Vinnz, install this and reload from before turn 118. Should fix the Lua error.
     
  4. Vinnz

    Vinnz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks for the hotfix.
    I patched your mod and reloaded my game form turn 110. I did not see the previous Lua error.

    However, the culture did not update correctly on reloading : It displayed like 6.15/8 (approximative value for the 6.15, not sure of the actual one). For what it's worth, my guess is that the Voluspa epic (+mod cultural level) was not considered.
    When playing further, the game behaved consistently with this value: I couldn't choose another policy before reaching 8/8 (around turn 155)

    Another lua error at turn 177, related to the method GetPlot. Lua log attached to this post.
     
  5. Pazyryk

    Pazyryk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584
    Hotfix f for v9. "Extract Here" inside your MODS folder.

    Includes earlier hotfixes. This one fixes a bug in the Bloom spell and a problem where Cultural Level in social policy popup did not reflect the Völuspá Epic.

    Safe for gamesaves from hotfix d and after.


    @Vinnz, This should fix the turn 177 error (reload from a save before that). The Cultural Level indication should be fixed now, but I'm not totally sure. Check that the Top Panel is consistent with info in the social policy popup. If you aren't seeing benefit of Völuspá, check to see if it is properly listed in the Epics tab in the Wonders, Epics & Artifacts popup.

    Keep the bug reports coming!
     
  6. Lplate

    Lplate Esus (Allegedly)

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hi there,

    Three more lua logs for you. These are all from hotfix d, so perhaps some of the issues in them have already been resolved.


    Could anyone let me know how I enable the Raging Barbarians? I couldn't see it in the options when I looked.


    On the topic of barbarians and how they remain stuck at Warriors - would it be possible to have barbarian camps spawn more advanced troops if they are within 1-2 tiles of the requisite resource? It could also be linked to civ advancement, maybe one civ must have the pre-requisite tech for the barbarians to be able to generate a tier 2 unit and at least two civs must have the pre-requisite tech to allow a tier 3 unit to be generated.
     
  7. Pazyryk

    Pazyryk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584
    @Lplate, the 1st and 3rd ones have errors that should be fixed by hotfix f. You should be able to continue these games if you update and reload from before the error. The 2nd one has an error I haven't seen before. I'll try to figure that one out.

    Edit: I'll need a longer log to figure out #2. Try zipping and uploading the whole thing. (You can delete big attachments later so you don't fill up your 100Mb limit. Just go to My Account and look for Attachments on the left side.)
     
  8. Vinnz

    Vinnz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks for this new hotfix f.

    I confirm that the "Bloom spell" lua error is corrected .

    I don't think it corrects the cultural level display bug on reload. I still experience it when reloading from saves before I reached level 8. However, it disappeared from more recent saves. On the other hand, the policy pannel now displays the correct "estimated change next turn"
    Spoiler :
    reloading from turn 170 (no hotfix): cultural level 8.53/9+00.4 (voluspa value in the epic screen: +0.8) (in the social policies screen same values, + approaching CL:13.10, estimate change next turn : -0.76)
    reloading from turn 130 (no hotfix): cultural level 6.81/8+0.06 (voluspa value in epic screen: +0.8) (in the popup screen same values, + approaching CL:14.80, estimate change next turn : -0.74)
    with hotfix : same values (the 6.81/8 isn't fixed), except for the "estimated change next turn" in the social policies panel, now 0.06, consistent with the top panel.


    Another bug (still on the same game, around turn 220) : something about an illegal druid, lua.log attached

    And a few random notes:
    - My neighbour is still a "village of man" after turn 200. They have a single city, and a warriors + chariots army
    - the prerequisite to machinery are complicated to understand from the tech tree sketch (and I can't imagine a simple way to improve this)
    - nobody founded the theistic religion before me (and I did it on turn 205 only)
    - great people are good at exploring! (immune to barabarians and able to enter foreign territory). Could be a niche for warriors in peacetime?
     
  9. Pazyryk

    Pazyryk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584
    Hmm... Same exact bug as Lplate above. What I can tell for sure from both logs is that it was a Druid that was on her way somewhere and the civ was seafaring (Daggoo or Fomhóire). Hypothesis: happens when a Druid (or any other GP?) embarks. I'll try to figure out if this is the case.

    Hotfix d had a major policy re-balance that results in a lower CL. The mod has already given you the policies from before hotfix d, but is now giving you the lower hotfix d Cultural Level (or it is on the next turn after reload). No way to avoid this when you reload after a major balance change.

    For some reason that civ wasn't researching anything. I haven't seen that problem before. For the time being, I'm going to blame this on hotfix incompatibility. Hotfix a had some updates specifically affecting AI research/policy decisions. Let me know if it happens again in a game started with the hotfixes.

    Me either. I worked pretty hard not to have tech prereqs crossing over each other, but that's a place where it happens (math and some metal working seems essential for machinery). Someday someone will recode the "pipe" drawing so it can show crossing over properly. There are some other places where I could use that.

    That's because the policy naming conditions went away. But they are coming back! I just need to create more of them because they are now triggered by opening the next policy in a branch. So there will be AI civs going down the Theistic road and founding this religion (again).
    Yes. Eventually there will be animals and such to threaten them. Barbs will be a threat too, but in general I want GPs to be able to escape and route around them. You can imagine single individuals evading armies on the march. Scouts aren't really valuable now but the scout-tracker-ranger line will be valuable when we have animals and beasts wandering around the map.
     
  10. Vinnz

    Vinnz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Sorry, I wasn't clear about the hotfix:
    When writing "reloading from turn 170 (no hotfix)", I meant "without the last hotfix" (The game was patched up to hotfix e, but without hotfix f).

    Do you need the save for the "illegal druid" message?
     
  11. Lplate

    Lplate Esus (Allegedly)

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Ireland
    Okay, so I finally played a game as Ag. It seemed to work as you intended, slow to start but allowing large cities with a specialist approach. I had two pops over 20, one of which was over 30 at one point.

    I was the Ab civilisation and it was a bit counter intuitive to have an Agrarian civilization which was founded on hunting but it worked well. I think in the past, I'd only considered Ag when there was a few Grain and fresh water grasslands. About a quarter of the capitals tiles were water but I didn't need to research Fishing.
    I didn't research Agriculture until after I'd conquered the neighbouring Eleutherios. Their city became my second large city.
    I built one city to claim some iron and kept it small and conquered a couple of cities when the AI stole some elephants and started pestering my citystates. The guilds worked well for expert slots but even at that I had it maxed out at times (granted I'd no interest in Devouts). GP seemed to only reach two for most of the latter part of the game, even with loads of experts in the cities. Should larger populations increase the chance of a GP emerging?
    I think I had all of the health buildings, except for the Apothecary. Plague still occassionally hit but the cities were able to grow back very quickly.
    I didn't have any issues with the wild terrain. There was only one positive value forest in my capital's three tile radius at the start and it wasn't beside resources. Marshes around capital were at 0 and there were no jungles in the vicinity. I only started taming the land after I had the two cities established, i.e. all resources tapped.

    When I stopped, I had 13.4 policies (All Ag and some Tradition) and 24 techs. Transcendentalism was going to take over 200 turns to research. All of the surviving civs had expanded beyond one city, some had quite a number of cities. A lot of the later time in the capital was spent building units which were immediately sold for cash.

    When I conquered the Eleutherios, it was apparent that they'd taken an Ag approach also. They had built farms on most of their resourceless land. As they didn't have the population to actually work those improvements, they would have just been a drain on the economy. I'm not sure if they even had the techs to make these poor farms self-sustaining.

    So some more considered suggestions for Ag;
    1 Teach the AI not to cripple itself by building improvements it will not use
    2 Consider reducing the negative effect of population on policy acquisition for Ag civs. That's in keeping with the Specialist economy approach and gives some cultural boost to this branch
    3 Not a biggy but my capital lost control of two remote elephant camps. One was taken by another civ building a city. I conquered the city but didn't raze it. In my small city, I accidentally clicked on one of the camps which was outside of the capital's 3 tile radius. It would be nice for an Ag civ to be able to reassign these back to the capital/larger city from the civ's outskirt cities without having to raze the offending cities.

    ----

    I no longer have the original lua log for the illegal druid. I'll zip the whole file in future. I had thought you'd only need the info from the last turns.

    I had seen those Village of Man cities after I had expected everyone to be named. I thought that it might be down to city names not being assigned for some civs
    Tested that hypothesis. I was able to embark and disembark a Druid.
    Edit: Lua log with illegal GP is attached
     

    Attached Files:

    • Lua.zip
      File size:
      1,019.7 KB
      Views:
      18
  12. XplorR

    XplorR Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pioneer Valley
    I played on a huge "large Islands" map and when I ran out of room I invaded a near-by island nation. It went well, at first, despite loosing two embarked units to catapult fire. I eventually captured a city. Actually I captured it FIVE times! Each time I did it was "recaptured" by my opponent. Odd thing is they had no "visible" units nearby. After the 5th time I gave up on the game. What am I missing?
     
  13. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    Since v10 wasn't out I made a short run trying to play a militaristic civ. Coupla notes so far: farm2 still has no graphics, I tried to make it into the Sisukas but couldn't manage due to the fact the AI was completely ignoring Bronze Working for a long time, so after waiting a lot I had to go with Venchans. The AI also ignored mining, you might want to look into this. I wanted t otest Sisukas cos I read they would get the Drill promotion for free but I couldn't find any drill promotion in civilopedia.
    The advanced button at game creation is disabled from a few versions (or I can't use it) but I never experienced savegame corruption due to advanced options. However I did experience a lot of autosave (the one you considered safe) corruption in this game. Only manually saved games were safe. The error on reload was some table with nil value, and I couldn't see the morale bonus nor use the morale bonus action from a Warrior GP (you might guess the table from this I hope).
     
  14. Brutha2

    Brutha2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    I have installed as you have said, but the media pack does not show up as a mod so I can't load it. I extracted to the mod folder, did the checklist and it doesn't work. Has anyone else seen this problem? I am only used to installing mods via steam, so maybe I have messed up with doing it.

    edit: Ignore this, for some reason the download cut off part of the media pack, so it didn't work first time round. I re downloaded it, and it seems to be working well.

    Edit 2: While playing, I also have a problem with cities automatically being recaptured for some reason. I also have a minus 118% science civ modifier, which I really don't understand the logic for.
     
  15. Brutha2

    Brutha2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Well, I had a first playthrough, and it is an interesting mod, I dived straight in and went for Mumakil, as I started surrounded by Ivory. Once I got that tech, though, I couldn't research any more (either a bug, or something I missed about the mod). Then I had the problem with city capture, and finally an error about a problem about "attempt to index local, null value" about 290 turns in.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Lua.zip
      File size:
      2.2 MB
      Views:
      18
  16. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,766
    Location:
    France
    you got Mumakil ??? (the most ferocious elephant unit ?)
    well, if you focused that without getting much "tech enhancer techs" it's kinda normal that you couldn't get farther...
     
  17. Brutha2

    Brutha2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Yeah, I read through the manual properly and noticed the knowledge modifiers thing afterwards. I guess it makes sense, it just seems a bit limiting. The Mumakil are pretty amazing though, I would have took over the world if I could have conquered the cities; I started surrounded by about 8 Ivory units, so I just focused on improving my pastures all the way. Fun mod.
     
  18. DharmaMcLaren

    DharmaMcLaren Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'm still finding that I run out of things to produce quite quickly. The effect is that I train a lot of a slow-to-produce units and then delete them when they're trained, giving me gold - effectively, it's a roundabout way of producing gold from production. That being the case, why not just put the hammers -> gold project back in? All it would do is save players from having to tell their cities to build a ship every four or five turns when they run out of stuff to build. That said, with the national treasury I find my gold going up to the cap and then spilling over it and resetting to a very big negative number quite often, while research is considerably more precious...
     
  19. Lplate

    Lplate Esus (Allegedly)

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Ireland
    Running out of stuff to make is an issue in just about any game which doesn't end early. Tech maintenance guarantees that it will happen eventually. I think that you're right that a mechanism for converting production into gold needs to be brought back in just to minimise micro-management. The exchange rate should be kept the same as that for selling units to avoid clashing with the Slavery line's benefits. Possibly the money back for selling units and buildings (and for direct production to gold, when implemented) should be reduced?

    The running out of stuff to do is also to be expected given that the victory conditions are not in yet. It's possible that there will be some GP actions which will soak up all of the production in a city for an extended period towards the end of the game once these come in - I'm thinking of Anra rituals to destroy the world's mana and the like.

    ---

    On a different note, the AI is always too eager to give away their money for luxuries. Happiness isn't typically a big problem for me as a player so I wonder if they actually need the luxuries. It might be worth looking at the AI that drive international trade.

    ---

    On a completely separate note, I remembered that during my Agrarian hunter game, the Eleutherios completed a couple of the Tomes. Having conquered their capital/entire civilization, shouldn't my civilization be presumed to have captured these?
    It would be a reason to pump up aggression on the part of some AI civilizations if a neighbour has a Tome that would be useful for them.
    If Tomes can be claimed, what is to happen when Heldeofol conquer a city with a Tome. They pillage the libraries so presumably would destroy the Tome. Would the Heldeofol get an instant few beakers for the techs on the Tome's line at the cost of destroying the Tome?
    If another civilization conquers the city from the Heldeofol, then the Tome should no longer be available to be claimed. Should it be open to another civilization to try and recreate the Tome or is it gone for good?

    ---
    Edit: Adding a couple of Lua logs. One features the capital city flipping back when a civ has other cities left. Two of the AI were trading a city every turn for several turns and then the game crashed in the turn after I took over a capital. I can't remember what the issue was in the other one.

    I'm not much of an artist (I would have PM'd this but could not see how to attach a file to a PM) but was getting tired of landmarking my kings. Attached are a couple of crown icons on the 45 and 64 icon templates (I think those are the right sizes). I wasn't sure whether the template layer is to be hidden/deleted once the pictures are in place so I provided the Gimp xcf files with both layers as well as png files.

    On related icon questions;
    Is there a symbol in the game for removing roads. At the moment the farm icon comes up for destroying a road. Either the wrong part of the atlas is being referenced or a new symbol is required. I would have thought there would be a proper icon for this in the main game.
    At the moment the Pantheistic versions of Farm, Mine, etc. icons are the same as those for the Agrarians/Theists. For clarity, some distinction between them would be useful, if only to make sure someone doesn't undo a few turns of work when returning to an unfinished task. Is there some way you'd want them distinguished, e.g. a tree as well as the buildings on the Pantheistic Farm and Plantation? I'm not sure what you could put with the mine cart and quarry.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Pazyryk

    Pazyryk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584
    I'm back to work on this. Looks like I have a summer's worth of stuff here. Just to get started...

    I didn't know there was a cap on this. That's bad news since running a massive treasury is one of the play styles I want to support. Anyone know what that cap is?

    I've been resisting this but I guess I'll have to bring back the production conversion process(es). I'm thinking about linking them to policy specialization. And maybe adding more that are not in base: prod->food, prod->mana or divine favor. I hate to see players forced into prod->gold only when they are not gold focused.
     

Share This Page