1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] 1.0.0.290 Naval Units in Tunnels (Should be Fixed)

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Bug Reports' started by Timothy001, Feb 24, 2019.

  1. Timothy001

    Timothy001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sudbury, Ontario
    I have seen this talked about in several threads, but none have posted here. It seems that naval units that are adjacent to a mountain tunnel (or the Inca unique mountain pass), and have access to water on the other side, can use said tunnels. This definitely seems like a bug.
     
  2. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Can you post a save file?
     
  3. Timothy001

    Timothy001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sudbury, Ontario
    I cannot. On Skype, @CanusAlbinus posted a picture. Maybe we can ask him.
     
  4. CanusAlbinus

    CanusAlbinus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Indiana
    There was a thread about it on r/civ a few days ago, but a quick search failed to turn up the thread (reddit is annoying). The image in question is a gfycat image: https://gfycat.com/indolentfearlessarmyant
     
  5. Timothy001

    Timothy001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sudbury, Ontario
  6. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

    When they said we would be happy with canals, they really meant it!
     
  7. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    811
    As amusing as the videos were for this one, the normal traffic through the tunnels do not appreciate it when boats come through taking up both lines. We'll get this one taken care of.
     
  8. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    @dshirk : Dennis, this one is obviously related to the general pathfinding bug affecting tunnels. If two tunnels are built on a long mountain range, in separate extremes, any unit will enter one extreme and come out the other. Gameplay breaking.

    I sure hope you don't wait an entire season to deliver a patch. GS is very good, but needs some patching.
     
  9. Furycrab

    Furycrab Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    892
    I'd totally be ok with that one being left in as a feature. :)

    As a side note, almost makes me want to play with Quick movement off just to see the tunnel animations.

    So that explains why this tunnel I'm using is so wonky. Now you made me want to make a super highway with this mountain range I have in my game that is like 11 tiles long.
     
  10. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    It IS a freeway, and with multiple exits. GDR does not need to jump over the mountains, it's better to use the tunnel system.
     
  11. Furycrab

    Furycrab Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    892
    @dshirk Any reason quick movement for tunnels is just warping? I've always played with Quick movement and gotten rather used to the whole fast but still actually playing the animation movement, but then you have tunnels where things just Warp, I was surprised to see in that video that with slow movement the unit actually goes thru the mountain.
     
  12. BocikPG

    BocikPG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    So recently i have seen interesting thing: ships can travel through mountain tunnels. I haven't checked it on bigger distances but i think it should work any way :) Hope you can use this
    20190303123335_1.jpg 20190303123340_1.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  13. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,841
    sounds like something out of a james bond movie.
     
  14. Infixo

    Infixo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,244
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
  15. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Moderator Action: Merged with existing Bug Reports thread.
     
  16. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Patch notes state that this has been fixed:
    • Don't add Mountain Tunnel entrances/exits on water tiles.
    • Don't let naval units use Tunnels.
     
  17. Aristos

    Aristos Lightseeker

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,575
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Deep inside...
    I am not sure it is completely fixed; the part of Tunnel Superhighways is not mentioned in the notes, I asked by twitter and they have yet to answer.
     
  18. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    OK. Please report back in this thread when they reply.
     

Share This Page