1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

[NFP] [1.0.10.15] Culture Industry 999+ production on specialty districts

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Bug Reports' started by Naeshar, Feb 27, 2021.

  1. Giskler

    Giskler +1 Sleuthing

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,398
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Norway
    Well, this was a fun bug to encounter.
     
  2. tsf4

    tsf4 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    185
  3. Ordnael

    Ordnael Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Feel ashamed I let this bug crush 3 games I was playing till I found out out this thread. A big thank you to the OP. No more dramatic ages mode for me now...no big loss since in the last game I was playing, a dark age completely took the Zulus out, even going through a golden age myself I couldn't keep their cities for me or even liberate them and thus resurrecting the AI, they would always become free cities.
    One question. Does the Culture Industry card affect the AI or only the player? If true that it can affect the AI as well and coupled with the mode being able to wipe-out the AI to the point that I described, that makes this mode a little uninteresting in the meantime.
     
    jprc likes this.
  4. Naeshar

    Naeshar Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    As it is a systemic bug with the policy, I assume it affects the AI as well, but this needs confirmation.
     
  5. Ordnael

    Ordnael Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2021
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Noob question...Is it possible for the player to find what policy cards is the AI using?
     
  6. Naeshar

    Naeshar Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Gender:
    Male
    In-game it is possible, if you have open relationship enough (I think it's "secret" or "very secret" level), you get notices about slotting in policies.
    Out of game, it should be logged in one of the game database files, perhaps someone else on the forum knows exact location. Using it in game is a bit of cheating, but it is useful for debugging.
     
    Ordnael likes this.
  7. jprc

    jprc My dog is smarter than me

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Mozambique and far-far East
    bug bug bug ...
    version [1.0.12.9] (564030)

    And when you are in for a loooooong game (marathon with no turn limit, huge, deity, all options on i.e. apocalypse / zombie / secret societies / corpo / Dark+Golden Ages, etc), it is so frustrating to be stuck at rounds 700 with still many turns to come, and 999+ (or 1785 turns for an harbor, in a city with 50 prod...)!


    I have now subscribed to this mod, fixing the issue, but it will work only for my next game... if any.
    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2469201428

    Why Firaxis, why are you so deaf and slow solving it ? (and CTDs or freezing games at end-turn, with the new Frontier addition).
    Now +1345h playing civ6/steam, and I had 0 problem until the NFP addition and February patch...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 29, 2021
    PiR likes this.
  8. PiR

    PiR Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,468
    Gender:
    Male
    Don't you have auto save enabled to reload a previous save?
     
  9. jprc

    jprc My dog is smarter than me

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Mozambique and far-far East
    If you talk about returning to a saved game BEFORE the 999+ bug occurs, the answer is simple : an hour before I posted here, I thought the 999+ was a new event in Frontier Pass, and not a bug!
    Something like a limiter for huge civilizations, and it is always my case...
    In my games, I usually win before the faulty policy card is triggered, hence I did not worry about the couple of times where I saw the 999+ toward the very end of my games.
    It is especially true at deity difficulty that I always play for years now: and as the dark age mode is enabled, it is VERY easy to win by simply being patient: the AI tends to over-build, and as soon as a Dark Age comes, the cities rebel and it is a cascading event. Even big civs are destroyed. Self-destroyed. You just need to hold on your few city very close from each other and let the storm goes away, then the competition is gone...


    Now, if you talk about the CTDs/end turn freezes:
    Of course I have, keeping the last 100, all turns. When you play deity with all game options on, I am not good enough for surviving without restarting many times and I use and abuse the Time Machine...

    And it is what save my day when bugs are invited into my party, and it allows me to proceed with my games for the last 6 months...

    Just before hitting the end-turn, always manual F5 quicksave, and if Freeze or CTD (direct to 3) :
    1. - Ctrl+Alt+Del
    2. - Task Manager (with option "always on top"), then kill Civ 6 process
    3. - Wait a bit for steam/firaxis cleaning then reload the launcher + game
    4. - ... and check my latest save: as I indicated in other forums (reddit + steam community), I find 99.99% of the time the save game AFTER the frozen end-turn. By instance, if I end the turn at 600, I find when reloading the automated saved game for start of 601... and it loads properly and I can continue my game sometimes for hours...

    It means that the end-turn does work (most of the times), but a process at the end blocks or fail to return a green light...
    I only have a CTD 2 or 3 times this last month, and freezing end-turn perhaps 80 times or more.

    And only 5 or 10% of the time, when ending Civ6 process, I can also see the sub-process Firaxisbugreporter.exe, but stuck, and only 1 time (in perhaps 50!), it asked me to send data to Firaxis, which means that bug reporting did not work as intended and sent nothing most of the times as I also monitor internet traffic... but 50% debug data is sent to Microsoft.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2021
  10. PiR

    PiR Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,468
    Gender:
    Male
    I meant for the 999+. Sorry for you. Not fixing this is really a shame. :-(
     
  11. cairnsy44

    cairnsy44 Gooner - first class

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    Vermont
    Apparently, this is STILL a problem? Just played a game after having taken a many months-long break and BOOM. Had totally forgotten it existed. Am I correct in that if I do not play in the Dramatic Ages setting, all will be well? (Or if I remember not to use the Culture card)
     
  12. PiR

    PiR Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,468
    Gender:
    Male
    There has been no patch so obviously it's still there. Maybe there is a mod deactivating the card.
     
  13. cairnsy44

    cairnsy44 Gooner - first class

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    661
    Location:
    Vermont
    Just seems like there SHOULD have been a patch at this point, since it has been a known bug for over a year. clearly, they are done with Civ VI. It very well could be a mod. I have a few added leaders from JFD's mods.
     
    PiR likes this.
  14. thebigaym

    thebigaym Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Just started trying Dramatic mode, and I ran into this error, more than 1 year after people had reported. Boo, Firaxis!
     

Share This Page