1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

1.52 Patch Available

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by mercurycs, Dec 22, 2005.

  1. mercurycs

    mercurycs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    just tried the auto update and ta-da a new patch is available. here is the change log

    Patch ReadMe: http://www.civfanatics.com/civ4/doc/Civ4v152Readme.htm

    To download the patch, you can use the game's auto-patch feature. You can access the feature via the game's main menu screen (Advanced > Check for Updates). The patch size is 44.87 MB. You can also download it using a download mirror below.

    Download Mirrors: Take2 Germany | 2K Games | 3D Downloads | FileFront | 3D Gamers | Koldar


    Here is what is in the patch as stated by Barry caudill, lead programer for CIV at Firaxis.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    v1.52 is a major upgrade to Civ IV and includes numerous optimizations for memory usage that should help performance on all machines but are tailored to especially improve performance on machines at or near the minimum specification.

    Major changes include:

    -Shared low-level graphics buffers
    -Removed many unused fonts and reduced interface memory usgae
    -Paged out units which are not visible
    -Reduced terrain data size and overhead
    -Reduced route data size
    -Created a set of low-res movies for machines without dynamic texture support (this is a separate download)

    These changes not only reduced the amount of system memory required, but lowered video memory usage extensively. Also, the rate at which the game consumes memory in the late-game has decreased, which is extremely important.

    In addition, a new config file (ini) option called 'MemorySaver' has been added for further memory reduction, at the cost of alt-tabbing support. If you set MemorySaver=1 in the config file, you can lower your system memory usage by 70% of video memory. So if you have a 128MB video card, you can save an additional ~90MB of system memory. MemorySaver defaults to off, and is not officially recommended since it doesn't handle alt-tabbing and other cases of graphics device loss at this time. However, we recognize that some users may want to experiment with it.

    Finally, the use of unofficial patches is not recommended and is largely redundant with the memory fixes in this patch. Unofficial patches may slow performance, cause graphical problems or conflict with Firaxis code resulting in crashes or other problems. It also makes it more difficult for us to respond to error reports and debug issues reported by users running unauthorized patches.

    Suggestions for optimal performance:

    Increase AGP memory size in your BIOS settings to 128 or 256 if necessary.
    Go to www.windowsupdate.com and apply updates
    Update graphics and sound drivers
    Close other background applications
    Turn graphics to low and use low-resolution textures in the options screen
    Turn off Antialiasing in your display properties
    Disable virus protection

    -Mustafa Thamer

    Civ IV Lead Programmer

    Fixes
    unit attack move bug
    civ naming bug in sp
    no longer keep your gold and techs when regenerating a map
    missing civic name from popup help
    minimap now appears correctly after regenerating map
    unit cycling bug
    load game freeze bug
    movement freeze bug in si-move
    unit cycling bug in PitBoss and HotSeat
    missing plot list buttons bug with large stacks
    pathfinding bug involving defensive terrain and group movement
    bug with AI attacking over rivers
    can no longer see spies on caravels
    group attack bug
    group attack bug with gunships
    GS lobby ignoring game settings bug
    disappearing popup help bug
    diplo city trading bug
    wonder movie/zoom to building crash
    no camera adjustment to city screen bug
    user profiles with build queues no longer crash
    no more negative gold in diplo screen
    fixed gifting bad cities to AI exploit
    AI issues with Always War and Always Peace
    units not moving into tiles after combat bug (graphical only)
    pathfinding reuse fix
    fixed pathfinding bug
    fixed SHIFT-selecting multiple cities
    end score not matching up with timed winner bug
    fixed bug allowing selection of disabled techs in tech chooser
    fixed Sentry promotion visiblity bug
    fixed AI city targeting bug
    fixed AI healing bug
    AI city attack bug
    no more message lag in single-player
    fixed bug with gunship stacks attacking cities
    random seed bug (causing duplicate world maps...)
    unit health bars no longer show up in city screen
    two-palaces-from-culture-flipping-capital bug
    Foreign Advisor: Gold available for trade does not show up when there cannot be a trade for gold
    Diplomacy screen fix for gold popups not appearing properly
    Foreign advisor: Resources for active player are shown multiple times if you have more than one instance of a resource to trade.
    Fixed weird little bug with Unit Categories page in Civilopedia
    diplomacy bug for PBEM/Hotsesat
    Removed some cheats from password-protected games that should not have been allowed in the first place
    Fix for competitive games: Password-protected saves can no longer be easily stripped of their passwords, and the assets checksum in the save can no longer be modified by external means
    Fixed vanishing yield symbols in multiplayer
    Fixed some PBEM/Hotseat issues when there is just one human player
    River and Wind sounds are now properly classified as ambience. This fixes inconsistent behavior in audio options
    Minimized or No Interface no longer reverts to normal after entering, then exiting city view
    You can no longer duplicate deals with the AI from the "Active deals" section of the diplomacy screen
    Out of memory message problem on machines that don't allocate small textures properly
    Assert error for software vertex processing only machines
    bug where you could draw strategy lines and signs outside of globe view
    "globe view buildings disabled" option now hides buildings in globe view properly

    Changes
    tech cost rebalancing
    improved city attack AI
    moved MaxAutosaves to ini file
    slower Great People name generation
    hide health bars during combat
    increased late-game tech costs
    waypoints now invisible when city screen is up
    ai more willing to trade cities for peace
    ai stays at war longer
    cottages no longer grow durring anarchy
    combat info now shows odds of success
    WBS's now contain unit damage
    score from land doesn't count until you own land for 20 turns
    better invasion AI
    Slavery: No Upkeep
    Emancipation: Low Upkeep
    tweaked AI civic values
    filled in missing diplo entries for Frederick
    Praetorians: 40->45 hammers
    Jaguars: 40->35 hammers
    AI turn optimizations
    interface game messages are now flushed at end of turn
    Environmentalism moved to Medicine
    increased industrial era tech costs
    Environmentalism is medium upkeep
    Free Speech is low upkeep
    Forests give 0.5 health
    firepower in combat now based on max strength
    Lobby sorting improvements
    Clearing the table in the MP diplomacy screen resets the "They accept/They do not accept" text
    Dawn of man screen closes with ESCAPE just like all the other interface screens
    The hall of fame now shows only games that have been played with the currently-loaded mod
    When trying to build an item that it not allowed in a city, you will get a production popup asking for a build instead of leaving production empty
    Wonder Movies and other popups may appear in PBEM/Hotseat
    Incremented save version to 102
    simplified city billboard placement. This should fix the weird billboard offsets and scaling.

    Additions
    Lobby chat and buddy lists from staging rooms
    combat odds now shown in combat turn log
    ALT-S now allows you to place signs
    added "Leave Forest" option for automated workers
    added Marathon game speed (longer than Epic)
    added NoTechSplash ini setting
    More communication about autopatch failures
    Domestic advisor remembers which cities you had selected last time screen was up.
    Added "no cheating" game option for single-player
    In addition to tradeable techs, techs that are not allowed to be traded to you are also shown, provided that you can research them yourself at the moment
    Added event and replay messages when a human founds a city. This got broken when we added city renaming
    Support for Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
    When you zoom to a city from the domestic advisor, you return to the domestic advisor after you exit the city screen
    Updated Info Screen with changes 'borrowed' from one of the forum modders

    The reader's digest version.
    BC
    Firaxis
     
  2. HeXeD_3010

    HeXeD_3010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Nice patch.
     
  3. vbraun

    vbraun Raytracing

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,530
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Whats the version number?
     
  4. mercurycs

    mercurycs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    i havn't finished downloading yet. I will post it as soon as it finishes. it is around 47 megs


    version 152 i think
     
  5. vbraun

    vbraun Raytracing

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,530
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    It should be in the file name. I just checked its 1.52. :)
     
  6. storeslem

    storeslem Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    It's strange that so few, if any, knew that this patch was coming, and noone has a patch changelog.

    Shows really ****** connection / interaction between gamers and devs :(
     
  7. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    So is it new or what?
     
  8. vbraun

    vbraun Raytracing

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,530
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    I'm sure many knew that it was coming. When was the question.

    There is a better connection then you think.
     
  9. Smidlee

    Smidlee Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    3,348
    We got civfanatics hitting the update button 24/7.
     
  10. joethreeblah

    joethreeblah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    Newport Beach, California, USA
    can someone please post the changes
     
  11. xGBox

    xGBox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Well, I installed the patch, the newest version is v152! No change log is included but the patch replaced a lot of files during the installation, so I guess this involves some big changes.
     
  12. ThERat

    ThERat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,310
    Location:
    City of one angel
    as critical as I can be of the game, but this is simply not right. We got a very good relationship here. We also have links to Firaxis via people like Sirian. So, this statement is not true and everyone knew the patch is coming soon. A nice little xmas surprise.

    Let's hope it's not another 1.08 surprise :lol:

    anyone who downloaded, care to post the specs for this patch, thanks:)
     
  13. xGBox

    xGBox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Patch is 44.8MB in size; Should take you about 5 to 10 minutes depending on connection. To compare, Patch v109 was 23.7MB.

    I'm still trying to find the change log but not even the official websites have declared its existence.
     
  14. ThERat

    ThERat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,310
    Location:
    City of one angel
    the patch also brings up another questions, that is Harkonnen's fix...do we need to uninstall that first?

    Hope all the software gurus around can tell.
     
  15. Smidlee

    Smidlee Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    3,348
    Well, one change is reduce memory useages (hark's patch?) and also on late huge map I'm getting 5 fps where I was getting 3 in globel view. atleast that an improvement.:lol:
     
  16. Grogs

    Grogs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    If it's like the 1.09 patch, it just overwrites the readme.htm file in the Program Files\Firaxis Games\Civ4 folder with the release notes.
     
  17. SwedishChef

    SwedishChef Philosopher Chef

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Seattle-ish
    I predicted a pre-Christmas patch in an earlier post. I'm not claiming clairvoyance - just decent business sense. With all the problems people have had with performance and crashes, I'm sure the company would prefer to avoid as many Christmas morning problems as possible. (You know tech support is going to say, "Please patch the game and call back," anyway.)

    And of course, there are the developers and testers who want to not be working overtime on patches near Christmas.

    For me, the unpacking fixed some of the problems I had. Despite an ATI card, my problems seemed less than many others. 1.09 nearly eliminated problems for me. So I'm looking forward to the next one.
     
  18. mercurycs

    mercurycs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    my domestic advisor button doesn't work now since i installed this new patch. i can't find a list of changes anywhere.
     
  19. vbraun

    vbraun Raytracing

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,530
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Didn't change.
     
  20. civzombie

    civzombie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    469
    Excellent!!!

    I was waiting for patch #2 before buying civ4. Now I feel like the game is ready enough for me!!!
     

Share This Page