10 Don'ts of War

maltz

King
Hi there. I am still new to the game (I've only beaten the Monarch level.) Yet I have experiences in similar online strategy games before. Here are my 10 Don'ts of war (what one shouldn't do in a war). Hopefully it applies here, too, especially in multiplayers. I modified the contents a bit to fit the Civ style. Enjoy! :)

1: Don't go to war, unless you will gain in the long run.

This one is obvious. Nobody is willing to shoot their feet, but they still do, possibly due to passion or other kinds of mental incompetence.

It is easy to tell whether you will gain in the long run. An early land grab gives you more resource to compete against your opponents, but also possibly trigger their hostility in multiplayer situations.

2: Don't drag the war. Cease fire as soon as possible.

Your citizens don't like war. They get unhappy, and your productivity/resarch take a hit. Your cities cannot build useful buildings when they are training units. The shorter the war is, the less price you pay.

3: Don't fight alone. Always make more friends than foes.

In the early stage, 1 vs. 1 warfare is going to last a long time, devastating your country in terms of lost terms in economical/research buildings. Find out who also hates your target country, and invite/bribe them into the war, preferrably even before you declare it. 2:1 makes a huge difference.

4: Don't hesitate. Grab your earliest chance.

What are the good chances? When you get an edge in military. Axeman, catapult, maceman, grendier, infantry... every leap ahead provides oppurtunities. Or when you get a new friend and your opponent hasn't. You wait a few more turns, then your opponent will probably hold an equal ground again. Always on the look.

5: Don't be afraid of the strong. Unite the weak!