2 Questions (ToT vs MGE + Resources)

ThichN

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 15, 2022
Messages
31
Hi again all! Well, running into some issues on my map using the extra terrain tiles. For some reason, for my bottom rows (the ones that require a Ctrl+ to place; the "extra" rows), I get this fuzzy static around each tile. It is quite ugly next to the clean standard tiles. I know the black static has something to do with the blending pattern, but not sure how to eliminate it from these tiles. Other scenarios seem to have gotten around this. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

  • fuzzy tiles.png
    fuzzy tiles.png
    247.3 KB · Views: 10

Blake00

CFC Archivist & Social Media Helper
Moderator
Supporter
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
1,462
Location
Australia
Yeah it looks like the Dithering/Rastering effect that's applied to Terrain1 cells is applying to your extra terrains in Terrain2. The original Rivers/Forests/Hills/Mountains automatically ignore whatever is in the dither cell (bottom left corner of Terrain1 file) however new extra terrains presumably don't unless you tell the game somewhere that your extra terrain is just like another mountain. I haven't messed with that stuff yet but presumably there's a flag somewhere in the extra terrain settings in rules. @Knighttime , @JPetroski or @Prof. Garfield might know where it is if you can't find it yourself.

Oh and I forgot to post here that for those keeping score I managed solve my hex editing issues and talk about my success in disabling cheat and scenario mode to get throne & wonder videos working again in my HoMM2 mod thread.
.
 

Dadais

King
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
734
Location
France
Hi again all! Well, running into some issues on my map using the extra terrain tiles. For some reason, for my bottom rows (the ones that require a Ctrl+ to place; the "extra" rows), I get this fuzzy static around each tile. It is quite ugly next to the clean standard tiles. I know the black static has something to do with the blending pattern, but not sure how to eliminate it from these tiles. Other scenarios seem to have gotten around this. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

I believe there's no solution to this blending pattern.
Which means with ToTpp you should limit
1.your tileset in Terrain1 (or 3-5-7) to its most basic ground which will blend,
2. then add hills, mountains, forests, cities, etc as layouts in Terrain2 (or 4-6-8)
3. then adapt rules.txt so the new terrain2 (or 4-5-6) display well its new layout sheet
in order to avoid it spreading to "structures"

.

Otherwise, without ToTpp I'm afraid one have to
- either avoid the black dots pattern
- or alter this pattern (in Terrain 1, 3, 5, 7 I guess) which by my experience is not an easy feat ro achieve well in order to have a nice result.
- or also limit oneself to forest/hills/mountain layouts to replace.
 
Last edited:

ThichN

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 15, 2022
Messages
31
Thanks @Dadais and @Blake00 ! To clarify, these are the extra terrain tiles in my Terrain1.bmp file, not the Terrain2. I am having trouble with the hills and snow-capped mountain in the image.

@Dadais I'm having trouble wrapping my head around your list (sorry, a noob here!). Are there ways in rules.txt to allow for a whole other series of hills and mountains? If that is possible, then wow, that would open up a lot.

One thing to note, too, is that I am using another scenario's rules.txt for a template (@JPetroski one of your scenarios!). I'm wondering if there is something in there that might be causing the dithering on those tiles. It has also allowed me to have COSMIC2, giving me the extra terrain slots -- but I have no idea how to replicate this in a new, original rules.txt file.
 

Dadais

King
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
734
Location
France
Are there ways in rules.txt to allow for a whole other series of hills and mountains?

Hills, mountains and forest in base game are pictured both in terrain1 and terrain2 (or 2&3, 4&5, etc)

Terrain1 draw the font of the tile while Terrain2 draw a layout over it.

Then yes, ToTpp allows you to add layouts ! :)
 

ThichN

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 15, 2022
Messages
31
Ah, OK, I figured that out. Thanks @Dadais ! I didn't notice you could add a new OVERLAYS section with the ToTPP launcher.

My next issue is that I have 4 maps. So I would assume I should start a fantasy game to save my scenario. But this seems to crash my game. Does ToTPP not work with the fantasy mode?
 

Broken_Erika

Nothing
Joined
Dec 12, 2004
Messages
9,896
Location
Glasgnopolis, Grottland
One thing to note, too, is that I am using another scenario's rules.txt for a template (@JPetroski one of your scenarios!). I'm wondering if there is something in there that might be causing the dithering on those tiles. It has also allowed me to have COSMIC2, giving me the extra terrain slots -- but I have no idea how to replicate this in a new, original rules.txt file.

Someone should create generic scenario rules templates for use.
 

ThichN

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 15, 2022
Messages
31
Someone should create generic scenario rules templates for use.
That would be great! I am just practicing at the moment, so looking at existing rules.txt files, and tinkering with them, is extremely useful to see what is possible or where things click into place. I can make my own basic one, but adding ToTPP functionality has proven challenging; so having other rules.txt files to look at for guidance has been a lifesaver.
 
Top Bottom