1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[3.19] Standard, 7 players. [Closed]

Discussion in 'Civ4 - PBEM Games' started by Scienidez, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. BobRoberts

    BobRoberts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Apologies for the delay, was away from my Civ setup - the save has been sent!

    Enjoy it there, Kemal. :)
     
  2. Diamonds

    Diamonds Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Yep still here, eagerly awaiting my turn :)
     
  3. bathsheba666

    bathsheba666 Fast 'n Bulbous

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    10,012
    Location:
    London
    ? ? ? ?
     
  4. Scienidez

    Scienidez The creative one

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    720
    Location:
    Denmark
    whats with the ??? :)
     
  5. BobRoberts

    BobRoberts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Last I heard, I resent the save onto Kemal, got a thank you note from him a while later. Has it moved along from there?
     
  6. Scienidez

    Scienidez The creative one

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    720
    Location:
    Denmark
    He just wrote to me, about some issues with his current mail, ill will send you a his new mail he just created. hang on tight.
     
  7. Kemal99

    Kemal99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    I am here. I just cannot play civIV at work. I am starting my evening in about this time, every day. Will send the save to Diamonds in about 10 minutes.
     
  8. Scienidez

    Scienidez The creative one

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    720
    Location:
    Denmark
    No no, not to Diamonds, send it to DMOC, hehe

    See my mail :) i send you the mail, you need to send to :)
     
  9. DMOC

    DMOC Mathematician

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,594
    Guys, I think there's a mistake.

    The savegame sent to me was the savegame sent to "Excelsi" (who's that?) and instead of my civ (Japan) I got the Viking. :confused:
     
  10. Cjreynol

    Cjreynol Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Charleston
    Hmm, I wonder what is up with this? Did turn order get all screwy?
     
  11. bathsheba666

    bathsheba666 Fast 'n Bulbous

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    10,012
    Location:
    London
    OK, I can have a guess at what happened here....

    The guess depends on the following being true....

    Spoiler :


    original play order was
    BobRoberts Mali, Mansa Musa [GMT +0]
    Excelsi Ragner, Vikings [GMT +0]
    DMOC Japanese, Togugawa

    But Excelsi disappeared, after the game started, and was replaced by Kemal99

    So order is now
    BobRoberts Mali, Mansa Musa
    Kemal99 Ragner, Vikings
    DMOC Japanese, Togugawa

    ...BUT the game doesn't know this yet, it still thinks Excelsi is playing


    Answer:
    The turn has been replayed?

    If you play a turn, and press End of Turn button, the game is saved for the next player.
    If - before you send the save on - you replay the turn, and press the End of Turn button again
    - with the original save still there -
    it gets corrupted, and the next player will see a prompt for your password.

    Solution:

    Kemal99 must:

    a) delete the save game file for DMOC
    b) replay his own turn and end/save again
    c) send the save on without or before replaying

    DMOC.you should probably ping Kemal99 and let him know

    ----

    Edit
    Thinking about this a bit more - there might be an implicit suggestion that Kemal99 has not added a password to his turn, otherwise DMOC wouldn't be able to get into it...?

    You can change your password , and other things, by going into Game Menu - Your Details

    If you don't have a password, the player before your turn can see your game.
     
  12. Kemal99

    Kemal99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    I have re-sent the turn to DMOC, this time with the correct file hopefully.
    sorry guys for the delay. i should be more fluent when i get used to the routine.
     
  13. BobRoberts

    BobRoberts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    No probs there - might have been the save I sent you?
     
  14. DMOC

    DMOC Mathematician

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,594
    4000 BC -> CJreynol
     
  15. Cjreynol

    Cjreynol Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Charleston
    I have the save, but when I try to open it the screen flashes through to the next screen, pops up some message, and then closes the program so fast I cannot read the message. I've tried multiple times but no luck. Any thoughts?
     
  16. DMOC

    DMOC Mathematician

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,594
    Oh yeah, I've gotten that MANY times on my old computer which was missing some crucial game files. Thankfully, since I moved to a new computer and did a fresh reinstall, that error didn't happen.

    It had something to do about "assets" errors right?
     
  17. Cjreynol

    Cjreynol Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Charleston
    It all flashed by so quick that I can't even read the message. Pops up the next screen I assume is the start of the game, i see a box with letters appear and then the program closes (this is all in the blink of an eye, I had to watch it multiple times to discern even these details)

    I'm on a Mac if that helps any problem solving, but I have never had a problem with PBEM's in the past, or with Flev's game going on.
     
  18. DMOC

    DMOC Mathematician

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,594
    The box probably said something like "this game is protected to ensure that your assets ...". I think this is because your version of the game might be missing some files - but if you can connect to other PBEM's then it's probably not your computer's problem.
     
  19. BobRoberts

    BobRoberts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Curse those IT problems! :mad:

    I had a problem with PBEM on my PC where it won't open some saves from inside the game, only if I launch them without Civ open. Not sure if doing one or the other of these will make any difference. But is a Mac, so might behave differently.

    Good luck with it. :)
     
  20. bathsheba666

    bathsheba666 Fast 'n Bulbous

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    10,012
    Location:
    London
    Don't know what to suggest here...

    One test would be to send the save to a friend, and see if they can play it.

    That gives some pointer to the save, versus your environment, as a cause of the trouble.

    I have seen issues before where the game just goes screwy, and we backup the order and get the previous player or more to replay the turn, and the problem mysteriously disappears.
     

Share This Page