1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

5 different colours for your UI

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by toft, Aug 26, 2007.

  1. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
  2. TheLastOne36

    TheLastOne36 Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    14,045
    looks good. I never tried one of these before, i think i'll try yours.

    Some screenshots for each one of them will be appreciated.
     
  3. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    Screenshots added in the download section now ;)
     
  4. TheLastOne36

    TheLastOne36 Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    14,045
    Excellent, i'm downloading the Red one now.

    keep up the awesome work.

    (another idea for one would be silver or some kind of metalic color)
     
  5. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    Closest thing I could get is gray... but ill keep it in mind. Might do it tomorrow.
     
  6. Osymandias

    Osymandias Grand King of Apes

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    In the heart of the Bavarian Forest
  7. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    ohh... without changing any files, eg. as a mod?
     
  8. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    Just took a look at it, and its changing your original files. You wouldnt know of how to add .dds files instead of the base RGB value - would you? That would be cool.
     
  9. Osymandias

    Osymandias Grand King of Apes

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    In the heart of the Bavarian Forest
    Yeah it changes original files, but just the scalings and not the UI style. So if you play pbems or the game of the month, you have to restore the scaling. If i remember correctly. But nethertheless, it would still be just 1 click. Ok, 3: Open - Restore - Close :)
    No, sorry. But it would be great :)
     
  10. dutchking

    dutchking Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    I NEED Solid black!!! ;) You know the drill toft... :D
     
  11. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
  12. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    If you copy my mod into your mod directory, then you have to change the paths from "UIred\" to "<yourmod>\". Dont know if you already did that?
     
  13. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    No It's not done. Where are those "paths" defined ? In the XML file ?
     
  14. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    I actually think all you need to change is inside this file: <your mod name>\Resource\Civ4.thm.

    from
    Mods/UIred/Resource
    to
    Mods/<your mod name>/Resource

    from
    Mods/UIred/Resource/Themes/Civ4/Civ4Theme.thm
    to
    Mods/<your mod name>/Resource/Themes/Civ4/Civ4Theme.thm
     
  15. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    Thank you very much !!
    I had never tried to open those "thm" files with a text editor !!!
    It's modified, ready to test.
     
  16. Rayanth

    Rayanth Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    303
    amazing to see that after all this time, my initial groundbreaking work in this development area is still being credited to me!

    I did some poking around, and I'm sad to see that scaleform doesn't seem to have come through with their promise of releasing an end-user guide to their UI package.

    As a bit of an update to where I've been and why my work ultimately stopped... I joined the US Air Force and have been in training for quite some time. I will soon be stationed in Okinawa, where I will possibly have some free time again to work on this type of stuff. I am eager to see if some of my age-old ideas may still spring to life, such as the era-specific HUD designs I was last working on (I seem to recall them being possible, but a lot of work... and I needed to continue to disassemble the meanings in the theme files so I could build a better vocabulary to work with)
     
  17. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,558
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I just d/led UIsepia and got an GFG error while loading???
    Also just tried UIred, same GFG error, not loading primary control theme.
     
  18. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    Hmm... I just the tried them. Which Mod-folder did you place the mod in? They seem ok to me.
     
  19. toft

    toft King

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    €urope
    Forgot you have to edit the "CIV4ArtDefines_Misc.xml" to the correct path too ;)
     
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,558
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I placed the resource folder next to the asset folder and placed the artdefineMisc in the XML art folder.

    i need a gold one also.
     

Share This Page