1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

7 cows!?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by AluminumKnight, May 31, 2005.

  1. AluminumKnight

    AluminumKnight Conquistador

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    797
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Well the screenshot explains it all. The question is though, what do I do? The temptation to have all 7 cows in one city is strong but I know I probably shouldn't. I want to position these cities well so help would be appreciated :D

    EDIT: forgot the screenshot...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. madviking

    madviking north american scum

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    11,337
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    flavortown
    get cities around the cows so not just one has it.
     
  3. Own

    Own Grasshoppah

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,448
    Huh! Funny, those rivers look like cIV rivers.

    I have had lots islands giving me TONS of cows, like patches of about 5 each. That may be one of them.
     
  4. DaveMcW

    DaveMcW Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,489
    Hi, I need some advice with my cow start.

    Where should I settle?
    How close should I build my cities?
    How many settler factories can I make? :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Own

    Own Grasshoppah

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,448
  6. Renata

    Renata homicidal jungle cat GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    7,690
    Location:
    NY
    Volcano cows! Mmm, rib roast.

    Renata
     
  7. moondoggi

    moondoggi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Vista N. San Diego County
    LOL ya, like... Hi, my daddys last name is Rockafeller/Dupont/Gates how can I spend his money most effectively.
     
  8. vmxa

    vmxa Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I sure hope you can find some cows in those shadows, you seem to need a few more. Probably move your settler 10 or 15 tiles for a better spot. :D
     
  9. AluminumKnight

    AluminumKnight Conquistador

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    797
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Absolutely love the hija- I mean help guys...
     
  10. Beorn-eL-Feared

    Beorn-eL-Feared Idiot riding pedals

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,777
    Location:
    R³ x T's nbhd of North singularity
    I'd build 1-SE, 2-NE, 3-SW and 4-NW of them so that you get
    1- mined cow shields for the floodplains city
    2- a "pass" through the strait with a harbor city, which would also have the spices (that'll be a gold pump)
    3- Use for the gold hill and mountains through the extra food of one irrigated cow
    4- Use those last 2 cows with one city, so as not to get +6 -> +9 food in one city, which would be chopped off by growth at one point under size 7, and would be more tricky to MM than a plain simple +5 after anyways.

    Build close, since size 12 is your maximal limit for the greatest useful part of the game.

    Hope I helped more than Dave :rotfl:
     
  11. AluminumKnight

    AluminumKnight Conquistador

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    797
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Thanks for the help! Cleared things up for me, mostly. One question though still. I'm a little confused on where I should place the floodplains city. If I put it on the flood plains so as to get the wheat, I only get one of the cows. I was thinking of putting it NE of the top sugar so I get both cows, but then I only get 3 flood plains and it's not on the river. I also looked at NW of the top sugar but I lose a sugar and I still won't get the wheat, plus it's closer to the gold hill city.
     
  12. Beorn-eL-Feared

    Beorn-eL-Feared Idiot riding pedals

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,777
    Location:
    R³ x T's nbhd of North singularity
    You'll get sooooooo much extra food from FP that you only (and barely) need one of the cows. I'd pick the plains one here because, mined, it's 3 shields, 2 despot or 4 railed.

    My main point here is: grab as many cities as you can around them. Misfortunately, it looks like you're just starting, you're pretty far and you have competition. So deal with that carefully: the AI settle pretty randomly around ressources, so he might steal too many from you to make it worth it, and anyways they might be too far from home to be of real interest after all.
     
  13. AluminumKnight

    AluminumKnight Conquistador

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    797
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Alright, thanks for the help again. Actually see that little bit of lighted water on the eastern edge of the screenshot? That's the LOS of my capital, so I'm really not that far away, plus my cap is a decent settler factory that's just about set up so I should be able to grab all of that.
     
  14. Grand Cadfael

    Grand Cadfael Freedom fighter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Sea cows dont taste that good
     
  15. jeffbot

    jeffbot Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Speaking as the poor sap who started the five-cow thread, I'm amused. In a humiliated sort of way. :)
     
  16. rainmaker

    rainmaker Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Merritt Island, Florida
    Those workers need to clean up all that cow flop or you may get some early polution
     
  17. Tribute

    Tribute Not Sarcastic

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,186
    Location:
    Pacific Time Zone
    How about you start over and never speak of such unfairness again? If you're on Emperor or above this would be prudent....

    You won't get them if you are.
     

Share This Page