1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

8 Ages of Pace v2.1.0 Release

Makes the game run at a more comfortable pace

  1. Magil

    Magil Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    I've both played against and as the Aztecs with this mod and haven't encountered any crashes (due to this mod anyway, as far as I can tell).
     
    Atlas627 likes this.
  2. Atlas627

    Atlas627 Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,838
    Haven't had an issue.
     
  3. Real SciPio

    Real SciPio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    no problems here and i have Aztec DLC....also using whole bunch of mods and never used Detailworld mod
     
  4. hawqeye

    hawqeye Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Sounds good, thanks everyone for the feedback!
     
  5. Baradar67

    Baradar67 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Also getting a crash around 70 turns in during the AI turns. Spoke to Rome then continued and crashed. Aztec DLC but crash is on Saladin's turn.

    Reminds me of Civ IV :p

    And it appears you can't remove mods once a game is underway, thats a shame. I understand why, but even just for debugging that could help.

    Other mods, YnAMP and Detailed Worlds
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2016
  6. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    Beyond the Veil
    Hmm, Detailed Worlds appears in many of these crashes....

    You can kind of remove mods from a save file. Open up the relevant .modinfo and comments out using <!-- --> everything after settings (but leaving the final </Mod>). Not recommended for anything but debugging of course.
     
  7. Baradar67

    Baradar67 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    4am, I should have realised it would be that easy. Thanks for the heads up.

    Ayway I tried it and no change. I've seen other ppl mention AI turn crashes and it could just be a builtin bug, not a mod bug. I'll test by going back a couple of turns and see if the same thing happens. This was the fix for civ iv.

    Edit: And that didnt help. Even made sure the random seed had changed (have a look in logs\randcalls.csv to see them). So a decision is being made by Saladin that causes the crash.

    Just to let you know, I was playing the same world for about 400 turns before I restarted (using the seed ) and added your pack.

    Ack, should have mentioned, these final tests were with the wiped .modinfo so to me that suggests a friaxis issue.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2016
  8. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    Beyond the Veil
    Thanks for doing the test. Yes, if it crashes with the whipped modinfo I would think it's Firaxis. Sorry I can't be any more help.
     
  9. hawqeye

    hawqeye Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Thanks for this tidbit of info, I too did some testing with this method.
    1. First I commented out the Detailed Worlds .modinfo, still had the same issue crashing during the Aztec turn.
    2. Then I reset the Detailed Worlds .modinfo back to its prior state.
    3. I commented out the 8 Ages of Pace .modinfo and the game progressed through to the next turn, no crashes. (I did not play the next turn)
    4. Reset the 8 Ages of Pace .modinfo file and got the same crash to desktop.

    The one behavior I did see is that one of the Aztec cities did grow from size 15 to 16, but that was just an observation. (This does not matter, see below)
    I will see if I can narrow down the file which may have the issue, not sure how that will go if I can even comment out individual files or not.

    Thanks again for all of the help! (Another game I started seems to be working dandy so far with the same 2 mods)

    Edit: Narrowed it down to the FasterRoads.xml file, in particular the ROUTE_INDUSTRIAL_ROAD.

    When I comment out this section it worked and progressed to the next turn.

    After messing around with a bunch of other settings for this XML tag, I think it may be the MovementCost, I do not think the game itself (not the mod) can correctly figure out the movement in some cases. I updated this value to a bunch of other values (.38, .4, .5). When I set it to .5 it did work.

    Either way, I believe it to be a Firaxis issue and not the mod. Hope some of this helps!
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2016
    Mglo likes this.
  10. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    Beyond the Veil
    Thanks for debugging it!

    That is a very strange error... Are you running the latest version of the mod? I set the industrial road movement to 0.375 as it is 3/8 which is 0.011 in binary, a non recurring fraction, so I dont understand why the game has trouble with it.

    Also strange that this error only triggers some of the time, but not all the time.
     
  11. GKrause

    GKrause Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Great mod! I downloaded it late last night and have had the "one more turn" syndrome like I haven't since Civ IV.

    1. Do agree that it seems to take forever for cities to grow once you start creeping into the teens on pop.
    2. There have been some instances where I have run out of things to build, but I find myself using district projects more now, and with the slower pacing, actually trying for specific great people because of it, which was highly satisfying.
    3. I don't know if this is a bug, but I also seemed to be getting +3:c5faith: instead of +1:c5faith: from God-King. Not sure if a bug or intentional to help with the pacing. Was playing as Hojo and definitely did not have any yields or other source of faith I could find.
     
  12. Magil

    Magil Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Did you have an envoy in a religious city-state?
     
  13. DOmar1990

    DOmar1990 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Puerto Rico, U.S.
    Just downloaded this. Question: Is the mod setted up to work only with standard gamespeed or I can choose whatever gamespeed I want and still the mod works?
     
  14. iambungus

    iambungus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    It globally lengthens the amount of science/culture it takes for each thing in the era. You probably shouldnt go on a slow gamespeed though because you'll end up with the problem of your production outperforming your science/culture and you'll finish everything before you research the next tech.
     
  15. Atlas627

    Atlas627 Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,838
    You can use whatever gamespeed you want. Everything is proportionally adjusted, so you'll end up with the same pacing changes on Marathon as you would on Quick.
     
  16. Lord Byte

    Lord Byte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    I changed the boosts to 25 and it makes the AI finally keep up with the player and surpass him if you're not careful! I think it helps the AI more as it isn't very good in getting and using the boosts!
     
  17. GKrause

    GKrause Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    I am 99% certain this was indeed the case, had an unnoticed religious city-state close that was conquered very early and didn't realize it until I went back to look at the name.
     
  18. travathian

    travathian Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    I think this mod makes the 50% boost even more powerful for human players. Since the AI isn't competent enough to routinely leverage that advantage, the human player will have more time to metagame and plan for future boosts. Given that improving the AI is beyond the scope of this mod, I agree that knocking the boost down to 25% may be a reasonable means of giving the AI a more level playing field.
     
    Littlebob86 likes this.
  19. truetom

    truetom Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    272
    will try this mod, was looking for something like that, hope it works as intended :thumbsup:
     
  20. Thanatios

    Thanatios Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    I don't know if this has been mentioned before, but if you use this mod with the rules of YNAMP (maps themselves work) then the game won't load and crash back to the main menu.
     

Share This Page