A call to artistsabout hexagons

Steph

Multi Many Tasks man
Retired Moderator
When I was younger, I played wargames, all with hexgons.

When I started programming my game, I tried both hexagons and squares. Both could work. I continue with squares, because all the graphics here have directions.

However, hexagons would be much better for range, movement, and also to draw the map: having 8 directions with a difference between sides and corners mae things a lot more difficult to do than nice sde for hexes.

So I'm considering switching to hexagons. But I would do it only if I have enough graphics available.

If I can get support from enough artists here, mostly unit makers, to re render stuff with 6 directions, I will do it.

So, who would be ready to contribute?
- By re rendering new units?
- By just making the model/textures/animations available to me so I can re render again myself?

Note that I don't need FLC, the rendered frames could be enough.

It could also be a possibility to increase a bit the scale to show a little more details or also to use more than 256 colours and real transparency.

Steph, if the rendered frames are enough, then I would be happy to re-render any of my units should you require them. Indeed I can easily reclothe or otherwise alter the models to create new ones specifically for your game if you have gaps in your unit lines. It's all the stuff that comes after rendering that slows me down.

I can work with true colours, so there's no need to create a palette.

A question. Is it possible for you to render the civ colored parts and the non civcolored part as two different sets of frames?

My engine allow using " tint". So I could have each animation with two layers. A normal layer, for the non civ coloured part, and a "civ colour" layer, where the parts would actually be white, and too which I could add a red, blue or whatever tint to get the civ colour.