1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

A few questions and some comments

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by lances, Nov 28, 2002.

1. lances

lances Chieftain

I recently started playing Diety, after beating Emperor consistently. I typically (ok, always) play the Chinese and restart if I don't like my capital's location.

I was really surprised at the advice to build granaries - I don't think I've ever built a granary until the industrial age. They just take too long, and cost too much, and keeping my city sizes low enough is a constrant struggle anyway. Are there Diety/Emperor players who are building early granaries?

My build order on a typical capital is Warrior/Warrior/Warrior/Warrior/Settler. That way I get the Settler just as the city hits size three. If I'm getting extra food, I'll build the settler earlier of course. I play pangea maps size standard or small, and I focus on trying to surround my capital with cities as quickly as possible. I've found that any city beyond the first ring of cities is going to nearly completely corrupted anyway, so that first ring up quickly is extraordinarily important. I try to squeeze in six or eight cities without going outside that first ring. This requires some overlap. After that I look for luxuries and resources.