1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

A new record for me

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by subanark, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. subanark

    subanark Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    WA
    My fastest game ever. I lost on turn 3.

    Started right next to the lich. Maybe building a city in my starting spot was not the best of ideas.

    My game:
    Turn 1: found city. Have warrior go to the sepulcher, only to get kicked off the space (and into my city) and the lich spawns on that spot.
    Turn 2: lich spawns 2 skeletons
    Turn 3: skeletons approach city
    Turn 3.5 Skeletons attack, my warrior dies, game over.

    I guess there isn't any plan to ensure that the feature doesn't start next to a player's starting location?
     
  2. xienwolf

    xienwolf Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    10,589
    Location:
    Location! Location!
    Lich will not spawn until someone attempts to walk onto the Sepulcher. If you left it alone, he wouldn't have bothered you :)


    On a related note: The Guardian of Pristinus Pass spawns 3 Gargoyles when you walk onto a tile next to his mountain, so don't do that early in the game either.
     
  3. deadliver

    deadliver Loud Mouth Amateur

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,508
    Location:
    Anvilania
    Barbatos doesn't spawn til a non barbarian enters the square, so defend that sepulchre with your life yo! :scan:
     
  4. MrPopov

    MrPopov King

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    so if it is on a river tile, could you gain access to the death mana without having to build a road?
     
  5. Gelvan

    Gelvan Prince

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    576
    In my first 0.33 game I was wiped out by the Sailors Dirge. And that was on Chieftain difficulty. My thierd game I started at Settler difficulty. Somehow it seems to me, the AI is much better in 0.33 (stacks of units on Chieftain, that approach a City that built Great Library that turn).
     
  6. subanark

    subanark Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    WA
    If that is true, then it would be very annoying making sure nothing accidentally steps onto it. I wouldn't be able to automate any workers, since they would just love to connect up that death mana. And open boarders would be quite risky.

    Maybe if it was like a super graveyard that you could risk robbing multiple times until the lich wakes up instead of simply getting too close. But he wakes up automatically at a reasonable time like turn 100.
     
  7. Psychic_Llamas

    Psychic_Llamas Wizard in the Making

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,366
    Location:
    Western Australia
    i really like this idea. but ensure once barbatos spawns no further exploring can occur.
     
  8. Sarisin

    Sarisin Deity

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,796
    Location:
    NJ
    I have to agree that in my first game, the AI is much better.

    For example, I always use the AggAI option in my games, and in the past, not much happened in the early game. However, in this game, 2 AI civs declared war on me before turn 150 (epic speed).

    Also, I have been really getting pounded by the barbs. Lizardmen and Skeletons showed up VERY early in the game (before turn 30) and now, in turn 200, I am getting Wolf Riders by the bunch.

    Quite a challenge at Monarch - much more so than I was used to in .32!
     
  9. Bad Player

    Bad Player Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    (Bris)Vegas!
    I don't like the idea of workers accidently setting the lich off but I definitely like the idea that your civ could easily be wiped out at the start of the game.

    Remember the randomness of death in war and all that.
     
  10. Marksman77

    Marksman77 Aethernaut

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    Poland
    The danger of being wiped out early is integral part of any FfH game, I couldn't live without it :D No easy starts, you have to hold your guard from the very beginning.

    And I think I liked it better when Barbatos blocked a significant part of land with his summons.
     
  11. Fafnir13

    Fafnir13 King

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    919
    Location:
    Shoreline, WA
    I never automate them anyways. :mischief:
     
  12. subanark

    subanark Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    WA
    I tend to automate them later in the game, as the micro management gets to be a bit much. But for a novice, possibly for MP or if you just want to have a faster game, automating workers should not be so scary.

    Personally I hope them get rid of workers (as units) in civ 5. Leave terrain improvements to the city screen.
     
  13. JanusTalaiini

    JanusTalaiini Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    340

    Isn't that how it worked in the Call to Power series? I was never a huge fan of that system.

    Then again, I'm also a micromanager who wouldn't dream of automating workers (even when I control most of the map and have 30+ of them)
     
  14. Gelvan

    Gelvan Prince

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    576
    that's true, but to get sailors dirge before turn 60 will kill you every time even if you only build warriors from turn 1. Sailors Dirge arriving at turn 40 leaves you with maybe 2-3 warriors with strength 3 (+25%) and 3 skeletons attacking with strength 4. the chances to survive are really a bit bad.
     
  15. Saytr

    Saytr Ex-Faun

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Not really. But turn 60 you have a small cultural defense (10 %), warrior bonus from defending cities (25%), and if you see the Dirge spawning near you, it's a good precaution to build a plaisade and extra warriors, making survival quite easy.
     
  16. Gelvan

    Gelvan Prince

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    576
    yeah checked it out, you're right. I should not have built this worker... :)
     
  17. deadliver

    deadliver Loud Mouth Amateur

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,508
    Location:
    Anvilania
    Seriously. Only time I have problems with Skellies is when I completely neglect my military in favor of buildings or workers.

    I have never even seen the Sailor's Dirge let alone been killed by it but I worry more about the hordes of orcs running around pillaging than I do the skellies.
     
  18. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    Not nearly as bad as when the game spawned all civs with no units. Auto death on turn0
     
  19. Milosrdenstvi

    Milosrdenstvi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    That settler has 4 moves for a reason.

    Run away!
     
  20. subanark

    subanark Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    WA
    I'm not saying it has to work like call to power, all I'm saying is may parts of workers just make the game sluggish.
    Micro management I end up doing:
    1. To connect a resource I will make the improvement first then the road if I plan to work the tile, otherwise I make the road first in case I need to evacuate the tile.
    2. I try to optimize the placement of workers if I'm waiting on a tech.
    3. I may partially build an improvement if I'm waiting on a tech and abandon it to get the one I really want, and later come back to it.
    You also supposedly get good starting positions.
    If you go past the recommendations of civs per map size and something goes wrong, its your own fault.
     

Share This Page