Advanced Naval Units Version 1.0 - Public Beta

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by labriejp, Apr 24, 2015.

  1. labriejp

    labriejp Jack of all trades

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, USA

    Advanced Naval Units Version 6 - PUBLIC BETA

    This mod contains a vast amount of surface ships and submarines from many of the era's of Civ V.

    Download at Steam Workshop - (Don't worry, it's FREE)

    This mod incorporates
    EXPANDED NAVAL IMMERSION & COMPANION MOD --- Credit Faustaud
    Over 100 ships have been added so far - What are you waiting for? SUBSCRIBE NOW!

    This mod REQUIRES - Brave New World (BNW)

    Frigates:
    Constitution Class Frigate - USA Unique Unit (Max of 6)
    Warrior Class Ironclad Frigate - England

    Submarines:
    Modern - Akula Class, Astute Class, Kilo Class, Los Angeles Class, Scorpene Class, Typhoon Class, Type 212A
    WWII - U-Class(England), UBoat Type XXIII(Germany)

    Destroyers:
    Arleigh Burke Class, Udaloy Class
    Wickes Class - USA, UK, Canada - WWI Era Destroyer
    Narvik Class Destroyer - Germany - WWII Era

    Battleships:
    Tegetthoff Class - Germany, Austria - WWI Era Battleship
    Iowa Class - USA - WWII & Beyond era Battleship (Can carry Sea based Helicopters and Sea based Missles)

    Carriers:
    Essex Class - USA - WWII Era Carrier
    HMS Ark Royal - England - WWII era

    Amphibious Assault Ship:
    Wasp Class LHD - USA Only - Carries Air based units, such as AH-1 SeaCobra, AV-8b SeaHarrier II, F-35B, UH-1 SEaHuey II, SH-60B
    Amphibious Transport Ship(LHD) - GENERIC UNIT ALL CIVS

    America Class LHA - USA - Carries LAND based units, such as Marines, Force Recon (new badass land unit), Paratroopers, as well as land based helicopters such as AH-1 Cobra, UH-60M Blackhawk, AH-64B Apache, Helicopter Gunship.
    Amphibious Assault Ship (LHA) - GENERIC UNIT ALL CIVS

    Cruisers:
    Ticonderoga Class Cruiser - USA only (Can carry SeaHueyII, SeaRAM, SeaTomahawk & Sea Sparrow)
    Pallada Class Cruiser - Russia, Japan - WWI Era Cruiser
    Kirov Class Battlecruiser - Russia
    Admiral Class Battlecruiser - England
    Light Cruiser - Dresden Class Light Cruiser - Germany
    Duetschland Class Cruiser - Germany - WWII Era

    Corvette - Flower Class Corvette - England, USA, France, Multinational

    Aircraft:
    AH-1 SeaCobra - Multinational - Helicopter designed to be based in cities, airbases or Wasp Class LHD's. Acts like a bomber aircraft, excellent against armor, and can preform air recon. Intercepts at 1 tile. - GENERIC ALL CIVS
    AV-8B SeaHarrier II - Harrier Aircraft for Amphibious Assault Ships only. - GENERIC ALL CIVS
    F-35B Lightning II - Joint Strike Fighter with VSTOL ability, Amphibious Assault Attack Ship only.
    UH-1 SeaHuey II - Same as SeaHuey but can deploy on Destroyers (only for now) - GENERIC ALL CIVS
    SH-60B - Multinational - Helicopter designed to be based in cities, airbases or on Wasp Class LHD's.

    Missiles:
    SeaTomahawk - Cruise Missile, deploys on Destroyers
    SeaRAM - Rolling Airframe Missile - Deploys on Destroyers (can intercept aircraft, packs a wallop)
    Sea Sparrow - Deploys on Destroyers (can intercept aircraft, earlier tech missile)
    Tomahawk Missile - Acts like regular missile, but with extended range and no resource requirements.

    Ground Units: --- *****All Ground units can deploy to amphibious capable ships*****
    Continential Marines - USA
    Redcoats - England
    Civil War Marines - USA
    Great War Marines - USA
    Force Recon Marines - USA
    Royal Marine Commando - England
    US Navy SEALs - USA
    Special Forces - Unique Art for (African, Asian, European, Middle Eastern, South American)
    Spetsnaz - Russia Special Forces

    **Amphibious Capable Ships** ---- Frigate, Galleon, Dreadnought, America Class Amphibious Assault Ship, Amphibious Assault Ship(LHA - Generic)

    FOR MANUAL DOWNLOAD AND INSTALL
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/vunxqrd414k54yo/Advanced Naval Units (v 5).7z?dl=0

    Spoiler :









    Compatibility:

    Does NOT play well with R.E.D. or Ethnic Units. - The rest, I don't know, have to test it more, that is where you come in.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. labriejp

    labriejp Jack of all trades

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, USA
    Reserved
     
  3. labriejp

    labriejp Jack of all trades

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, USA
    Reserved for future use
     
  4. PR0927

    PR0927 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    142
    Whoa. Two questions:

    1. How does this jive with R.E.D. Modpack?
    2. If one uses custom civilizations, does the mod contain "generic" models/skins for regional civilizations? So if I'm using the India Civilization Pack, would all four of them receive the stuff that the stock India civilization would receive? Would the stuff that Brazil/Mayans/Aztecs/Incans receive be applied to Latin American custom civilizations like Argentina/Chile?
     
  5. labriejp

    labriejp Jack of all trades

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, USA
    #1 - It's not compatible with RED, due to the required companion mod Advanced Air Units having a DLL mod. (I do have a non-dll modified version of AAU, check Civfanatics or Steam page) - From what I've been told when my mod and RED are together, that a few graphical glitches occur because I don't shrink my units (I don't like the look of ants fighting ants) - Please feel free to try it out - you might have to disable the DLL file in either my mod or the RED modpack (I use WHoward's DLL, Version 66 in AAU)

    #2 - I'm honestly not sure if it will work. I have some limited support for Canada, Israel and Australia as Civ's. I have some code in the mod that will do somethings after a custom civ is loaded (has to do with Air flavors with the AI) --- that may force those civ's to use my units, IF the civ's use the default civilization name. For instance India is called India in game, if the custom mod names India something else like India2 or GhandiGoodness then it would not work.
    I have very few generic units for all civs, but I do have some out there (Amphibious ships, helicopters that can deploy on those ships, and the helo's for cruisers/destroyers are all Generic)
    Your best bet is to test it out and see if works with your rig and set-up, and please post your feedback.
     
  6. PR0927

    PR0927 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    142
    Hmm, alright. I figured the answer to my first question would be as such.

    As for the second thing - are there not regional identifiers for every civilization? Meaning how their city styles appear and all (architecture)? Wouldn't that match up for a regional identifier of the civilization itself and its units? I'll definitely try it out.
     
  7. labriejp

    labriejp Jack of all trades

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, USA
    There are regional art styles for every civ. for instance American has

    <ArtStyleType>ARTSTYLE_EUROPEAN</ArtStyleType>

    That is just for their buildings/cities art, not so much for Units.
     
  8. onmy6

    onmy6 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    New Zealand
    The mod is awesome as always labriejp, one question though I was trying to merge ANU with AAU using "WHoward's Mod Tools" and for some reason it won't merge, are there any double up files within the 2 mods perhaps, I know when I've merged AAU with other mods it merges seamlessly
    for eg ethnic unit, blood and iron and AAU. any ideas labriejp

    side note
    I'm not having any probs with tech tree or anything for that matter
     
  9. labriejp

    labriejp Jack of all trades

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, USA
    onmy - well, ANU has a dependency on AAU set in the .modinfo file, it requires it because it uses some of the classes, sql, promotions and other things in AAU that are not independent in ANU.

    If you could isolate those dependencies they would probably merge just fine.. maybe try removing the dependency in the modinfo file first and try to merge again, I'm not sure if that will work or not as I don't use that tool.

    The mod is pretty big, so for me to isolate just 1 thing causing an error would be difficult.
     
  10. nokmirt

    nokmirt Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,088
    Location:
    Iowa USA
    Can't use it but may download to look for new units.
     
  11. onmy6

    onmy6 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ok Thanks labriejp, apparently the "ReloadAudioSystem" is set to "1" within the "modinfo" of ANU and it would not merge because of this so I set it to "0" and it merged, I have no idea why and I have no idea whether this will affect the game, but it merged so onwards and upwards, thanks labriejp :thumbsup:
     
  12. onmy6

    onmy6 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    New Zealand
    HI labriejp

    I was having play with your ANU using really advanced setup, and your "force recon marine" is huge, so I checked the "UnitForceReconMarine888.xml" file and the scale is set to 1.7, I have since changed it to 0.14 now don't know if that was set to that for reasons I'm unaware of, but thought I'd give you a heads up just incase it wasn't
     
  13. labriejp

    labriejp Jack of all trades

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, USA
    @onmy6 - nice job. I should change that, as I didn't add any new audio with ANU (just with AAU).

    As far as the force recon marine, you might have some duplicate art in one of your mods. When I added the unit in game, it was super tiny, like a flea.. I had to increase it's size to 1.7 to get it to the average size of other units.

    If you have a duplicate type of art with the same name but was resized in the 3d modeling process then that should be why the unit appears huge. If you do please let me know, I would rather include the correct sized art so my unit would work universally across all mod platforms, even with duplicate art assets.
     
  14. onmy6

    onmy6 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hi labriejp

    Ok interesting makes sense I had a look through my mods and found this, It is from the "Mechanized Infantry with Soldiers (v 2)" mod but not the one where he rescaled the soldiers down, from the original one when he had the soldiers big comparatively to the mech unit, so this should work, link below and art files only

    https://mega.co.nz/#!nR5CWCBT!rSeIlvvq55c6updfvhnAfe0Al41Aj4OT0uBxvmWw8PM
     
  15. Kinorov

    Kinorov Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Hey can you make this R.E.D compatable please,I can't stand the
    regular sizes of units.
     
  16. Hulfgar

    Hulfgar Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,798
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    hello Labriejp

    I noticed that you left the .blend, .jpg and .psd files in your mod. You don't need them, you could remove them to make the mod lighter in size.
     
  17. onmy6

    onmy6 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Whoever was the nelly who thought it was funny to order a take down notice to mega for the above file for copyright infringement, grow up and get a life it's not funny and it's not cool. :mad:
     
  18. labriejp

    labriejp Jack of all trades

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, USA
    @Kinorov - This will never be red compatible, the mods are far too different to mesh together nicely, plus I don't like super crazy small units like in RED.. I like mine regular sized. Merging with RED is more than just making my units smaller (that's the easy part) it's everything else RED mudpack has going on that makes it hard to merge.

    @Hulfgar - nice, thanks for the tip, I'll make sure I get those files out. I wasn't sure if the .blend files had to remain in or not.

    @onmy6 - damn, I didn't even get a chance to look at it before mega took it down.. maybe try dropbox or something similar.
     
  19. seanb1979

    seanb1979 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    dropbox link is broken
     
  20. labriejp

    labriejp Jack of all trades

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver, USA
    Sean

    sorry about that, I always forget to update this site after updating the mod. Until I get a chance to update it (I'm at work) a working link is on the Steam Workshop page for the mod.
     

Share This Page